Thursday Doors

Door Ornate✓

I was feeling nostalgic this Thursday and pulled a beautiful door from Bruges, Belgium.

Do the Europeans know how to do a front door or what?  🙂

** Blue and White Label: Emblem for marking protected objects per the Hague Convention of 1954. Most European countries use this symbol on buildings designated as National Heritage Sites.

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, August 24, 2016.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. BeckyB says:

    Intrigued by its design

    Liked by 1 person

  2. They sure do and this is a stunning example of it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dan Antion says:

    This is a beautiful door, Judy, but it leaves me with many questions. Which way does it open (I’m guessing right-hand swing) and how is it constructed? It doesn’t appear to have a bottom rail, a rather essential element of most doors. In any case, it’s a great photo. I love the cobblestone and the carvings on the building.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. joannesisco says:

    This one is truly unique! Great find.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. bikerchick57 says:

    Like Dan, I’m also intrigued by which way the door opens since the handle is in the middle. I really like the slats at the bottom, I don’t think I’ve ever seen that before on a door.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Holy cow! That is one elaborate door! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Yes, the Europeans can come and do a door remodel on my house anytime!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. European doors look great on the older buildings but would look a bit odd with the newer homes in the US, especially with the cool surrounds like that in your shot. Of course there are some older buildings in the US that have similar design, but as they’re mostly newer, I’ll go to Europe for my European doors (great excuse, don’t you think?) and enjoy the fancy but different ones here.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Joyce says:

    It’s beautiful! I wonder if that is a carving of the Virgin Mary and child with two protecting angels, or just a generic mother and child. Either one indicates that home is a place of shelter and security.
    I love the European way of preserving the very old, just living side by side with it as if it’s the most natural thing in the world. Here, we’d need a Historic Preservation Committee to sue to keep a treasure like this from being torn down!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. joey says:

    Oh yes, that is all kindsa fantastic 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Grandma Kc says:

    You do find the most intriguing doors! Love the statues above the doorway. We have some friends that just returned from backpacking across Europe for 67 days! Belgium was one of their favorite places!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Very European, I see these each day here in France. But I never tire of seeing them, just gorgeous

    Like

  13. Oddment says:

    And I thought my front door was gussied up when I hung a wreath on it.

    This is stunning. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Summer Daisy says:

    That is a truly fabulous door ♥

    summerdaisycottage.blogspot.com

    Like

  15. dennyho says:

    So ornate! I do like the contrasting ivory and white details here. Great photo.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I bet they put more effort into their doors because they don’t have a lot of property. When we lived in Boston, our door we “designed” our door. Now, well, there’s so much other stuff to take care of 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Nadezda says:

    I think Belgian people know how to do doors, Judy 🙂 The sculpture is lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. slfinnell says:

    Bruges lace is pretty awesome too. Visiting Belgium is on my bucket list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Isn’t Bruges a wonderful place to visit. We spent a week there. I remember seeing many beautiful doors.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Murphy's Law says:

    What a neat door! I’m wondering if the small black rectangle on left side of door is a lock. If so, when you insert key it follows that door would open in on the left, and you would use center handle to push.

    Boy, no Home Depot in Belgium!!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Vicky says:

    Oh, it’s rather splendid, well found…

    Liked by 1 person

  22. It’s a very interesting door! Which way does it open? I wonder if they still use it? The art above it is beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Norm 2.0 says:

    You got that right – it’s lovely. I’d be nostalgic too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  24. germac4 says:

    A wonderful door, I don’t think I’ve seen a statue in the doorway, even in Italy!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Such a lovely door, Judy. It really is unique.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. reocochran says:

    I really like the inclusion of carved wooden statuary above doors, on the door frame. This is a truly beautiful door, which we are so lucky you got nostalgic, Judy. I am glad you explained about the blue and white diamond shaped emblem, too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

