Weekly Photo Challenge: Edge

cape-elizabethframe

Portland Head Light is on the craggy Maine shores of Fort Williams Park in Cape Elizabeth just south of Portland.

A couple of years back, I climbed a very short fence and stood on the edge to include the rocks, shrubs, and the wild rose in the photo. Although it wasn’t dangerous, I wasn’t suppose to do it. When you have been bitten by the photography bug and you find yourself at a beautiful spot with a camera in your hands, you sometimes don’t use good sense.

I didn’t have a Thursday Door post yesterday because I got caught by a homeowner snapping photos of her house. She came out and questioned me. Was I from the newspaper? No. Was I a real estate agent? No. All the time, I’m chuckling inside trying to figure out how to explain to her about Norm and his Thursday Doors.

I gave her my very best explanation including bringing up the blog on my phone to show her a post. She was fine at that point and told me about the history of her house and how she needed some gardening help. Okay, now I can redeem myself. I listened and was able to give her a few suggestions. After I got home and looked through my photos, I realized I didn’t even have a good photo of the door.

Who knew blogging could be so dangerous?  🙂

Update to post: Here is a great link to a wonderful folk song about the Portland Head Light provided by our blogging friend, Kerry, at LoveThoseHandsatHome.

Check out the other Edge photos at the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Edge

  1. Living on the the ragged edge and i am talking about you Judy 😉 Nice photo.

    Like

  2. Joyce says:

    Pure entertainment! And here I have always thought the proprietress of your classy blog was a perfectly proper play-by-the-rules seeker of great pictures and the stories behind them. Hmmmm! Turns out she is a fence hopping, fast talking trespasser! I like that! No wonder your material is always so fresh and bright!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a great encounter. How does one explain why they want a shot of someone’s front door:) Your photo is beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a wonderful photo, sea, lighthouse, bright colors…perfect!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Eliza Waters says:

    Gives a whole new meaning to living on the edge, Judy! ;-D

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Eliza Waters says:

    Oh, yes, and GORGEOUS photo – I was chuckling so much I forgot to mention it!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. People can get very weird when they see you taking pictures of their house. The farmers don’t care, but the more suburban you get, the more paranoid the owners are. Weird. I’ve done lots more dangerous stuff than that. I’m surprised I never took a header off a cliff. I’m MUCH more careful these days. Much.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Dan Antion says:

    What a wonderful photo choice for the prompt, Judy. I love the colors, the composition, the scene. Add to that the fact that I love lighthouses and you just couldn’t miss. Very, very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. bythebriny says:

    Beautiful postcard-like scene — love the bright summery feel.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. joyroses13 says:

    Too funny! 🙂 Glad you reached an understanding with that lady without having to get down on your knees and pull wees 🙂
    A beautiful shot!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. joey says:

    Haha!
    I frequently speak to people about their doors as I photograph them. Usually they’re flattered, but they’re always friendly. (So far)
    Gorgeous picture!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. germac4 says:

    Glad you didn’t fall down the cliff or get into big trouble for looking like the paparazzi ! The house and lighthouse look pretty amazing anyway. There must be some interesting history attached to the place.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Here’s a little info taken from their website: In 1776, the new Town of Cape Elizabeth posted a guard of eight soldiers at Portland Head to warn citizens of coming British attacks. In 1787, the General Court of Massachusetts (the Massachusetts legislature) provided $750 to begin construction of a lighthouse. In 1790, when the United States Government took over the responsibility of all lighthouses, Congress appropriated $1,500 for its completion. The original tower measured 72′ from base to lantern deck and was lit with 16 whale oil lamps. It was first lit on January 10, 1791.Construction of the first Keeper’s Quarters began in 1790 as the result of a contract signed by Massachusetts Governor John Hancock. A one story dwelling built to replace the first keeper’s house was erected in 1816. It measured 34′ x 20′ with two rooms, a cellar and a porch in the rear.

      Like

      • germac4 says:

        Very interesting. I guess the owners of the house these days would have paid a lot for such an historic place. Thanks for the info, we must visit your part of the world one day.

        Liked by 1 person

  13. Mother Hen says:

    Oh my.. I think you are living on the edge.. (: Be careful out there…

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Oddment says:

    On the edge, indeed! My favorite part is that wild rose — it’s sort of like the photographer, the one that sticks out by being where she hadn’t oughtta. But yet right where she belongs. Good stuff to think about. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Sherry Felix says:

    FYI. It is legal to take photos of people’s houses. You don’t need permission. Taking photos through a window is different and is not legal. Found this out at at class at B & H.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. KerryCan says:

    You wild and crazy gal! Fun post and I love seeing that shot of the lighthouse. Do you know the song “Portland Town,” by Schooner Fare?

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Murphy's Law says:

    Thanks for starting my day off with a laugh!

    Lighthouse photo is perfect. Now when I see your photos I will be thinking, “Where was Judy standing when she took this?!” You are a wild rose yourself!

    I can’t believe after going through all those hoops you didn’t even get a decent shot of the damn door! 😜 Guess you have to consider yourself lucky you didn’t draw compost duty for trespassing!

    Enjoy your weekend my friend. Looking forward to your next adventure from the safety of my home. Lol!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Pingback: Edge: Electrification  | What's (in) the picture?

  19. Maine is just the best place for lighthouse/shore photos and this one’s a beauty, Judy!

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  20. That’s a funny story, Judy. Pity about the door photo, though. Didn’t you even get a half decent one? Beautiful lighthouse on the edge capture. The only door song I can think of is Frankie Vaughan’s ‘Green Door’ from the 1950’s. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  21. LOVE this photograph, from the big blue sky to the little rose in the lower left.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. slfinnell says:

    Umm if you used to live in the Midwest then you certainly can do some fast talkin😉

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Edge | stenoodie

  24. That’s so funny. I can understand her being suspicious. How nice that she understood and then gave you a good story.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. This photo is like a postcard! And you being accosted by a homeowner just cracked me UP!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Grandma Kc says:

    What a beautiful photo! And I don’t blame you in the least for being a little bit daring just to get the shot!

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Ben Choong says:

    The lighthouse gives a charming effect to the whole scene.

    Like

Leave a Reply

