Packing

screenshot-2016-09-10-08-09-12I love traveling to new places and learning new things. But, I can’t say the prep work and the day of traveling is all that much fun.

Right now, I’m in the obsessive mode of trying to make sure I have packed everything that I need for ten days but not anything I can get along without.

Tablets are going for reading and occasional email Canonchecking. I agonized over the camera decision and ended up buying a new ‘in between’ camera – Canon Powershot SX 410IS. It is bigger than my previous compact Canon but tremendously smaller than my DSLR. I’ll also have my telephone and tablet cameras for backup.

Bags

Documents, tablet, makeup, passport, cell phone, and camera with pocket for extra battery and card.

My biggest challenge is organizing all the stuff. This is where the OCD side of me kicks in, and I make little bags for everything that are attached with hooks. I got this idea from a Baggallini purse I bought that had hooks inside for a wallet and car keys. I love that purse because I’m not running around looking for something I think I lost.

Now, I just can’t set the purse or the backpack down, but I think I can handle that. 🙂

We are going to be picked up at 8 a.m. on Thursday and will probably get to our hotel in Dublin around 10:30 a.m. on Friday morning. I’m exhausted just thinking about that part.

The security lines from Boston to Newark will hopefully be somewhat expedited because we have TSAPre✓. We also applied months ago for Global Entry but then found out our interviews are scheduled for April 2017. I guess it doesn’t help when there is only one interview site for the entire Northeast.

I wonder if the government sees any irony in a nine-month waiting period to ask similar questions and get copies of the same fingerprints we gave to TSA, U.S. Department of Home Land Security, that we will now be required to give to CBP, U.S. Customs and Border Protection?

If you are even considering going through this security pre-approval process and you have any remote thoughts about taking an international trip, apply through CBP and they throw in the TSA clearance. It may still take the same amount of time it does to produce a small human being, but at least you will only have to do it once.

Hope you are having beautiful fall weather. I saw my first red leaves today.  🙂

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Traveling and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Packing

  1. You are supremely organised, I tend to pack the day before any trip! Perhaps that’s because with five children I always seem to be packing for them rather than myself! We always use packing pods, zippered bags for individual things, they tend to keep things wrinkle free and make unpacking somewhat easier! The camera sounds like a great buy, you’ll have plenty of sitting time at the airport and on the plane to get to grips with it!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Donna says:

    Have a wonderful trip. We will be with you in spirit. Safe travels.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Norm 2.0 says:

    The leaves are slowly hinting at changing colors here too.
    Safe travels, have fun, and take lots of pics – doors should be the priority of course 😉
    Cheers!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Hope you have a great trip. It’s hard, I know, but sleep as much as you can on the plane. I’ve learned to avoid alcohol and electronics (including in-flight movies), to have a pair of fuzzy socks to keep my feet comfy and warm, and to take an Advil PM as soon as dinner is served. You’ll do much better in the long run if you can stay awake on your arrival day without a nap. Looking foward to your posts!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Dawn says:

    So excited for you, Judy!! That first day in Dublin will be a long one ~ so excited to begin exploring, yet perhaps needing a short nap, too. You sound so organized! I’m so glad that you are packing an extra camera battery. I always carry one when traveling abroad, too. We always plan our own adventures. So, I love to check the Rick Steves site for up-to-the minute travel tips (country specific) from others who are currently visiting or have just returned. Interesting and oh-so helpful! https://community.ricksteves.com/travel-forum/ireland Have a wonderful, wonderful time! Can’t wait to see your photos and hear your stories when you return! Safe travels, Judy! ♡

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Dan Antion says:

    Have a great trip. I hope you travel safely and and without undo stress ( I figure if I make it a realistic wish, it might come true). I look forward to photos and descriptions of great adventures or quiet walks in a foreign park. Just enjoy!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Looks like you have a great trip planned. The ring of Kerry is really lovely. Look forward to seeing your photos when you get back.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Joanne Sisco says:

    Have a great trip! Looking forward to the photos and the stories 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Murphy's Law says:

    Wishing you a safe trip. Sounds like you have everything under control. If you find you’ve forgotten something once you get there, you didn’t need it anyway!! Hope the weather is great, the sights are magnificent, and the beer is outstanding!! 😜🍺

    Just remember, COMFORTABLE SHOES!! Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Have fun I’m looking forward to seeing some of your experiences here, when you get home Jon

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sue says:

    Safe travels…nine months for for Global Entry interview! Obviously, you could have produced an heir in that amt of time. Enjoy Ireland.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Leah says:

    I try to keep thoughts of the day of travel out of my mind. Relatively short term pain for long term gain. You’ve got a great trip planned and I look forward to your reports.

    We went through the Canadian version of applying for the speedy/pre-checked security card (Nexus) and we are so glad we did! Whenever we use the card, we zip right past long lines.

    I saw leaves falling a few days ago. The Canada geese have been back in full force, as well. Fall is certainly in the air.

    I like your idea of sewing little bags with clips. I just bought a new travel-on/day pack back pack today, and I think I might be able to use a few little organizer bags. Thanks for the idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. joey says:

    Oooh! Travel! I’m excited to read and see all about it! Have a wonderful (and safe) time! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Have a wonderful time!! We had a short stop in Ireland this summer and loved it. The people are wonderful and the countryside is beautiful. Seeing the Book of Kells was a highlight. In this centennial year of the Easter Rising, there are many special events and exhibits too. Enjoy!

    Liked by 2 people

  15. joyroses13 says:

    So exciting to be going to Ireland!! We always wanted to go. Have a awesome time!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I love Ireland. Have a great trip. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Joyce says:

    I can identify with the OCD binge before a trip – and I don’t travel anywhere as far as you do! But I like your system of pouches and hooks! Those little bags look like ones you quilted yourself. If so, they will be sturdy, soft and durable!
    Yes, the long day of travel will be boring and tedious, but what lies ahead is another fabulous adventure to add to your scrapbook of a life well lived! Cannot wait to see pictures and doors and all kinds of cool stuff when you return!
    Bon Voyage, dear friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Ogee says:

    Have a wonderful trip. Send lots of digital postcards!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Rupali says:

    Have a great trip.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Oddment says:

    I’m in awe of your preparations. I can’t wait to see if your blogs develop a brogue. Have a wonderful time!

    Liked by 2 people

  21. Shelagh in Vermont says:

    I used to visit my family in Cornwall every other year, but never got over obsessive packing! which started at least 3 wks before take off. 😉 Btw, all of Marian’s tips are excellent, plus a small, roll-up down pillow that I never go anywhere without. Looking forward to your trip photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Have a fantastic time, Judy. That is the very same camera I take with me to Ireland every year. it’s a great little camera…i think you’ll find it easy to travel with and it will take good shots for you. Have fun, fun, fun!!! can’t wait to hear about your travels…you’ll be covering some of the same ground I do whenever i am there. Safe journey.

    Liked by 2 people

  23. KerryCan says:

    I’m here late to add my wishes! I’m so envious, except for that part about the airplane trip–ick. I love your little zippered bags that all are so tidy! I really need to learn to sew a zipper . . . . Have FUN!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. pbmgarden says:

    Have good travels Judy.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Have a safe and wonderful trip! Looking forward to seeing photos from your trip. I have never heard of doing a pre security check but then we haven’t traveled by plane in a long time. Slante!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The TSA pre screening involves filling out an application and attending an in-person interview. At that time they take your fingerprints, look at your Passport, Birth Certificate, Driver’s License, home bill with your address, etc. Then they issue you a number that you enter when you book your flight. When you get ready to go through airport security, there are two lines and you can go through the pre screening one because all that information has been provided and verified. The Global process is the same but they give you an actual card you show. Besides a shorter line, you can keep on your shoes, don’t have to take out a computer and a couple other things. It’s worth it if you travel frequently.

      Liked by 1 person

  26. You must be joking. The government doesn’t do or see irony!! If it did, we’d all be better off, but only if they then did something sensible about it. Not going to happen. Your trip looks much like the one my friend and I did in the mid-seventies with our trusty bus pass. I can’t wait to see what it looks like now! Have a Guinness, or more than one, for me and take a zillion photos. (I know you will.) Safe, enjoyable, and relaxing travels.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Eliza Waters says:

    Bon voyage! Take lots of good photos for us!

    Liked by 1 person

  28. reocochran says:

    I have become much better at lightening my load as I have “grown up,” Judy! I start a week before and keep one area for my pile! It is amazing how many things are not necessary! I am less about wardrobe changes now, too. 🙂
    Have a wonderful, safe trip, Judy. hugs! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Brenda says:

    Enjoy every minute!! I’m so looking forward to your report back to us.

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Nadezda says:

    Sure you will have a great journey Judy! Dublin is very interesting city and there is a lot to see. Thank for the video, great idea.

    Liked by 1 person

  31. germac4 says:

    Have a great time Judy …. Looking forward to seeing your Irish photos & stories ..

    Liked by 1 person

  32. Nancy says:

    Oh have a wonderful trip! I can’t wait to see your pictures. Don’t be like me… I still need to upload our London Pictures!

    Liked by 1 person

  33. Have a great trip, I’ll look forward to hearing about it here.

    Liked by 1 person

  34. Have a safe journey, I would love to visit Ireland one day. I look forward to seeing your pictures. If you ever decide to visit Wales you are more than welcome to stay x

    Liked by 1 person

  35. Grandma Kc says:

    I know you’re having fun! Sorry to be so far behind. HUGS!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

