Weekly Photo Challenge: Quest

20160924_063626-kdcollage

Quest for perfection at Waterford Crystal. All the gardeners who own a pair of Fiskar shears have a connection to these works of art.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Europe, Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Quest

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I love the crystal phone

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Now, if the crystal phone actually WORKED … wouldn’t that be something! No slamming down that receiver 😉 I hope you are having a grand time!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Murphy's Law says:

    Yowzer! That phone!! I think I wouldn’t mind getting a call from a collection agency on that beauty. All I would need is Cinderella’s glass slippers….and they probably make those too!! Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joyce says:

    What skill – and sense of humor! – to make that phone! Maybe I’m imagining, but it looks like the handle hold cups for dip and a place in the dial for chips!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. How I would love to go to the place where Waterford crystal is made! I love crystal, especially old crystal. A beautiful wine glass or vase…..

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nadezda says:

    Love crystal vase with flower decoration, Judy.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lorrie says:

    Crystal is so pretty. We watched some crystal being made in Halifax last year – the only place that blows lead crystal in North America, I think we were told. Visiting the Waterford studios would be so interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Oddment says:

    “The Quest” — the gardener’s life! What interesting places you are seeing!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Great photo’s but what is the connection to the FISKARS?

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Tina Schell says:

    Great choice Judy, and I also loved your next post about your trip. We loved Ireland. The countryside is glorious and the people so amazingly friendly. One of the few places one can still feel safe when choosing to travel!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Grandma Kc says:

    Did you go broke buying everything they had? That phone is just amazing! What a great experience!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I didn’t go broke, but I do have a package coming. 🙂 I thought since I probably wouldn’t get back there, it was only right that I should have a souvenir of the tour, right? Then, of course, my daughter’s anniversary is this month so I figured that would make a good gift. The tour was interesting from the use of molds, watching them blow the hot glass and then sand it – amazing process to wind up with those gorgeous pieces of Waterford crystal.

      Like

  12. prior.. says:

    really cool to see the crystal maker – fun college and the phone felt – well – reminded me of the 1970s for some reason – maybe that is a time when i first saw a lot of crystal….

    Like

Leave a Reply

