Ireland

Ireland

We’re back from a great trip to Ireland. We met new people, including some from our area, and everyone in Ireland was extremely friendly and hospitable.

Ireland

Homes with real thatched roofs, horses and carts in almost every town, gardens, churches, castles, cliffs, and enough sheep, cows and horses to keep any photographer busy.

It was a great ten days, and I’d give it a two thumbs up to anyone who has it on their bucket list. I could go on and on or post a couple hundred more photos, but I think you get the idea. More door and garden photos will show up down the road not to mention the oldest light house in the world. Like I said, I could keep going.

Ireland has a rich history that directly links to America. During the famine years, many Irish emigrated to the United States for work in order to send money back to their families. The famine years are a big part of their history and how the country has evolved.

There is an Irish tradition to keep a light shining from the Hall of the Irish President in Dublin’s Phoenix Park. It is a symbolic beacon reaching out to guide emigrant families or their descendants back to visit the homeland. Is that welcoming beacon calling to you? ☘

After beautiful hotels, delicious meals, decadent desserts, and plenty of good beer, it is back to reality. The washing machine hasn’t stopped running, there are well over 1,000 photos to go through, and I haven’t read one email or blog post. So, I’m off to see if I can make a dent in any of it. Hope you are enjoying a great fall Monday, and it sure is good to be back on the laptop and not the phone. 🙂

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Traveling and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Ireland

  1. So good that you were able to visit Ireland, and thanks for your update. Ireland is a beautiful, charming and interesting place, isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Joyce says:

    I’ve really enjoyed the view through your photos and commentary! Very down-to-earth! And here we think New England is “old!” I imagine you just got lost in the charm of the countryside. I’d go nuts over those beautiful horses and carts! Oh, and the sheep and thatched roofs – right out of the pages of old folk tales! What touches me the most, though, is the light left on for countrymen to find their way back home….awww! That’s just “so Irish!” …. you know, as in “may the road rise up to greet you….” Looking forward to seeing the rest of your doors!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. It sounds as if you had the most wonderful time, the photos are absolutely gorgeous, can’t wait to see more, always love looking at pictures of the Emerald Isle.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sherry Felix says:

    Great post. I’ll add it to my bucket list.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Murphy's Law says:

    I’m really enjoying my armchair trip to Ireland. The horse & cart are magnificent, as are the countryside, castles and gardens. Can’t wait to see lighthouse and as many other photos you can share with us. One of the best trips I’ve ever taken! 🤗

    Glad you and hubby are home safe and sound. Yeah, the washing machine and dryer, grocery shopping and back to cooking will bring you back to reality real fast!! Lol! Not to mention the weeds that have been waiting your return!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Photos are gorgeous. We are going soon. Can’t wait!

    Like

  7. Oh my goodness, what lovely photos! What a great trip you had!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Bet you’ll go back. It’s a wonderful place, best trip we ever took. 1000 pictures is modest. Very restrained 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. https://wordzfrommeblog.wordpress.com says:

    Very green country! (I’m supposed to have a little Irish in me.) I’m not much of a traveler, so thank you for sharing your experience and photos!

    Like

  10. Beautiful photos – And I’m with you – I am a terror on my phone. My fingers are not pointy enough to do anything properly. I need a BIG keyboard!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. joyroses13 says:

    Love the pictures! So glad you had such a wonderful time! Definitely is on our bucket list someday. I want to explore the castles!
    LOL about the washer running, yup reality kicks in fast! And I so know what you mean about typing on a computer instead of the phone. My phone makes me mess up all the time!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. germac4 says:

    Lovely description and photos of Ireland…and there are such strong connections, historically between Ireland and the US. I love the thatched cottages, and the horse and cart…seems timeless.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Dan Antion says:

    Beautiful photos, Judy. I love the idea of leaving a light on for folks that might want to come home. That’s pretty cool.

    Liked by 2 people

  14. joey says:

    Oh so beautiful.
    I am looking forward to going … someday.
    I was looking through your photos and I whined out, “Am I in Iiiiiirelaaaaand?”
    Sassy told me not to be salty, cause I’ll get there someday.
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Lizzy says:

    Amazingly gorgeous! I’m rather jealous, hehe. 🙂 Glad you had such an awesome trip!

    Like

  16. Annie says:

    Welcome home. I bet your 10 day visit seemed to fly by. Start sorting through those photos and share soon! I’m curious about the oldest lighthouse…

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Joanne Sisco says:

    Such beautiful sampling of photos, Judy. I can see where Ireland’s mythical reputation comes from. It’s like walking back in time.
    … And I won’t forget you mentioned a lighthouse. Hope you’ll be sharing it soon.
    Glad you’re back and hope that laundry pile gets wrestled under control 🙂

    Like

  18. Good to see you are safely home again and you had such a marvellous holiday. I hope there are lots more posts filled with your gorgeous photos. Ireland is so pretty. Do you think you will return some day for another visit?

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Nadezda says:

    Ireland is in my ‘wish list’ now, Judy. I liked your collages and wait for more photos and your stories.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Oddment says:

    Looks as though you kind of suspended time for a while. I was basking in the peace until I heard the chugging of the washer — ah, what a rude reality. Thanks so much for these glimpses into Ireland; they are lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Welcome home , Judy! I knew you’d love Ireland, can’t wait to hear more. Did you get over to County Kerry?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, we did. I thought the whole country was beautiful with the ‘current’ exception of Dublin which looks like it has been bombed due to the massive construction projects. I never got one photo in Dublin that didn’t include construction equipment. Just the wrong time for a visit to Dublin. But, outside of Dublin I never saw anything that didn’t cause me to smile. The roads are something else, and I’ll never complain about narrow road shoulders, roundabouts, or trees close to the road. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  22. sweetk8 says:

    Glad you had a great trip! but then I knew you would love Ireland. I’m doing some traveling myself. In the US for 3 weeks. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  23. KerryCan says:

    Wheeeee! It looks like a great time was had! I love the photos (and I think I have identical ones from my trips there!) For future reference, Dublin can be very appealing but I agree that it’s the small towns and countryside that win the heart!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Norm 2.0 says:

    Welcome back. Glad to hear the trip was a success. Your shots just re-enforce my own desire to go one day too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  25. I am glad you had a wonderful trip look forward to more pictures

    Liked by 1 person

  26. These photos are lovely ; can’t wait to hear more. The horses and carts….I take it these are not tourist-y areas but actually being used much like in Amish country here ?

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Great first look at your images! The horse is lovely, and the country is so lush and green!

    It’s on my Bucket List, and I hope to be able to cross it off one day.

    I’m looking forward to seeing more images from your trip.

    Liked by 1 person

  28. RuthsArc says:

    Thanks for inspiring happy memories of my own trips to Ireland 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  29. pbmgarden says:

    I’ve been away from reading blogs also for a while but your reason is much more interesting. Your photographs get better and better and make me want to visit this lovely place too. Glad you had a good experience Judy.

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Grandma Kc says:

    OK, I admit it. I am seriously jealous! But I am so glad to have you as a friend so that I can at least see glimpses of it. If I were to ever get the opportunity to travel abroad I think that would be my destination of choice! Thanks again for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  31. Pingback: Ireland — NewEnglandGardenAndThread | Old School Garden

  32. louise237 says:

    Great photos of Ireland… such a beautiful place with gorgeous sceneries… Thanks for sharing…

    Liked by 1 person

  33. Karen says:

    I’m happy that you enjoyed your trip to Ireland, how could you not with that beautiful scenery.

    Liked by 1 person

  34. Pingback: Ireland – Wag 'n Bietjie

  35. That’s true! Everyone in Ireland are super friendly! It’s been a pleasure living here so far..

    Like

  36. 44coconutst says:

    What a great post, and the photos you included are amazing! Ireland is on my bucket list, one day I will get there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

