Wordless Wednesday 10/05/16

Ireland mural

Stone wall mural across from St. John’s Castle, Limerick, Ireland

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Wordless Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Wordless Wednesday 10/05/16

  1. That old stone offers the most wonderful nooks, crannies, and lines for wall art ​doesn’t it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • There was a construction fence around it because there had been a building torn down. So, there I am reaching through the fence with my camera trying to get the shot. I love murals and this artist was certainly talented, but I was mesmerized by the two very different themes and then the fact that they were going in different directions.

      Like

  2. A sleeping giant? Or is he dead? Just in case there’s a legend behind this…

    Liked by 2 people

  3. reocochran says:

    I like the way this looks aged and it creates an interesting effect, Judy. Hope you will have a pleasant fall day and evening! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Almost looks like it should have been painted on a ceiling πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  5. sued51 says:

    Wow, what a great wall!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. karen says:

    So beautiful. I didn’t know it was there. Thanks for sharing your photo.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Joyce says:

    That face would be challenging enough to do “right side up,” but SIDEWAYS? And get all the proportions correct? Wow!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Great composition! The blue behind the horse makes me think it is in a field near a pond or lake. The greenery on wall is the hair of the man….and in the fall or winter it will totally change it’s look I surmise.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Joanne Sisco says:

    Wow! It’s funny the captions that sometimes fly through my head when I first see a photo. My first reaction when I saw this one was ‘God Is Dead’ … a little disconcerting.
    It’s a fantastic mural!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, that is what caught my eye as well. I looked at it, went into the castle, skipped the tour because I had to go back out and look again. I have never seen a rendering of God laying down. It just was disconcerting, and then for it to be next to a horse – it just really made me stand there and think about it. If that was the artist’s intention, he was quite successful. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Cee Neuner says:

    This is so very cool. Thanks for photographing it. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Dan Antion says:

    That’s so cool, Judy. Thanks for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Wow! What a wall! Thanks for posting this.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. What a treasure! Thanks for sharing it, Judy, and what fun it must have been to spot it. πŸ™‚

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  14. germac4 says:

    What a great mural on that stone wall…very Celtic looking.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Nadezda says:

    A face of an ancient sculpture, isn’t it Judy? I think it’s original wall art.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are definitely ‘closer’ to knowing what this really is than the rest of us tourists. It really captured my senses, and I had trouble letting it go. Where it was there was a vacant lot right next to it that you could tell had contained a building of some sort. It had been taken down and removed but there were still remnants of construction and there was a very high chain link fence around the entire area. I have one more that was right next to it that is definitely some type of modern mural in color.

      Like

  16. Oddment says:

    Ozymandias in Ireland! Maybe it’s a pictograph saying someone is a little hoarse? (I couldn’t help it.) It does demand a story, and that is part of its fascinating aspect. Thanks for skipping the tour so you could show us this!

    Liked by 2 people

  17. Grandma Kc says:

    Now that is art! I will have to share it with Amara and I really do want to know the story behind it! I love your history lessons!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. That’s very clever. I’m not sure it’s God…maybe a modern rendition of a Roman sculpture.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Om my just amazing ! πŸ™‚ I wonder if it is to depicting some Irish legend….

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, that’s an idea. Now if I just knew someone in Ireland who knew the answer. I know one blogger so I’ll send her an email and ask.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lol! I got your email, Judy. I have no idea who that is but I would guess it’s either King John (who is usually depicted with a beard and long wavy hair) or a viking. King John had the castle built on what was originally a viking settlement. The horse makes me think it’s King John. If I find out I’ll let you know, you have me wondering about it now. πŸ™‚

        Like

  20. prior.. says:

    Judy – the images are wonderful – and the patina adds the extra touch

    Like

  21. Instaology says:

    Super-cool! I want that wall.

    Like

Leave a Reply

