Weekly Photo Challenge: H2O

Ireland Swan

When we visited the Irish National Stud, a thoroughbred horse breeding facility, in County Kildare, Ireland, we were surprised by gorgeous Japanese gardens as well as handsome studs.

This garden was created in 1999 for the millennium in honor of St. Fiachra, the patron saint of gardeners.

It celebrates the beautiful Irish landscape in its natural state with water and rock both providing a wonderful backdrop for a handsome swan.

The Irish National Stud farm and the Japanese gardens continue to be one of the top twenty attractions in Ireland.

Don’t forget to check out other H2O submissions.

 

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: H2O

  1. Dan Antion says:

    This is such a beautiful photo,Judy, s peaceful (and I love reflections and this one is perfect).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. prior.. says:

    sound like a gorgeous place and the swan is so peaceful.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Eliza Waters says:

    Lovely shot, Judy!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. joyroses13 says:

    What a lovely photo!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. We visited the Irish National Stud with our daughters in 1999. I don’t remember the Japanese Gardens, but our girls were much more interested in the horses. Perhaps the gardens weren’t completed at the time. Lovely photo, Judy.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. More handsome studs? I’m sensing a theme here, Judy. Are you sure your husband went along? 🙂 Lovely, peaceful shot.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I was surprised at how “horsey” the Irish are. And they ride like crazy people. Garry and I were both actively riding when we were there, but they scared us 🙂 Gorgeous horses.

    And a most elegant swan.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: H2O: Sunrise | What's (in) the picture?

  9. Oddment says:

    Would you believe I have a wonderful little plaque of St. Fiachra looking down at me right here? I don’t know how you got that swan to pose for you like that, but I congratulate you for doing it. I love how this pulls me in. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Murphy's Law says:

    I could look at this all day. So quiet and peaceful. Reflection makes it perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wish you could have seen the look on my face when I realized this nice Irish Stud Farm had not one but two Japanese style gardens. My pulse was quickening. This one was all moss, rocks, pockets of water, small falls, and these beautiful long-necked swans. It was a lovely spot. Glad you liked it. 🙂

      Like

      • Murphy's Law says:

        How in the world did you have the willpower to not get right in and start weeding and deadheading?!!! Lol. 😜 It sounds fantastic. So happy you got to enjoy it.

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Joyce says:

    This is so serene and so elegant. Interesting that I have never heard of St. Fiachra. I thought I was up on all my saints! But it would be fitting that a patroness of lush greenery would hail from Ireland!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Joanne Sisco says:

    This falls in that category of finding the unexpected in an unlikely place 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. germac4 says:

    We went passed that horse stud and the advertised Japanese garden a few years ago, but the weather was wild, so we didn’t stop. Such a funny combination (but very Irish)
    I’d never heard of St Fiachra, but maybe a little statue in the garden would help everything grow.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Grandma Kc says:

    That is beautiful. I know you must have had a wonderful time exploring those gardens. All that green.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

