Fall color

I hope and pray that all the people in the path of Hurricane Matthew are safe and sound, but we were thrilled to have rain for an entire day yesterday. Many locals have seen their wells run dry, and they are in desperate need of rain so they do not have to incur the time and expense to drill a new one.

New Hampshire leads the nation in tree cover, and this past three-day weekend was one of the busiest on our highways. They estimated over 600,000 visitors will pass through the state to check out the fall color – leaf peepers. 🍁

treecollage

I wondered how the fall color might be affected by our drought conditions, but the color seems to be quite vivid.

CranberryCakeIt is also the perfect time of year to enjoy fresh cranberries. I found a very simple but delicious little cake, New England Cranberry Duff, that only takes a few minutes and can actually be used with any type of berry if cranberries are not your favorite.

My gardens are pretty much asleep except for a few annuals that haven’t fallen victim to the frost. I have a few more hours of clean up and moving plants left for this week along with helping to finish up a duck house for the six new farm residents.

I made a couple of simple pumpkin table toppers last week.Pumpkin Good practice for the coming months. High on my list of winter projects is converting a couple of warm window coverings to roman shades. If you know of any good videos or tutorials, please share.

Here’s wishing you sunny skies, good leaf peeping, delicious eating and a good work week or time to enjoy your hobbies.   🍁

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in New England and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Fall color

  1. joey says:

    Good luck with your Roman shade project 🙂
    I like the table toppers. I could really use a few trivets, but I continue to use the crocheted potholders…I’m not sure why…Anyway, your punkin table topper is festive 🙂
    I’m hoping this weekend’s weather promotes journeying to the countryside for some foliage intake, but things are still mostly green in the city.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooh, crocheted potholders. Crocheting is something I would really like to know how to do. It seems like something I could enjoy in the evenings. Enjoy some countryside – maybe pick some apples which would work with that cake also. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • joey says:

        I do not crochet, but my mother and many of my friends do. I can’t knit, either.
        As for the apples, well, we have apple trees out back, so…we’re set! We must drive through the forested hills and ooh and aah, and then hike through the leaves 🙂 We only have 1.3 acres, hiking here is really quite flat and dull! lol

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Mary says:

    We were one of the 600,000 in New Hampshire Thursday and Friday last week – gorgeous weather and amazing vibrancy show of leaves. No disappointment on our end – was perfect. Judy your New England Cranberry Duff sounds delicious!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joyce says:

    Wow! That red is really vibrant! The view outside my house is dirty brown with a yellow leaf here and there. We’re in oak trees and they never look pretty!
    I attempted Roman shades once for a kitchen window. Ended up just “faking it” by folding the fabric and stapling it to a board. It actually looked “real” but of course, there was no insulating factor, which I think is what you are looking for! Good luck! I’d love to see your finished project!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The tree on the right is in our back yard while the really vibrant one was along the road when we were out Saturday. We have a fair amount of oaks, and they are not exactly pretty. The maples make up for it. 🙂 Here I thought you were going to give me some great creative advice on those shades. I just watched two videos and almost went to sleep. I get the general idea, can find the hardware on line, but what I’m really wondering about is the weight of the warm window fabric. I have a small one I’ll experiment on before I tackle the one covering three windows. I’ll let you know how I make out. Happy fall, Joyce. 🙂

      Like

  4. Murphy's Law says:

    Vivid is right! Beautiful. Here in the Hudson Valley it’s still mostly green, except for dead leaves already on ground waiting to be raked. Well, they can wait a little longer. Forecast is for 30 tonight so I need to wrap some plants up, and dig up the ginormous calla lily.

    Glad your area got a dose of rain. Not a drop here, but overall we’ve had more than you. I never considered wells in dry conditions. I wish all those good folks more rain and the best of luck.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, that lily is calling to you for a nice paper bag bed. 🙂 I raked chestnuts by the bags full last week and a few leaves. But, we have a while to go before we are in full fledged leaf moving mode. We were so grateful for that rain. It was good for all the plants before the winter, but I know the people with the wells need a lot more. Hope you have a good week.

      Like

  5. Joanne Sisco says:

    Those reds look amazing and I bet on a sunny day are absolutely stunning!!
    It’s still pretty green here, but the early turners are beautiful. It’ll be gone before we know it and I still have soooo much work left to do in the yard!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dan Antion says:

    Those are two amazing samples of fall color, Judy. We are seeing pockets of color, sometimes within a mostly green tree, but it’s starting to get interesting. We were at, what was supposed to be an outdoor event yesterday, but it worked out pretty well. Most people were just glad to have the rain, and it broke for a while. In the meantime, we had beer, BBQ, bacon and cheesecake – what’s a little rain ?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Your fall colour is spectacular, nothing nearly so good here in SW France! In fact the leaves haven’t really started turning yet, but even when they do we don’t get such vibrant reds. It seems we have had the same weather patterns, huge drought here too, everything is so dry and I am still watering like mad which is almost unheard of in October. We have not had any frosts though and long may that last!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Spectacular colours! We love our English Autumns but they are relatively calm compared with yours.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Just at the start of color here in the Chicago area, Judy, so I really enjoyed your vivid reds. Too far for us to go for color, though. Maybe we’ll try Wisconsin or Michigan. But color or no, it’s a glorious autumn day here. I’m making applesauce as I have no creative craft bones in my body. I’m so happy to hear you got a good rain!!

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Annie says:

    We followed the leaf peeper drive the first two years we we moved here and, jeepers… the traffic. Now it’s fun to stay home and enjoy the colorful trees on the Seacoast. We just finished a yummy apple crisp with local apples. The Cranberry Duff will be my next creation. Looks delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Would love to see the fall color in NH someday. Do you know the tree on the right? If it was here in the Upstate, I would say sourwood (Oxydendrum arboreum) from its shape, but I don’t think sourwood grows as far north as you are.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. karen says:

    The autumn colours are spectacular where you live. They are only just starting to turn in my garden. I have a lot of autumn raspberries to use up, so I might try your recipe with those fruit instead of cranberries. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. This is the third blog I’ve looked at this morning featuring stunning autumn leaves. It’s lovely because we don’t get that colour in our trees. It doesn’t get cold enough, so I’m enjoying seeing everyone’s photos. We’re well into spring and already it’s very warm. Judy, that cake recipe is so easy and it sounds delicious. Frozen cranberries are available here so I will definitely try it. And as for crochet, I love crocheting. Check out this lovely site. It’s English, so the crochet patterns are in English terms but you will be inspired by the gorgeous work Lucy does. http://www.attic24.typepad.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Eliza Waters says:

    It seems the red maples are going to be the best this year for us. Most of the sugar maples are covered with brown spot fungus and are just dropping, sadly. I love your red tree photos – ‘stop the car!’ worthy. Watch out for those leaf peepers! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  15. We were at the dam in town today and THERE WAS WATER! Not just a trickle. Water, for real. It has been several years since we had water this time of year and this is the first serious soaking rain we’ve had in months. We sure did need it!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Ogee says:

    I love cranberry anything! Thank you for the recipe. My niece was married in the downpours and winds in Raleigh, NC last weekend…to her new husband…MATTHEW! Fitting. The lights stayed on just long enough. They say rain on your wedding is a blessing. They are well blessed…and now, so are you!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. germac4 says:

    We would love to do another trip to the US including one that covers the fall colour, looks gorgeous. Glad you have had rain too, we know what it is like to go without…awful!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Oddment says:

    I love autumn, and everything here — your words, your photos, all the comments — made the season all the better! To read about apples and cranberries and maples trees….heavenly! Also I love my new vocabulary: leaf peepers and cranberry duff! The pumpkin table topper is comfort food for the eye. Thanks for the great start to my day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Do you sew, crochet, knit, or any of the ‘hand’ stuff in the winter?

      Like

      • Oddment says:

        Don’t I wish! The closest I’ve come was in the years I was potty-training certain little people and took up crewel work to while away the hours. I thoroughly enjoyed it, but then went back to the piano or my drawing pad or cookie sheets when I had an itch — and a moment in which to scratch it! (Those moments get sparse for some years, as I bet you know.)

        Liked by 1 person

  19. Brenda says:

    I had expected muted colors after the drought, but we are having some of the most vivid colors I’ve ever seen. Each maple around our house is arrayed in a different color–stunning reds, yellows, and oranges–breathtaking against the blue sky. There is nothing like a New England fall.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ll bet that new pup loves running through all the leaves. 🙂 We met friends from AZ last night, and they had been to VT, ME, and NH and couldn’t stop talking about the colors they had seen. They even picked up leaves to take home which made my husband and I chuckle. Maybe next year, I’ll send them a box from the many that we move. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  20. Our color here is JUST changing a wee bit…I like your table topper!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Tina Schell says:

    Fall color may be the ONLY thing I miss about being in the south! Beautiful shots Judy!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. pbmgarden says:

    Those trees are magnificent in their redness! Glad you received some much needed rain in your area.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Simple pumpkin toppers???? my goodness, me and a sewing machine, a lethal combination. But yes, fall colors, cranberries and other delights, I am a happy girl!!! xoxox

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Grandma Kc says:

    Your leaves are beautiful, I do miss fall and the leaves. So much fun to stomp on them, too. Brings back memories of childhood. I am definitely going to try out that cake. I am not a HUGE fan of cranberries but I like fresh cooked ones and I love pecans so worth trying. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Nadezda says:

    Beautiful autumnal colors, Judy. I love red leafed maple in this season. Your pumpkin table toppers look very pretty and suit well to Halloween. Your new project is interesting, waiting to learn more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

