Thursday Doors

collage_fotormuraldoors

As I was walking around Limerick, Ireland, last month, I saw this long building enclosed in a fence with murals painted on it.

There were four doors in the building, but they were painted like murals and windows were added to make it look like four little houses. I didn’t crop the photos too much because I wanted you to be able to see how they were connected and visualize the long building with these paintings. Creative for sure.

Ireland Limberick RiverThis building was located right next to the road running along this wall to the River Shannon.

Happy Thursday to you wherever you are and whatever you have planned for the day.

It was 29° this morning, we’re hoping for rain this afternoon, and up to 6″ of snow is forecasted for up north. Gardening activities are suspended for today.    🙂

Linked as always to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, October 27, 2016.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Dan Antion says:

    That is so cool, Judy. I love that blue door. Is the door real, or is it all a mural?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Murphy's Law says:

    Creative indeed!! If that building were here, it would be covered in graffiti!! 😜

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, you are right. It is interesting how different places approach this. When we were in Italy, we were appalled by the hideous graffiti on so many buildings that reached from the ground level up to as high as someone could reach without a ladder. It was truly ugly. In Ireland, there were these murals that I find quite artistic. 🙂

      Like

  3. The doors were real, but then the paint was applied to make the door blend in with the other parts of the mural. This is the same town where I found the mural with the horse and the head. I have one more that is a hoot or a scare. I’m not sure which.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joyce says:

    What a find! I almost hated to discover that they were not charming individual little cottages, tucked away in the woods, inhabited by fairy tale type people! I would have moved right into the red one! I love the one with the checkered pattern, too, and the owner graciously welcoming us in!
    Dying to see the spooky door! You must be saving it for Halloween??

    Liked by 1 person

  5. msgt3227 says:

    How very cool!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh my goodness, how cute, and cute in a good way. It must have been fun to discover this place. Glad to hear you’ll be getting rain. We had fairly hard rain most of yesterday and it’s cloudy today, although I don’t think rain’s in the forecast. Enjoy your non-gardening day. Have a cup of coffee/tea, read a book, etc. at least for a bit. Sounds the perfect day for it.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  7. joey says:

    Those are so charming. The wet roofs are particularly appealing to me. Great contrasts in the textures and colors. Love that blue door.
    I hope you’re enjoying your rainy day properly 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Very charming, Judy.
    Are you getting enough rain now to make up for the lack of it earlier? We had a dry summer, but have had a lot of rain in the last 5 weeks or so.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Norm 2.0 says:

    That is so cute – it certainly makes you slow down to take a closer look doesn’t it.
    Rain is better than snow – personally I’m just not ready for the white stuff yet. I hope you enjoy a relaxing non-gardening day 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Pingback: Thursday Doors — NewEnglandGardenAndThread | Christy Jackson Nicholas, Author and Artist

  11. Vicky says:

    Really cool doors & windows, what a find 🙂 !

    Liked by 1 person

  12. joanfrankham says:

    That is a really clever idea, and they all look charming and inviting.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. What lovely murals, Judy. We used to live in Shannon town, back in the mid 1980’s, and many parts of Limerick city were very run-down back then. But nowadays it’s been well looked after, for the most part, thankfully.

    Like

  14. Some people are so clever and I love that they shared their ideas like this.

    Snow! How exciting! It’s warming up here finally, after a very mild spring. My roses are loving it.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Ruth says:

    What a lovely idea! 🙂

    Like

  16. Eliza Waters says:

    It is so charming – I love it!
    Our forecast was 1″ snow changing to rain. Well, they got that wrong. We’re working on our 3rd inch and it is coming down heavily. I’m worried about the trees that still have leaves on. 😦 I went around with a broom knocking snow off my shrubs. Hopefully, we won’t get a lot of breakage. How’s it up there?

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Very interesting 🙂 I saw similar building in other parts of the country. It was like they had fallen in love with color and wanted to use it everywhere in all kinds of ways. I saw the same in Wales. Someone told me there was some kind of history involved in the sudden explosion of color in the “provinces,” but I don’t remember the details. Beautiful pictures from a beautiful country.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Candy says:

    Thanks for sharing these. Love it! Makes me wish I could visit there too.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Oddment says:

    You might have heard my guffaw when I got to the part about suspending gardening activities. There does come a time when “gardening activity” means thinking about it while wrapped in tons of flannel. Thank you for these splendid murals; I’m totally enamored of the one with the checkered floor and peek into the inside. Here in Indiana we aren’t close to snow (I think), but the bright October skies have changed to drippy grey and October snow is not unheard of in these parts.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. KerryCan says:

    This is so delightful–and it’s done really well! Cold here, too, Judy, with snow in the area–brrrrr!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Joanne Sisco says:

    They are beautifully done! What a great find 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Brenda says:

    Stumbling on some unexpected whimsy always makes me more optimistic about the world. We have lashing wind and rain here this morning. It’s so welcome. I plant to spend the day near the wood stove, perusing my Fedco tree catalog, planning a quilt, baking carrot cake (from my mammoth purple garden carrots), and spinning. If I was a cat, I would be purring.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is raining and blowing here as well. What is the definition of a great day? You just said it. 🙂 I made a squash soup that I didn’t like so I stirred in the seeds and regifted it to the chickens. They were happy girls. I’m working on a small wall quilt, finished a Jesse Stone book, the wood pellets are being delivered on Sunday, I don’t have a Fedco catalog, and that carrot cake sounds wonderful especially if it is covered in some kind of gooey frosting. 🙂

      Like

      • Brenda says:

        Lucky chickens. Judy, do yourself a favor and request a Fedco catalog on their website–both tree and seed. They are anti-glossy (for color pictures you need to go on-line), but packed with useful information, wonderful drawings and–touches of whimsy. Frosting-wise, it’s cream cheese with Maine maple syrup–good and gooey.

        Liked by 1 person

  23. How creative! That blue door with the real stones, and ivy growing up the side of it really adds to the realism of the scene! What a neat find!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Lovely, and what a tribute to Ireland’s whimsey to have you stop to photograph them and share the photos with all of us!! As you know, rain here in Maine…a good long dose! Woodstove keeping us warm and toasty, and it has made me so happy to know that the plants are getting a good long drink!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Creative indeed ! These are wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  26. prior.. says:

    Judy – I loved the four of them together in the reader! The artsy feel has a nice mood!

    Liked by 1 person

  27. reocochran says:

    The primary colored house doors provide a great contrast from the gray, rough look of the buildings, Judy.
    I like Jesse Stone series (too), while miss the Spenser series by Robert Parker. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  28. treadway says:

    I love these/this….not sure what you call it since it is one wall. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Those doors and houses have a lot of character.

    Like

  30. germac4 says:

    The bright colours & cute paintings really make a cheerful contrast to the grey buildings …just as the Irish themselves are (mostly) very humorous & cheerful despite their rainy grey days..

    Liked by 1 person

  31. pbmgarden says:

    How do you find such interesting doors to highlight? Love this. We’ve yet to have a frost and are looking at highs in the 80s this week with no rain again. Still, not ready to slip into winter. Stay warm.

    Liked by 1 person

  32. Grandma Kc says:

    29 and snow? I sure hope the pellets came for your stove. LOVE the doors You find such cool stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

