Veterans Day

FlagFrameToday is a day on the calendar that you either feel deep in your soul or it is just another Friday.

To me it allows a day of reflection on the sacrifice that our armed forces volunteers and their families have made over the years on our behalf.

It is like Thanksgiving Day for Veterans.

So, to my husband, uncles, brothers-in-law, and my friends, I say thank you. To you and your loved ones and friends who have sacrificed on our behalf, I say thank you.

Thank you for volunteering to protect us and keep us safe. Whether your service resulted in being called the greatest generation, you were ignored when you returned, or a parade was held, your service is respected and honored by those of us who sat safely at home.

Some of you who sacrificed are gone, but none of you are forgotten. 🇺🇸

If you want a Canadian reflection on this special day, check out my friend Norm’s post and short video today. It’s worth the trip. 🙂

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Veterans Day

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Thank you for posting this beautiful message. I add member of my family and a bunch of coworkers to your list.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Murphy's Law says:

    What a heartfelt tribute to our heroes Judy. Beautifully said. I shook a veterans hand the other day and thanked him for his service. He cried and hugged me. Sometimes there are no words. 🇺🇸🇺🇸

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Beautiful post and Amen to it all! xo Johanna

    Liked by 2 people

  4. KerryCan says:

    It would be hard to think of this as just another Friday–or at least I hope so. Lovely post, Judy!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Norm 2.0 says:

    It is a day for somber reflection and appreciation for those who serve.
    Thanks for the shout out Judy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Karen says:

    What would this world be without them, yes a day to honor our veterans is very important.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Very well said. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Joyce says:

    God bless them all! I, too, have family members who served and they hold the ultimate respect in my heart. My husband was Vietnam era Air Force and it’s nice seeing him enjoy a day of free meals at local restaurants. He and his fellow vet friends are making a fun day of it! So little can mean so much in terms of appreciation!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. germac4 says:

    Thanks July, it is an important day for all of us…..so many young people have lost their lives for us.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Eliza Waters says:

    An extreme sacrifice for so many. It pulls my heart.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Ditto everything you said, Judy.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  12. reocochran says:

    I am always happy to show respect for our veterans and those who served our country, Judy. You have quite a number of military servicemen in your family. May I add my respects to yours towards them?
    My father’s dad, Grandpa O. is my special person to add, since he suffered after WWII episodes of epilepsy which his wife, my Grandma O. said he never had before he served. Only once, as a baby, was I ever introduced to him while he lived in a Veteran’s facility. My second (twin) cousins, Johnny and Ed, served in Vietnam. Ed successfully managed to come out unscathed while Johnny was emotionally scarred and depressed. I knew them for years but as a sixteen year old, “met” them again, post war. They were less than ten years older than I, so I listened to their stories, one as a medic (Ed) and the other as an infantryman (John). Very disparite stories.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Oddment says:

    Thanks for directing me to Norm’s post; that video certainly shows how superfluous words can be. It reminded me of my dad’s reminiscences of hometown parades in his childhood — he said there were Civil War veterans marching then. The connectedness of generations through war is sad reality, but perhaps some day tool for peace. We can hope. Thanks for your beautiful post.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. As the wife of an ex-serviceman it’s important to me that others remember the service people like him have given their countries. In Australia we commemorate Remembrance Day on this date, and remember the end of WW1 at 11am on the 11th day of the 11th month in 1918.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Grandma Kc says:

    Thanksgiving Day for Veterans — I really like that. I am so thankful that all of my Vets came home safe and sound — although many of them are gone now. They may have come home but they sure made sacrifices for us.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. A beautiful tribute…I will check out your friend as well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

