Thursday Doors

reddoor

I can’t take any credit for this interesting door as I received the photo from my CA blogging friend, Kc. Kc blogs at Amaraland where she chronicles the wonderful exploits of her beautiful granddaughter, Amara.

Kc says it is a freestanding door in the middle of a foot path that goes to the front door of the house which is located in Flora Park, Santa Ana, CA.

Since the yard is landscaped with drought tolerant plants, she doesn’t think anyone opens it – they just walk around.

According to online information, it was built in 1949, has 2,100 sq. ft., 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, and a lot that is probably about 6,000 sq ft. It currently has an asking price of $773,000.

It’s a little rich for my budget, but that free-standing red door sure makes me smile. Can you imagine the conversations it has started? 🙂

As always, linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, November 17, 2016.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. KerryCan says:

    That door is outstanding in its field! Dumb joke . . . sorry. But the door is fabulous!

    Liked by 5 people

  2. Murphy's Law says:

    Love it! Those plants may be drought tolerant, but I laughed when I saw all that hose next to the house and on right side in front!! Yeah, the red door must be a great conversation starter.

    I wouldn’t want to be drunk going through that door…..WTH, where’d the house go?!!!

    Liked by 4 people

  3. laughing at not only the door but the ‘outstanding’ comment! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great conversation piece! I wonder that people go around it rather than open it and step through. Do you suppose there’s a little twinge of fear that if they were to open it and step through it they’d find themselves in another land or time? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Maybe it’s a door to Narnia or somewhere similar, although in CA there wouldn’t be any fur coats in the wardrobe. Whimsical fun, Judy.

    janet

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Joyce says:

    The door has a fairy-tale like quality to it – like maybe you’d just disappear or something if you entered! I’d love to open it and peek behind!
    I think the home’s value reflects very well the value of living in that paradise – southern California!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I love the idea of a freestanding door in the garden, now that has put ideas in my head! Thank you.🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Norm 2.0 says:

    Certainly very original and as you say it’s probably a prolific conversation-starter. Good choice 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  9. It adds a whimsical dimension, like if I were to open it I would be transported to wonderland.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. joey says:

    What a great door, I think it adds that certain something. Big house with drought tolerant plants for seven times the cost of mine? Nah, but I can admire its unusual red door 🙂 So cheerful.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Joanne Sisco says:

    Very different, very clever way to make a property memorable 🙂

    That house at that price in Toronto would be a STEAL!!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Dan Antion says:

    I wonder if anyone ever knocks at it. Maybe they use it as a decoy door for solicitors. It is pretty and it makes an interesting statement in the yard.

    Liked by 4 people

  13. It would be tempting to open, just in case something interesting was on the other side.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. How strange to have a door standing in the middle of a garden like that. It looks as if the house was moved but they left the door. Well, I suppose being red, they liked the look of it, 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  15. prior.. says:

    your friend sent you a cool find – and I bet it looks a bit surreal like that.

    also – CA prices are way too inflated – but I guess it is what it is….

    Liked by 2 people

  16. germac4 says:

    The free standing door makes me smile too, but it somehow looks pretty good there!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Candy says:

    Thanks for sharing this with us. How cool! And I have enjoyed reading all the comments – most echoed my thoughts too.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Eliza Waters says:

    Very striking and definitely an eye-catching conversation piece!

    Liked by 2 people

  19. reocochran says:

    Free standing doors are rare indeed, Judy! The fact it is a bright red really makes a bold statement! 🙂 Happy weekend to you and hope you have a relaxing one. We are expecting possible snow, are you?

    Liked by 2 people

  20. I love it! I have a freestanding door leading to a storage area under the deck. It’s just a frame and a storm door. I think we originally planned to enclose the area, but somehow, it never happened. Now, it’s ART — or some kind of political statement …

    Liked by 2 people

  21. Cool red door idea! Good thing they can walk around the door; imagine if they lost their key and locked themselves out 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Denzil says:

    At first I thought that was the price for the door!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Oddment says:

    I think you do not have to turn to Rowlings for the door story — just look to your blog visitors! This image is such a tickler! In an odd way, it kind of puts things in perspective. Thanks!

    Liked by 2 people

  24. Annie says:

    I have a brother in Virginia who actually put a door like this in his garden. It doesn’t open but it certainly “works” in his landscape. Love this idea!

    Liked by 2 people

  25. Sabiscuit says:

    Lovely statement sculpture, Judy. I remember visiting a sculpture park in Korea years ago. There was a free standing set of double glass doors, one of which was “open”. When you walked through and looked around the perspective changed – the doors looked “closed” – perhaps because most people turn towards the right, which made them focus more on the closed panel.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Pingback: Road Trip | No Facilities

  27. pbmgarden says:

    I want to like this (and I do love the color) but it doesn’t seem well-integrated into the site. Fascinating to see however.

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Grandma Kc says:

    Thank you my friend for sharing one of my favorite doors! Nothing like what you have seen on your adventures.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

