Thursday Doors

bean

It’s Thursday which means it’s time for Norm to showcase doors from all over the world. It’s also Thanksgiving here in the US where we prep, cook, and eat until we drop. So, today’s door just had to include delicious food.

Recently, my husband and I visited a small breakfast spot in nearby Newmarket, NH, the Big Bean. Interesting that the name includes the word ‘big’ since the inside is anything but big. There are about six tables, four toppers, and a counter area for five or six.

On this particular early Sunday morning, the inside was standing room only with waiting breakfast goers, and they had even spilled outside to stand in the light rain with their coffee cups.

Coffee is not served here. You take a cup off a hook and help yourself to one of the available varieties.

What did I have? I had Down East French Toast which was two slices of cinnamon swirl French toast stuffed with maple walnut cream cheese with fresh fruit and whipped cream. I would be hard pressed to not order the same thing next time because it was spectacular.

So, if you are driving through Newmarket and see this bright green door, be sure to stop because there is some great food and a dose of New England charm right through it.

Happy Thanksgiving or Happy Thursday to you and yours. 🦃

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, November 24, 2016.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Thanks for the tip…we will stop in instead of driving by if the opportunity arises.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Joanne Sisco says:

    Oh my … your french toast sounds perfectly heavenly!!

    Happy Thanksgiving 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That cake looks delicious. Now I’m really hungry – my post today was also about food. Off to put the kettle on, have a lovely day, Judy.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. lorigreer says:

    This sounds like a special place for breakfast. I hope to visit New England next fall. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Norm 2.0 says:

    Okay, I think you’ve found the spot where we’ll meet for coffee the next time I’m down that way 😉
    Enjoy your Turkey Day!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dan Antion says:

    Oh my, I would order the Down East French Toast in a heartbeat, Judy. I love finding places like this. Great choice to include food today. I think I need a second slice of breakfast cake. Happy Thanksgiving!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ogee says:

    I didn’t know that it was possible to gain weight by simply reading a post – but I think this one has done it! Happy Thanksgiving, Judy!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. sue says:

    Happy Thanksgiving Judy..prepping dinner now. No shopping for me, curling up with Jack (Reacher that is!) for a little “Night School” after the clean up is done.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope dinner is delicious. 🙂 No shopping for me either – not my thing. Curling up with Jack Reacher is always exciting. Have you read Ben Coes series about Dewey Andreas? If not, I think you should check it out. A little more action but Dewey will keep you coming back like Jack does. Have a good day and nice weekend, friend. 🙂

      Like

  9. I had to laugh about the sign in the background – Marellis – Fruit and Real Estate. That’s quite an adventuresome business plan. Happy Thanksgiving, Judy!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Joyce says:

    Your corner of the world has so much to explore! And door by door, you’ve invited us in to share it! Happy Thanksgiving to you, Judy, and your wonderful family!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I’m not fussed on French toast, but if it looks like that I could be persuaded to try again!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Spots frequented by locals are frequently the best. Looks like a great place, Judy. Happy Thanksgiving.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  13. joey says:

    Looks wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. treadway says:

    Love that door, the food looks good, and the place sounds interesting…

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Eliza Waters says:

    Sounds like this place is worth the wait – hope you had a great day, Judy!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Your breakfast sounds perfectly sinful! Happy Thanksgiving!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Oddment says:

    I am reading this on The Morning After, and I can’t believe that I think that French toast looks good. Is there no end to my gluttony? But any place where people stand together in a drizzle to sip fresh coffee has got to have wonderful breakfasts. Thanks for the peek at it.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Brenda says:

    I just had an indulgent piece of leftover maple bourbon pumpkin pie with whipped cream for breakfast and feeling that I must do some outside work in compensation. But, yow, it’s nothing compared to that french toast! I hope you had a magnificent holiday Judy.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. That place sounds fantastic. I can see why it was packed.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Nadezda says:

    Your breakfast seems very delicious Judy. I love whipped cream and fruit as well. So this green door looks promising.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. pbmgarden says:

    Places like that have such character. Glad you enjoyed the French toast (my husband’s favorite anytime we eat breakfast out). Hope you had a great Thanksgiving Judy.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Happy belated Thanksgiving Judy, hope you had a yummy day!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. prior.. says:

    Love you the green the big bean chose – nice and bright – and about time the east has the name in some yummy dishes – we always hear “down south” or southern This and that-
    And “down east” French toast sounds right on- mmmm

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

