Winter

Winter is definitely here, and the pellet stove is roaring. Thanksgiving dinner was delicious, and Christmas is right around the corner. The tree and decorations are up, and I’m really enjoying the lights on these gray, dreary days.

There’s definitely no gardening going on here unless you consider the Poinsettia Trials which are this weekend or the soil test results I received back for my Master Gardener project, Lydia’s House of Hope.

Because this is a very old boarding house, the lead levels in the area where we want to install raised beds are too high for growing vegetables. I’m going to deliver the results on Thursday along with Cooperative Extension contacts to see how this might be mitigated. All this valuable information can be purchased for less than $20 at your local Cooperative Extension.

blanketcollageSewing and quilting have been keeping me busy. I finished the third Linus quilted blanket, and I’ll deliver them this week.

I saw a table runner I really liked on Pinterest that looked like presents. It was trial and error to try to copy it, but I’m happy with the results.

If I did the runner again, I think I’d stop at four boxes. I also made a couple of single boxes for table toppers.

Table runner

I’m always reading, and this past week that included two really good books – John Sanford’s, Escape Clause, with Virgil Flowers, and David Baldacci’s, No Man’s Land, with John Puller. Up next is Sandra Brown’s, Sting.

Now that I have most of my sewing done, I’m moving on to thinking about winter and spending the entire month of January in South Carolina. I’ve been to Hilton Head and Myrtle Beach, but it has been years.

On our trip to Ireland, we met a very nice local couple who spend their winters in SC. They put me in contact with a person, and we rented a condo right on the beach for less money than a week at a nice hotel. I know the weather will only be around 60, but there won’t be snow to shovel, Yaktrax to put on my boots, and a jacket might work instead of a heavy winter coat.

We plan to explore Charleston, Savannah, Fort Sumter, gardens, lighthouses, beaches and golf courses for my husband. There’s even a Satisfy your Thirst tour map of breweries and a SC BBQ trail map – now we are talking getaway.

Have you been to South Carolina to visit or stay? Have any recommendations? Expect postcards. 🙂

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Traveling and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Winter

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I am so impressed that you can put something together from photos on the Internet, Judy. The table runner is very pretty.

    I’ve only been to SC for a few-day meeting in December but it was nice. A beer tour and a BBQ tour sounds like great ways to January yourself.

    This is when I envy you retired folk. But less envy and more wishing you the good days you earned.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ogee says:

    What a wonderful escape from the winter that will be! I’m sure you’ll work more than a few projects in between your exploring!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You just whipped up a pattern of your own from a photo? Be still my heart. Judy these are all lovely projects! Congrats on some beautiful finishes here.

    I think that you’ve had enough of snow shoveling and getting sick afterwards…I recall either last year or the one before after a bout of dealing with too much you and your husband were sick with bronchitis / how wonderful that you two are going to take this break from it all. So excited for you and the new adventure! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. michael_e says:

    Just above Georgetown, just south of Myrtle Beach.
    Brookgreen Gardens, Murrells Inlet, SC

    Be prepared to spend a long day … large and very, very educational and interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. joyroses13 says:

    How Wonderful about going to SC! I lived in Johns Island, SC for a year and LOVED it! Charleston is a beautiful city! Kiawah Island is a great beach , same with the beach near Bohicket Marina.. You have to see the Angel Oak tree! One of the oldest if not the oldest Oak trees around and it is quite a sight to behold!! Enjoy!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Joyce says:

    Judy, what a way to spend a good part of winter! That sounds fabulous! I’ve never been to SC but how nice to have a break amid endless dreary days and piles and piles of snow! You’ve earned it!
    Your quilts are lovely – pretty colors and excellent workmanship. Your table runner of gifts is a fine copy of a very nice pattern!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Linda says:

    What a beautiful table runner!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Murphy's Law says:

    The Linus quilts are terrific and I love the runner. No end to your talent!

    I just started reading Escape Clause, (you gotta love that $?/@#% Flowers!!), and am (im)patiently waiting for No Man’s Land.

    A month in South Carolina sounds like Heaven. Oh, my skin is turning green with envy! After the bout you and your hubby went through last winter shoveling endlessly in freezing temperatures, it sounds like a really good plan. Have fun planning your trip.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. For we hardy New Englanders (not), any time spent in deep winter where we aren’t in snow up to our asses is a good place to be! I think Christmas will come down from the attic tomorrow. But it’s relatively warm here, still. In the high 40s and raining. But the cold, dampness is bone-chilling.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Love your runner. You’re like my mom who, when she decided to take up needlepoint, copied the design of a Navajo rug from the cover of an “Arizona Highways” magazine and made it in a very large size…for her first project! I haven’t been to much in South Carolina, but have heard good things about it, so I’ll look forward to your report and photos. No winter here yet, unfortunately.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  11. germac4 says:

    What a talent you have for these quilts and runners Judy, they all look beautiful!
    South Carolina sounds like a great way to break up the winter…I’ve always wanted to go there, so I’m looking forward to lots of posts while you are there.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. pbmgarden says:

    Love your quilting projects. Hope MB will be a fun adventure. Too bad about the high lead. What is the source?

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Oddment says:

    Deb said it for me (and made me laugh): “Be still, my heart!” I simply cannot imagine making anything so lovely from fabric, let alone recreating something seen on a computer monitor. Your upcoming winter getaway sounds great; jacket weather in January would be fine by me!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Your table runner is lovely – clever you! How nice to have a wonderful holiday to look forward to. Anticipation is almost as good as the real thing…almost.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Ha! You are in luck…I live in South Carolina, love our beaches, and can share all kinds of info! Email me at marian.stclair@gmail.com and ask me anything you want to know.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Annie says:

    Admiring all you create with sewing machine and needle and thread…. and I wonder about all the fabric and materials. Do you have a craft studio devoted to your quilting? Oh, and Hilton Head is beckoning to me in January. Great time to get away for any length of time!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have an area that might be considered an alcove. It is an open area looking onto my four-season porch (lots of light) and use to house a daybed for the grandkids. Now it holds my sewing machine, quilting table, serger and table, storage bins for fabric, and a double door closet for extra ‘stuff.’ It is plenty of space to spread out with enough storage to be organized and be able to put it away for neatness purposes.

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Ah, a doze of coziness from your end to start my day!! Lovely and your quilting is gorgeous. And no…South Carolina is still on my list byt I here good things about it. xo Johanna

    Liked by 2 people

  18. KerryCan says:

    You make winter sound so good but then tempt us with the idea of a month in warmer climes! Your sewing is beautiful and so festive. When you go to South Carolina, near Charleston, you can visit the Yorktown, a decommissioned aircraft carrier. My husband was part of the Marine detachment on the ship during the Vietnam War. It’s pretty cool to walk around the ship!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Joanne Sisco says:

    You have an abundance of creative talent!! … and you manage to get through a couple of books and maintain a blog at the same time. I envy your energy 🙂
    … well that, and your planned month in SC away from winter 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  20. joey says:

    I have been to Myrtle Beach umpteen times, but I can’t say that I view it with any particular fondness. I enjoy the beach pretty much anywhere at any time. I like Charleston and Hilton Head. I even like Savannah, Georgia, just not enough to stay there forever. Buuuut, you know how I hate the hot weather, so if I ever have to go back that way, I hope it’ll be when it’s the cooler section of the year. You will no doubt enjoy the sunshine this winter! It’s great to have fun friends to do new things with 🙂
    I LOVE the colors in the pink and aqua quilt — that’s a stunner! And the table topper is so cute! 😀
    I had to Google pellet stove and now I think I want one…

    Liked by 1 person

  21. prior.. says:

    Enjoyed this post!
    Sorry about the lead…
    And we love South Carolina – have friends in Sumter and they have a great (affordable too) sushi place near the Air Force base!
    Also – on my next trip I want to go to schuler’s BBQ which was featured on the show called the profit (CNBC) and heard it is really good!
    Looking forward to see how your trip goes!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Eliza Waters says:

    I love your table runner – it’s charming! My sister lives in Greenville, SC which is up in the mountains, far away from the coast. It’s lovely up there!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Brenda says:

    A month in South Carolina will fill up quickly. There are so many lovely places along the coast. I love Beaufort and the low country area around it. In any case, we spent quite a bit of time on the South Carolina and Georgia coast when we were on our year-long RV trip (before we settled in Maine). If you go on my blog and search “South Carolina,” you can see the places that we liked. I’m already looking forward to hearing about your trip!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Dawn says:

    You’ve been so busy, Judy! Your quilts and table runner are works of art! What fun to have a warm January getaway to look forward to. Planning is always part of the fun! I’ve never visited South Carolina (yet). So, I’m excited to tag along via the blog! Wishing you happy December days, Judy! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

