Thursday Doors

Wednesday I took a break while doing errands and drove a couple of blocks over to check in on the police horses. This was a favorite destination when my granddaughter was little, but it has been a while since I visited.

It was my lucky day because Officer Joe Caproni was working outside and invited me in to see our large four-legged officers. We had a nice chat about the Dover Mounted Patrol and how the Master Gardeners might help with some planters on each side of the entry gates.

So, I’m taking liberty with my ‘door’ today because it is a work in progress. Two sides of the shelter are being enclosed, and there will be an opening on the paddock side to enter and exit.

dmpbarnedit

Rasa and CJ are our resident police horses who patrol our streets, keep us safe, and keep us smiling with pride.

CJ&Rasa

Photo credit: Friends of the Dover Mounted Patrol

Mounted Patrol

Photo credit: Friends of Dover Mounted Patrol

Rasa, on the left, is a 12-year old black Percheron, standing 16.3 hands, weighing approximately 1,600 pounds. She holds the distinction of being the first mare and the first rescue horse. Rasa came from Pennsylvania, where they think she was a cart horse. She was purchased and donated by Chinburg Properties, and Officer Caproni is her primary rider.

CJ, on the right, is a 13-year old Belgian, standing 17.2 hands, weighing approximately 1,800 pounds, and was donated by and named after our local C&J Trailways. He is primarily ridden by Officer Murch.

The Dover Police Mounted Patrol started in 1998 as part of the department’s desire to foster a strong community presence while being proactive in crime prevention. Today there are only two Mounted Patrols in the state – Dover and Manchester.

The horses and their needs are totally supported and sponsored through donations from the local community. Our largest power company provides the property they live on while several generous local companies and an enthusiastic group of volunteers provide everything else including maintenance, equipment, and food.

As a resident, it is certainly a privilege to have the Dover Mounted Patrol contributing to the safety of our streets. And, as a horse lover, what can I say – they are beautiful specimens to behold. 🙂

cjrasahayedit

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, December 1, 2016.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in New England, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Brenda says:

    What a wonderful idea. I love the big draft horses, but I’ve never seen them used as police mounts before. Actually, I’ve rarely seen them ridden. Must be like riding a muscular barrel! Lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You know I’m loving this post, Judy! 🙂 The city of Cleveland has mounted police and I always loved seeing them, although since we didn’t live in the city, it wasn’t that often. These horses are beauties and their sheer size would be a deterrent!

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  3. They are just magnificent! Love that shot of them running. Whenever we have our local county fair, the horse barn and these large work horses are favorites of mine.

    I saw your last Thursday door post just now as well….your decadent breakfast at that cafe. WOW, just WOW did that look good 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dawn says:

    What beautiful horses, Judy! I love the way the community supports them. I know the Dover Mounted Patrol will welcome the addition of new planters and guidance from the Master Gardeners! Happy December days, Judy! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

  5. pastpeter says:

    A lovely piece, Judy! What a privilege to have such beauties patrolling your streets.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lovely post. And I’ve always liked Percherons. Mind you – I like all horses.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Dan Antion says:

    Great photos, Judy and I’m so glad to see that you appreciate those horses. Hartford just got rid of the last horses from their mounted patrol – we won’t see horse on patrol again in this city. I think it was stupid and shortsighted, but they didn’t ask me.

    Those are beautiful animals. I think they deserve a little more hay.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Norm 2.0 says:

    That is so cool! Montreal still has a mounted police division that patrols mostly on Mount Royal, but you’ll sometimes find them in old Montreal too.
    I love how the local community gets involved in supporting them – it is good for everyone.
    Great post Judy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Joyce says:

    Everything about this is beautiful! The horses, of course. But also the spirit of your community that sees fit to invest in such a noble symbol of protection and service! And, for me, the best part is that Rasa was rescued. Speaks further to the intelligence and compassion of the people of Dover!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Joanne Sisco says:

    This is one of those ‘awwwww!!’ feel-good posts ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  11. How charming to have mounted police on patrol. That would surely make my heart smile. Your story and photos certainly did. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. joey says:

    Awesome 🙂
    We still have mounted police here in Indianapolis, too. We only have like half a dozen now, there were more in my childhood.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. germac4 says:

    I love to see horses being cared for and worked well, and these horses look very healthy and happy…the fact that the care of the horses is all done through sponsorship, and volunteers shows what a great community you have there Judy.

    Liked by 2 people

  14. Eliza Waters says:

    I love work horses, esp. Percherons. These two are beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. dennyho says:

    Beautiful ponies!!! And they need a door! Great post for today Judy.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. This is so neat! They’re beautiful horses!

    I think our Mounted Police got the axe due to budget cuts. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  17. A wonderful idea. Maybe more cities will adopt the horses and the concept. And such beautiful horses … and so BIG!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. pbmgarden says:

    Fabulous door post!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Oddment says:

    I laughed out loud at Brenda’s “like riding a muscular barrel.” And of course I basked in that image of your granddaughter’s smile — I don’t doubt for a minute that her thrill lasted for days. And I love the door-that-will-be with its planters-that-will-be; for every person who reads this, there will be a different imagined look — what fun. Thanks for a great start to my day!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. KerryCan says:

    How wonderful! I’ve always thought that horse patrols were a wonderful way for police to connect with community. The horses are beautiful and approachable, and the whole package seems to be so non-threatening. These are gorgeous creatures!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Murphy's Law says:

    Best “doors” ever!! They are magnificent. Hooray for a town that hasn’t gone 100% internet and where the community works together for the benefit of all.

    And if I were a criminal, I wouldn’t want to tangle with either of them…and I’m not referring to the police officers!! 😀

    What a great post, thanks for sharing this with us.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. How interesting to have mounted police in your area. I’m loving the pink!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Candy says:

    Beautiful photos – and a true Master Gardener, always looking for a project

    Like

  24. reocochran says:

    I love how we all see open doors in many parts of Life, Dan! Stopping to show u the horses who helped keep your town a safer place, as well as those who train and ride them to keep them in shape are all valuable benefits from your visiting and opening the gate to their paddock.
    I absolutely loved the radiating light off the “roof” over the food area. The sun is shining beautiful rays upon the scenery! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Nadezda says:

    Hi, Judy! We have no mounted police here, I think we should. I love horses as well and it’s really great idea to support them by a community.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Pingback: Tis the season | NewEnglandGardenAndThread

  27. reocochran says:

    Oops, Judy. I am not quite sure why my comment had a “Dan” instead of your name! I came back to look as I usually circle round to see replies, there I saw the wrong name affixed to my comment to you! Must have been I had read Dan’s comment on your post before I wrote mine? Anyway, I liked seeing a horse drawn carriage in Columbus and an Amish or Mennonite one on my way home from Cleveland passing through the countryside. The mounted police on these beautiful, healthy horses would be a fine sight to see! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  28. prior.. says:

    I like the liberty you took with your door and it was fresh and creative – and the mounted police are just awesome – so nice twist for a door post. 🚪

    Like

  29. Pingback: Thursday Doors — NewEnglandGardenAndThread – MobsterTiger

Leave a Reply

