Thursday Doors

grangecollage

This handsome double black door and the interesting brown sliding garage door belong to the Jeremiah Smith Grange in Lee, New Hampshire. The building dates back to 1841.

The Grange was started in 1867, focusing on  agriculture issues that were important to individuals and families in the rural farming communities. In 1867, it was the first group to give women an equal vote with their male counterparts.

The Jeremiah Smith Grange started in 1891 and currently has 15 recorded members. The online listing shows 57 Granges in New Hampshire with individual memberships ranging from 11 to 64.

The early New Hampshire Grange participated in helping the US Post Office establish Rural Free Delivery routes, establish local libraries to share books, was involved in lobbying for a State Police Force, and contributed to developing the University System of New Hampshire.

My grandparents belonged to the Mount Hope Grange in Landaff. There were annual Old Home Days with a parade, contests, dinner, an evening play, and just plain old-fashioned family fun. I couldn’t even count the number of Grange meetings and activities I went to as a child, but I can tell you I’m sitting here smiling just thinking about it. My grandparents 50th wedding anniversary was held at the Grange where they celebrated with family, friends and neighbors.

The NH Grange lists itself as ‘America’s Family Fraternity’ with  a focus on “enjoying good in their labor, help the needy, protect children and animals, and care for the sick and elderly.”

Maybe we should all join a Grange. 🙂

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, December 8, 2016.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in New England, Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Lovely photos!
    So, I had to look up ‘grange’… I got your context clues of what it was, but craved more info. 😉
    I was referred to ‘The Patrons of Husbandry’. I’ve always laughed at the word husbandry, as I feel the tasks are more ‘wife-ry’ 😉 I guess I need to get out of my little box and think outside of it! Ha!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Great photos, Judy. I love those large sliding doors. I’ve been to meetings and events held in Grange Halls in Pennsylvania and West Virginia. Coming together for those goals is something we could all benefit from.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. She looks grand all decked out for the holidays! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think we have a Thursday Doors Grange, Judy. 🙂 Love the doors with the wreaths and their festive look. I didn’t find your link on the inLinkz page, BTW. Have a great Thursday!

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  5. joey says:

    Lurve those barn doors, not that they’re not all great doors. I have heard of Grange, but have no idea why, or where, nor do I seem to remember anyone being part of. Oh well, sounds like good stuff 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  6. It sounds like you could have a good time at one of those events.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. germac4 says:

    Mount Hope Grange would give people a great sense of belonging …I often felt some of the kids I taught had no such safety nets …. It makes such a difference having a caring community.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Good doors. I hope they are in better shape than mine. I think mine has decided to fall off in the foreseeable future. Oy.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Joyce says:

    The whole world needs to band together in the welcoming embrace of one huge Grange! I recall that word from school, knowing that it had something to do with farm communities. Thank you for the details – and the knowledge that one of my friends actively participated as a very fortunate child! No wonder you are such a focused. multi-talented high achiever!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. What a great sense of community there must be in a Grange. Your childhood memories are wonderful and what a fabulous way for your grandparents to celebrate such a significant anniversary.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Norm 2.0 says:

    Any group that comes together to work towards positive, constructive common goals is a good thing. Another vote for the sliding doors here 😉
    Nicely done Judy.

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Oddment says:

    Thank you for the doors and for another glimpse of your grandparents. What a childhood you had with them! I applaud Joyce’s idea of a world-wide grange — sorely needed — and I love those happy, bright wreaths on the prim and proper black doors. A great image.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Great selection this week Judy! The Grange sounds like a wonderful group. I love the black doors with the red bows.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. KerryCan says:

    I want to join this Grange! I want to hang out in that cool building and admire the garage doors up close! And I’m very impressed about that decision to give women an equal vote . . . .

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Murphy's Law says:

    The double black doors decked out for the holidays are very handsome, but it’s the sliding garage doors that get my vote. We have a few granges in this area. I only had a minimal understanding of what they were all about. I’m embarrassed to say that I never thought of finding out!! So your history lesson was well received here!!

    What a shame that such an outstanding organization has dwindled down so. Makes you wonder where our priorities lie, doesn’t it?

    Hope you are doing well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think it is a case of being old fashioned, but it was such a wonderful part of the rural community back in the day. Neighbors got together to hear about the latest family and farm news, share a meal, and in some cases help each other out. I guess today they just post their status and their lunch on Facebook. They’ll never know what they missed. I finished Jack Reach and passed him off to my husband. Now, I’m about 3/4’s through John Grisham’s “The Whistler.” Happy reading and happy weekend. 🙂

      Like

      • Murphy's Law says:

        LOL! You always seem to be one book ahead of me. I actually picked up Night School yesterday, so now it’s my turn to curl up with Jack!! And I’m on library wait list for The Whistler.

        We’re expecting some snow this weekend but I don’t care. Jack will keep me busy. 😛

        Happy weekend to you too.

        Liked by 1 person

  16. prior.. says:

    I love their creed and agree that we all need that – the world would be better!
    The parades must have been nice back in the day – nice door post, j.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Brenda says:

    My grandparents were farmers in Connecticut and the Grange was a big part of their lives. Unfortunately, most of the old Grange buildings in Connecticut seem to be gone–along with most of its farms. On the other hand, every small town in Maine seems to have a Grange that is still standing.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. reocochran says:

    My favorite door is the black one with the evergreen wreaths with red bows. I see why people prefer the sliding garage door, too. 🙂
    I like the sound of local Granges. The building resembles a church but acts like a governing building or town hall. It embodies so much within its tenets.
    I am arriving late so don’t worry about responding!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Joanne Sisco says:

    I learned something new today – I didn’t know about the history of the US granges. The only ‘grange’ I had ever heard of before now, was a neighbourhood in Toronto called The Grange.
    Very interesting – living in a large city, I marvel at the sense of community.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

