Over coffee

If we were having coffee, I’d ask how your week was and what’s keeping you busy.

snowcollage‘Tis the season here to get out the shovels, put the Yaktrax on the boots, and switch the mower for the blower on the John Deere. We’ve had snow three times with an additional 3.5″ today. The landscape is white, and winter is here regardless of the calendar.

I decided to send out some Christmas cards to those that would enjoy them. Eighteen to be exact. To the younger generations that are on Facebook, well, I guess I’ll just post greetings there.

I’m keeping busy working sunflowerandblocks2on a lap quilt for my daughter using seven beautiful tea towels that my sister-in-law in Colorado gifted to me at our last family reunion in Kansas. I could not imagine drying dishes with these lovely pieces of art.

There was a lot of white, however, so I created a pattern to make sunflowers to go in the four corner blocks because my sister-in-law and my daughter were both born and raised in Kansas.

toffeepieces2Since I’ve been slaving away at the sewing machine and it is the holiday season, at least that was my excuse, I made a batch of toffee to reward myself. I don’t put nuts on mine because we maintain a nut-free house, but I can imagine how great it would taste with them sprinkled on the top.

For the very best toffee recipe, check  here to get it direct from Kerry. If you’d prefer to have it delivered right to your door, well, Kerry can take care of that too if you visit her Etsy shop. She’s a one-stop toffee candy site.

I’ve shoveled snow, wrote my cards, went to the final Master Gardener meeting of the year, and kept busy sewing, reading, and eating way too much toffee. I guess that about sums it up for me this past week.

What’s keeping you busy and smiling?  If you have a special holiday recipe, by all means tell us all about it. 🙂

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in New England, Quilting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Over coffee

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    We got about the same amount of snow. It’s melting now, though.
    I love those vintage tea towels – they’re going to look great when put together.
    I still have half my cards yet to send, sigh. Time sneaks up on me. At least the tree is up!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your sunflower block…so cheerful. No snow here, but a few drizzles this morning. I’ll take water any way we can get it. Your toffee looks yummy but I know better than to make any, as no one eats sweets but me and I’m already in enough trouble:^) Take care on the snow.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joyce says:

    What a beautiful way to memorialize those charming tea towels! I remember when those were popular in the 50s. Mother and grandma both had them – and used them! – because there would always be more. I walked a few blocks to the “dime store” with either one of them and found a nice selection in the sewing department.
    We had tons of snow here yesterday. At least 12″ and it’s still falling.
    I’m working on my Grandma’s Christmas Cookie Baking party – making sugar cookies ahead to freeze for decorating!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The tea towels remind me of all the other table cloths and arm chair covers that were popular back then. When she gave me them, I was taken back in time and no way could I wipe a dish with them. 🙂 I remember going to Woolworths and Newburys dime stores. Boy, are we ancient or what? You sure have your share and someone else’s of snow, lady. Christmas cookie decorating with the grands – hooray for a day of fun and icing. I can’t wait to hear all about it. Stay safe.

      Like

  4. We had an almighty heat wave in the first two weeks of December, with very hot air moving east from the deserts of the interior of the country. So last week we were all melting with temperatures of 38 degrees C. This week it has cooled down to more average summer temperatures and it is delightful. And even more so because the school year has finished in Queensland and I am on HOLIDAYS…for almost six glorious weeks. Quilting, crochet, writing, gardening, baking…here I come. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Those tea towels are great, Judy. My mom always has (and still has) towels made from flour sacks. They were big and sturdy and there don’t seem to be any like them anymore. All the kitchen towels are either small, thin, or both. But I have some she gave me and I take good care of them!

    We have a fair bit of snow here, too, and I’m loving it. It looks so beautiful and Christmas-y. I’m getting ready to do cards as well. I give them to people at church and usually send out a Christmas letter, which I’d best get going on as well. I like those much better than virtual greetings, even though I don’t look down on anyone for sending them. Good wishes and greetings are what I value, no matter the medium.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  6. quilt32 says:

    I would love the toffee. Most of my decorations are up and I’m baking some Austrian Crescent cookies, my older son’s favorite, for when we meet his family for dinner on Wednesday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I looked that recipe up and wonderful memories washed over me. When I was in high school, my friends’ (twins) German grandmother made what she called nut horns, and they looked just like that. Oh my goodness, but I loved those cookies. Hope you have a wonderful dinner on Wednesday. 🙂

      Like

  7. Dan Antion says:

    mmmm, toffee. Oh that picture is just enough to make my mouth water. Actually, just saying toffee will do that. Sounds like you’ve been busy, Judy. Answering both the seasonal call and Mother Nature’s white knock. I hope you can relax a bit soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Looks like you’ve got plenty of indoor activities to keep you busy. I’m already tired of shoveling snow.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Murphy's Law says:

    Love those tea towels….and the addition of the sunflower. My great-aunt Emma made them by the dozen. She was so incredibly talented. Embroidery, crewel work, hand-sewn quilts, tatting, you name it. As a child she made all her doll clothes….by hand, of course!! Thanks for the memory.

    The toffee is calling my name and won’t stop! Checked out Kerry’s recipe and it seems easy to do. I like your version because we too are nut free, in addition to egg free and fish free. Wouldn’t dream of leaving our granddaughter out of the fun.

    Never heard of Yaktrax but I’m gonna check that out. Just had 3″ of snow, a bit more coming, but temperature going down to single digits. I think Mother Nature has an early case of PMS!!!

    Stay warm. Safe walking. Enjoy working on your many projects.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re welcome for the memory. 🙂 Now, you’ve opened the topic so we maintain a nut, peanut, and shellfish free zone for our grandson. 🙂 The toffee is easy, and the only challenge for a child is the hot syrup. But, once you pour it out and move back and forth to get it thin it is ready for the chocolate chips to be dropped, melted and spread – perfect for little hands. Then you and she will assume the task of taste testing. It is a tough job but someone has to do it. 🙂 Yaktrax are wonderful for those of us who want to remain upright at all times. 🙂

      Like

  10. germac4 says:

    I’ve been matching you …for every toffee you’ve had, I’ve had a chocolate I bet. I just can’t believe my lack of self control when it comes to good chocolate. I love you T-towel quilt, when I first started teaching I had a little quilted book with the days of the week etc…the kids loved it.
    We’ve been reading about your snow, and snow storms…good luck with the shovelling!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Yaktrax…My favorite winter walking companion.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. joey says:

    I remember those tea towels 🙂 I think the sunflowers add a nice, bright touch, not to mention a meaningful one. It’s winter here, too, although the white keeps melting away 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Ogee says:

    Loving some California rain, and loving on a snowy white-faced Lab. 🙂 Love the quilt – and the addition of sunflowers. Happiness all year round!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Cozy winter time , Judy!! yes, coffee and goodies. No toffee for me, please. But I do love a Hobbit worthy seed cake, as we call it here at home. Send some snow this way, please! Xo Johanna

    Liked by 1 person

  15. The toffee sounds delicious, the quilt is going to be lovely and you can keep the snow. We had a few nights down in the 20’s and are anticipating more nights with the howling wind and cold temps later this week. I’m not ready for winter!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. The snow missed us except for about 1/2 inch and a lot of rain. I’m sure it will come, but delay is fine with me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Oddment says:

    If we were sipping coffee together, I would first exclaim over Yaktrax, which I’ve never heard of. Then I would swoon over your tea towel quilt, and then I would arm-wrestle you for the toffee. You certainly know how to warm up the winter! Then I might tell you that I think I’m having some trouble with WordPress, but I can’t tell yet if it’s WordPress or me. Thanks for the coffee!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love Yaktrax. We have a huge driveway and turn arounds that address a two-family home. So, when I do my share of shoveling around the edges before the snow blower, clearing the cars, shoveling between them, or just walking to the end of the driveway to get the mail I wear the boots that have them on so I don’t slip and fall. I’ve walked on frozen lakes with no problem. If you have to deal with ice where you are, I’d highly recommend them. If you were here, I’d share the toffee for the exchange of conversation which I’m sure would be entertaining. If you want to send me an email, I’d be glad to share how WordPress has helped me in the past. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  18. KerryCan says:

    Where would we be without Yaktrax?? We got ours right after my hand broke his leg on the ice several years back . . . I’m so pleased to know you’re making the toffee and loving it! Thanks for sharing the post with others–it really is so easy that no home should be without it this time of year. And, of course, you would expect that I love the quilt you’re making–the towels look wonderful and the sunflower blocks are inspired–I’ll want to see photos of this finished!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Yeah for Yacktracks!!!! Our dependables for winter hiking.,

    Liked by 1 person

  20. O.k now I’m making that toffee….in between knitting a pair of mohair mittens, sending a few Christmas cards across the pond, and shoveling. 6 inches of snow fell here, fortunately quite light and powdery, so easy shoveling! Here’s to winter and holiday…..

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Brenda says:

    I have not sent Christmas cards in years. I was too busy when working and since retirement, every year I think about them, and then decide that they will feel more like work than fun. Maybe someday … We had about six inches of snow yesterday and I had a lovely cross-country ski before the plow came through. I’m also working on baby quilts for my niece, who is having twins, and doing some spinning. Pure winter pleasure.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. pbmgarden says:

    Judy, your busy activities make my head spin. Love your creative lifestyle. Lots of cooking, hosting and attending various holiday parties, lunches, brunches and dinners–gardening “friendships” but not plants so much. We have a live tree for the first time in a few years and it’s been delightful. All the best to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. this is a beautiful quilting project!

    one inch of snow, then rain and a melt. yesterday afternoon more came…about 3 or 4 or so…the heavy wet pretty snow ( pretty until shoveling 🙂 that stays on the trees and bushes.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. gooseyanne says:

    That toffee looks good! Happy Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Nadezda says:

    Judy, thank for showing your Yaktrax on the shoes, I do need something the same walking around my summer cottage, it’s really very useful thing. I also liked your toffee and looked at Kerry’s recipe – it’s easy to make so I’ll do this too. Now I’m busy learning ‘crazy quilt’ and I enjoy it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

