Thursday Doors

garagedoor

Have any suggestions as to how I describe this door?Β Nice garage door attached to a newish one-car garage with a car sitting on the roof?

I guess I can’t forget the water well off to the side with the turkey. πŸ™‚

All, I can tell you is that we made a quick U-turn after driving by so I could grabΒ a photo. It is part of a farm property in Milton, NH, that we passed as we made out last trek to McKenzies for donuts before they closed.

How didΒ they get it up there? More importantly, why put it up there?

Oh well, I don’t have any answers, but I hope it makes you stop and smile this Thursday. πŸ™‚

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, December 15, 2016.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. joyroses13 says:

    OH this definitely brought me a smile! Thanks for sharing! Does make you curious as to what they were thinking πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. So people will see it? Looks kinda crazy. Bet they are interesting folks.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. prior.. says:

    Maybe call it “dad was drinking again” – just kidding – but it did make me smile – and glad u turned around – the πŸ¦ƒ and πŸš— πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 4 people

  4. Joyce says:

    Well, for once in my life, I am truly speechless!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. It certainly made me smile, Judy, and I still am as I get ready for some breakfast before heading off the tea shop and work. It would be simple to tell people when they were at the right house, that’s for sure. πŸ™‚

    janet

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Vicky says:

    That is certainly a garage worth sharing with it’s accompanying turkey water well…. Great shot!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Sandi says:

    It did make me smile, I didn’t even notice the turkey until you mentioned it! Merry Christmas! Hugs

    Liked by 2 people

  8. He doesn’t quite get the concept of a garage, does he? The car goes IN the garage. Great shot. Cheers!

    Liked by 3 people

  9. joey says:

    Heh. That’s a thinker…
    Thanks for stopping to get it, it is clearly a noteworthy and original addition to #ThursdayDoors! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

  10. Norm 2.0 says:

    Well there’s something you don’t see every day πŸ˜€
    Nice find.

    Liked by 3 people

  11. Dan Antion says:

    If they wanted to get your attention, it worked! Maybe the husband put it there s the wife won’t be able to throw it away. I would hate to explain to my insurance agent if anything happened and my car fell through the garage and landed on my other car. That would be a bad day. It is a nice door, and who wouldn’t want a turkey on their well?

    Liked by 3 people

  12. Definitely an interesting and unique garage. Seems the owner must have a sense of humor.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. That’s pretty cool. It makes me wonder what’s inside. You’ll need to keep driving past until the door is open so we can see.

    Liked by 2 people

  14. I think the why is obvious: Why not? They like it, they had an empty roof, so … That’s why we have an antique tractor in our remnants of a garden. The HOW is more interesting. Huge ramp? Hire a crane? Chitty chitty bang bang?

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Murphy's Law says:

    Love garage and well and turkey. Door is outstanding….or maybe it just stands out!

    But that car. Perhaps the wife wants her car IN the garage so hubby had no choice except to park ON garage.

    Or maybe Mary Poppins parks there when she visits! 😜

    Great post. Can’t stop looking at photo. Actually got me laughing!! Thanks!

    Liked by 2 people

    • It just made me laugh and then I started coming up with all kinds of ideas why they put it up there just like you did. If only I knew who lived there and I could ask them. πŸ™‚ Hope you’re staying warm. It is -15 on our gauge right now and that’s not counting wind chill with a half a foot of snow forecasted for tomorrow. Good time to stay inside and read. πŸ™‚

      Like

  16. Oddment says:

    Definitely U-turn-worthy! Your post made me laugh out loud, and I just kept on chuckling as I read through the comments. You have fortified me for the day — thank you!

    Liked by 2 people

  17. And…..the ready to go sled leaning up against the well, a quick get away for Mr. Turkey?

    Liked by 2 people

  18. no WONDER you did the u turn!! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  19. Definitely one of the more unusual Thursday Door posts, Judy. Love it!

    Liked by 2 people

  20. LOL! I thought the same thing as Prior…Dad was drinkin again. πŸ™‚ Fun post Judy!

    Liked by 2 people

  21. slfinnell says:

    Lets see someone try and steal That car πŸ˜‰ love it!!

    Liked by 2 people

  22. The Bloomin' News says:

    Good capture! The car is certainly the focal point above the door…. but as others pointed out, there’s the turkey, the gas containers, the hot tub, the wishing well, the sled and bet there’s more out of photo range.

    Liked by 2 people

  23. KerryCan says:

    That’s awesome–and suggests someone has a pretty cool sense of humor!

    Liked by 2 people

  24. germac4 says:

    Very nice touch to the garage door….. the car is a great idea, I couldn’t imagine getting it up there!

    Liked by 2 people

  25. Candy says:

    Oh yes, I’m smiling πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  26. Annie says:

    This photo is worth a U-turn to capture! Priceless!

    Liked by 2 people

  27. Pistachios says:

    If you’re able to park a car on top of the garage as well as inside it, does that make it a two-car garage? Either that, or maybe it’s just a really elaborate reminder of what goes in the garage (kind of like, for example, how cookie jars have pictures of cookies on them)

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Linda says:

    I really love this!!! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  29. Karen says:

    On instead of In, you never know what you are going to see in the live free or die state. πŸ˜€ Hope all is well, so much cold and snow and it’s not even winter yet.

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Tina Schell says:

    Definitely worth a smile Judy!! Maybe the car was there first and the garage grew up underneath it!!

    Liked by 1 person

  31. I think it’s a car pedestal with an empty space to put something in it like a car; nothing else explains it but that’s a great find!

    Liked by 1 person

  32. Well, that certainly is a conversation starter. Perhaps the ultimate in car theft security.

    Liked by 1 person

  33. reocochran says:

    I liked this creative approach to a garage and conversation starter, Judy! You made a lovely Thursday’s Doors post. It got us all smiling and scratching out heads. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  34. Well, that is certainly an eye catcher! Looks like something my husband would do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

