Thursday Santa Door

mrmrsclaus-collage

Mr. and Mrs. Claus (Eileen and Jack Frick) photo credit: Fosters.com

“Here comes Santa Claus, here comes Santa Claus
Right down Santa Claus lane”

Mr. and Mrs. Claus and their handsome little house with green door are courtesy of Dover Main Street, a non-profit devoted to downtown revitalization supported through downtown community events and programs.

Santa’s house sits right on Central Avenue in front of the Cocheco Mills. Whenย I visited, the days and hours weren’t listed on the board, but I’m guessing itย will continue to be a busy place as we approach Christmas Eve.

“…The stockings were hung by the chimney with care,
In hopes that St. Nicholas soon would be there…”

A couple more days, and he will be here. How exciting. I get to hand off my gift cards. ๐Ÿ™‚ To all of you who have had fun buying American Girl dolls and Lego sets, I am jealous. I loved shopping for toys and other things that brought a squeal and a smile.

“…I’m dreaming of a White Christmas
Just like the ones I used to know…”

Mealsย with friends, completing my tea towelFabricBox quilt top and getting it off to the longarm quilter, sending and receivingย holiday cards,ย and decadent food haveย kept me busy.

I have some more toffee to make today. A plastic container filled with toffee will go inside this fabric box for dinner hosts tonight.

“…Rocking around the Christmas Tree
Have a happy holiday…”

As we head into the final hours before the celebration of Christmas, may you all have a safe and funย filled weekend. Remember, holiday fun can be quite different. It might mean a house full of guests, an actual visit from Santa for the kids, dinner with friends, or an evening at the movies. Whatever your holiday involves, enjoy it.ย ๐ŸŽ…๐Ÿป

ย I will enjoy my weekend with a little eggnog, but I always remember to stay safe because

“…Grandma got run over by a reindeer
Walking home from our house Christmas eve…”

๐ŸŽ„Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, December 22, 2016.ย ๐ŸŽ„

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Thursday Santa Door

  1. dennyho says:

    LOVE!!! your Santa house photo! The colors are lovely and crisp and of course exciting as Christmas draws near. And yes, be light on the nog as you don’t want a run-in with his reindeer…enjoyed your post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Great choice for this week’s doors, Judy. I love this post. The lyrics you wove into the post kept the Christmas spirit high. Toffee ??? Making toffee? Oh my. Siri, quick, how far is it from here to New Hampshire?

    Have a great day and, if I don’t read you again, a Merry Christmas.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. pastpeter says:

    Merry Christmas, Judy, and thanks for the smiles you bring into our lives!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Eliza Waters says:

    What a cool Santa house – I love it and the fact that Dover puts it there!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Eliza Waters says:

    Also wanted to say I love that fabric box – so clever and Merry Christmas to you and yours!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. But how can Santa store all those gifts in that little house???? Oh, I know, he has them stored in the warehouse Joanne showed. OK, I feel better know. Nicely done post, Judy, and one that fits right in with the Christmas spirit floating around our house. The girls are home and they and Bill decorated the tree last night. I know it’s late, but it’s a tradition for me to do all the other decorating and for the three of them to do the tree. My s-i-l from Ohio will arrive tonight and then only a few days until Christmas. I hope yours is a wonderful one.

    janet

    P.S. I love buying/making gifts, but I do miss buying toys, especially of the sort you mention, Legos, etc.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thanks for the Christmas sunshine

    Liked by 1 person

  8. So, so cute!!! Here’s hoping your Christmas is merry!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Candy says:

    Thanks for the smiles this morning. Love Santa’s little house. “Have yourself a merry little Christmas” *wink, wink*

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Such a fun and cheery post Judy! I love Santa’s little house, and the way you wove poetry, and lyrics into the post.

    I love Toffee, and Eggnog! Have a wonderful Christmas Judy!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Norm 2.0 says:

    Nicely done Judy. Realistically though, I’m not so sure we want to keep encouraging this Santa character….
    Think about it; we let a complete stranger, wearing a disguise, sneak into our homes at night while we sleep, to leave suspicious packages? And we’re all okay with this? ๐Ÿ˜€
    Merry Christmas and all the best for the holiday season!

    Liked by 2 people

  12. A lovely post encompassing the holiday spirit! Merry, merry Christmas to you and yours, Judy.โ™ฅ

    Liked by 1 person

  13. One of my favorite doors this month!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Joyce says:

    This page is just bursting with Christmas and I love it! Santa’s little house is adorable and the only explanation for how he’s able to fit “all that stuff” in there is in one word: MAGIC! Enjoy your family, friends, and the rest of the season, Judy. It sounds like you are well on your way to the merriest of holidays!

    Liked by 2 people

  15. sue says:

    Merry Christmas Judy..thank you for all the fun interesting things in your life you share
    BTW hubby says thanks for intro to Ben Coes. Never read him before.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. joey says:

    Such a happy door, so festive! The wooden icicles are fab ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  17. slfinnell says:

    I’ll be here waiting patiently to see that tea towel quilt done! ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy Holidays!!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Murphy's Law says:

    How can you not love Santa’s adorable house? Your toffee gift box is great, but I’m sure toffee is even better!

    I want to thank you for all your wonderful posts. Some are the best history lessons I’ve ever had. Some are so funny I go back and read them again just for the laugh! Some are incredibly interesting to see your latest project (s). You never fail to make my day. Merry Christmas to you and yours. Wishing you a wonderful Christmas and a healthy, happy, fun-filled New Year.

    And just think….if you drink enough eggnog, you won’t mind going to the dentist because of the toffee!

    I also want to wish all your other followers a terrific holiday and hope you all have a healthy, happy, fun-filled New Year as well. I so enjoy reading your comments, some of which are so funny I crack up! Thanks for the laughs!! โ˜ƒ๐ŸŽ„๐ŸŽ…๐Ÿปโ˜ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

    • I mean I can’t give away a box of it without testing it right? If you lived closer I’d make two batches, we could taste test them both and then there might be enough left for one gift box. ๐Ÿ™‚ Blog comments are a blast aren’t they? I love them. The blogging community of writers and readers is a wonderful place to spend time. And, I meet wonderful people just like you. Merry Christmas to you and yours, and we’ll look forward to more good reading and talking in 2017. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Dawn says:

    I adore that sweet Santa house, Judy! I’m sure that I could find room for it in my garden. Just imagine… ๐Ÿ™‚ I love visiting here and always look forward to your latest post. Wishing you and your family a wonderful Christmas! โ™ก

    Liked by 1 person

  20. quiltify says:

    Merry Christmas…I love the snow flakes on the edges of your web page!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. pbmgarden says:

    Thanks for the Christmas cheer Judy. Enjoy that eggnog.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. germac4 says:

    That little Santa house is what my daughters would call…….”beyond cute”! Have a lovely Christmas Judy with your family and friends, I always enjoy your posts so will be interested to see some from North Carolina …and, in the meanwhile look out for reindeers and I’ll look out for kangaroos!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. What an adorable little house. I just want to chuck it under its chin and say “Awww.” ๐Ÿ™‚ And a very cute couple, those Clauses.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. joyroses13 says:

    Merry Christmas to you! This post made me smile and feel Christmas joy ๐Ÿ˜‰ Love the Santa house! Have a wonderful Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Nadezda Dun says:

    Nice door, Judy and I liked the poetry.
    I wish you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, dear friend blogger!

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Nancy says:

    Stopping by to wish you a Merry Christmas! I have been absent on WordPress and all is good… but needed to wish you Happy Holidays!

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Oddment says:

    Everything about this post is just what I needed with my coffee this morning! I will have to apologize to my neighbors, however, for my LOL when I read Murphy’s Law’s comment about the dentist and the egg nog. I probably woke up the family next door. I’m a big believer in Santa Claus and have always rejected my brother’s story that there was no such person coming down our chimney. So I especially loved the little house with green door — undeniable proof of Santa, yes? I join my voice with all above in thanking you for everything you add to the days and in thanking all the voices in the comments — your blog is a real joy. A very merry Christmas and a good new year to you, Judy, to all who ’round your table go, and to the citizens of your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  28. KerryCan says:

    What a fun post–and perfect use of the song lyrics (although I’m going to have the Grandma got run over by a reindeer song in my head all week now!) I think you’ve made more toffee this year than I have! Will you be showing us the tea towel quilt soon? Please do!

    Liked by 2 people

  29. Excellent post! I’m feeling quite festive, even thought the quilt I have been slaving over will not be done in time. I’ll just wrap it up and then take it back to finish!

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Karen says:

    Love the cute Santa houseโ€ฆthe only thing missing is snow. Merry Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

  31. How cute! It’s Christmas Eve afternoon here and I’ve been making white chocolate balls and dark chocolate peppermint balls for tomorrow. Happy Christmas to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  32. Brenda says:

    Have a wonderful holiday week, Judy, filled with good food and laughter!

    Liked by 1 person

  33. OMG you had me busting out laughing at the end about Grandma and the reindeer! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  34. Joanne Sisco says:

    I hope you had a lovely Christmas. Now that all the harried, frenetic activity of preparing for Christmas is behind us, I always look forward to these days before New Years. They’re calm and relaxing. I hope your’s are too ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  35. Daal says:

    even your box is pretty ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

