Welcome

Welcome to 2017 and the South Carolina edition of NewEnglandGardenAndThread. Sorry I couldn’t post photos of the recent winter storm, but we made sure to head out before it arrived. 🙂

We took three days to drive it, and I thought we were never going to make it through fellow blogger, Dan‘s, beautiful state of Connecticut. The traffic was like a very slow-moving parking lot.

We arrived last Thursday, pulled the drapes on the condo and were treated to this view of the Garden City Beach, Murrells Inlet. Except for family and friends being absent, life doesn’t get much better than this in the winter. At least, I can take my blogging friends with me on this excursion. 🙂

southcarolina

In all fairness, I need to say that the Myrtle Beach area is geared for summer tourists. Picture miles and miles of strip malls, restaurants, and so many Dollar Stores and Walmarts that you start to wonder how they all stay open.

Road view = not so pretty, condo view = beautiful.

On Saturday, we were talking to a couple from upstate New York. They are scheduled to leave at the end of March when their condo fee goes from $1,000 a month to $2,300 a week. There is definitely a major difference in rental costs and populations based upon the season. Winter includes a lot of retirees and couples while the summer is populated with families with children.

I don’t know a lot about South Carolina yet except for one thing that has really touched us. My husband wears an Army Veteran cap a lot of the time, and we have had servers or cashiers in various places thank him for his service because they tend to be up close and personal and notice the cap.

Here in South Carolina, it has been different. The numberArmy cap of people who have gone out of their way to say thank you for your service has overwhelmed us. There was a wonderful cashier who shared service info, a server in a restaurant, a couple of people walking by, a little girl about seven years of age who came over from her table to ours to thank him, and yesterday a young woman in a parking lot came over to our car to thank him.

What does that tell us Granite Staters about South Carolina? I think we could start by saying they are hospitable and definitely value those who defend our Country.

We have a long list of places to go and see thanks to all of your suggestions on a previous post and will report back on our travels.

One of our goals on the way down was to stop at Black Dog Salvage in Roanoke, Virginia. Check back for Thursday Doors direct from the Salvage Dawgs. 🙂

Right now I’m headed to the balcony with my coffee cup in hand to enjoy the 70 degree temperature and the pounding of the surf. The camera is on the tripod, the battery is charged, and I’m a happy woman. Hubby is happy too because he’s off to the golf course today to try out his new golf clubs.

Best wishes as we head into the first week of 2017. Anything special on your calendar?

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Traveling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to Welcome

  1. Well, that view sure is wonderful. No wonder you’re happy. My husband is also an ex-serviceman, with the Australian Army. When we were in Hawaii, we noticed how service people were acknowledged in shops and restaurants. He even got the service personnel discount at Pearl Harbour after we commented that he had been in the Australian Army. The lovely man behind the counter proudly told us he honours all service people, not just Americans. Wasn’t that nice!
    Happy New Year to you!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Is is really nice to have the service of veterans recognized, and it is especially interesting in this time of political upheaval in the world. The average person may not be happy with the politics and unrest, but they seem to acknowledge a debt of gratitude to those who served and protected. 🙂 Happy New Year to you as well.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Helen Johnstone says:

    Looks wonderful, am looking forward to seeing what it’s like when the weather gets more lively, will you get rough seas?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Denzil says:

    What a gorgeously relaxing view! Looking forward to discovering South Carolina. How long are you there for?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Isn’t is so interesting to travel and see the differences in cultures? Enjoy your stay!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. sue says:

    Yankee, sunshine, 70°…doesn’t sound natural to me. Month’s about enough, we’ll hold the snow for you. Happy New Year enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The views don’t get much better than that! Have fun walking on that beautiful beach and enjoy your southern winter! Actually, I love our Georgia beaches in the winter because they aren’t packed with people like in the summer. Judy, I just posted my Alabama post that I messed up last week.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Joyce says:

    The warmth of this post is just what I need today! Trying to get up the courage to go to the grocery store in brisk, icy wind! It’s so heartwarming to read of the thanks our veterans are enjoying wherever they go. What a lucky little girl to have parents guiding her to make such a beautiful gesture. They say “kindness” is our theme for 2017. It looks like you drove directly into it! What a wonderful place you found to bask in during the best time of your life!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Joyce says:

    Me again. I thought I’d pay a brief courtesy visit to your friend, Dan’s, blog just to see what he has to say. Ten delightful posts later, as a cat loving, former high school teaching Catholic, I’m enriched by the interior and exterior makings of St. Patrick’s cathedral, the cute-as-a-button face of “Mimi,” and the antics of the “super ball” players! What an interesting, well written blog. Reminds me of yours, Judy!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. It MAY be that he’s hot stuff and they can’t stop admiring him 🙂 Tell him I said THAT 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Murphy's Law says:

    Looks like you’re off to a great start. 70 degrees! If you could see me now, you’d notice my skin has a definite green hue. Think they call that “green with envy “!! Lol! 😂

    Have a wonderful time. Hope me and my recliner won’t get in your way. You travel by car, I travel by armchair!!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. What a great view! I love being “on the water”. I think next winter I will try to figure out how to do that between Dec 26 & Jan 6! Enjoy the sunshine and the warm temperatures. Anyway to plan to stay “all winter” ??

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Our family (originally from New England) loves South Carolina’s coast and we visit often! So glad you are enjoying it. We were actually in NH just in time for the snowstorm last week, but we loved seeing the snow as we had reached our destination safely by the time it got really heavy. I hope you will spend time in Charleston as there is so much to enjoy in that lovely city. We too have found that South Carolinians of all races are very warm and welcoming. They expect people to take their time with social niceties and pleasant chat, so plan for a little extra time as you do errands! There are also many wonderful gardens and parks to visit.

    Like

    • There is nothing more beautiful than wet snow clinging to the trees once you get safely where you are going. Visiting Charleston was #1 on our list of reasons to visit SC. I am not sure that we have visited anywhere in the Country where people have been friendlier. It has been very pleasant.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Jewels says:

    What a beautiful view, enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Judy, we stay about 45 minutes south of Myrtle Beach at Pawleys Island, a stretch of beach with NO commercial anything. Just houses! But we love SC — especially in the summer when weather allows us to swim, walk the beach, etc. Thanks for including the pics. You’re making me homesick!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Norm 2.0 says:

    Happy New Year! Enjoy the great view and the warmer temps 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. What a great view and thanks to your husband for his service! How long will you be in S. Carolina? I haven’t been there in recent memory, but I’ve heard for many good things that I’d love to visit soon. Looking forward to your perspective. A happy and blessed 2017 to the two of you.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Dawn says:

    I can already hear the sunshine in your voice, Judy! So glad that you decided to extend your stay. I’ve never visited this area, so I’m following along with great interest. Huge thanks to your husband for his service to our country! I’m one of those people that always thanks complete strangers whenever I see their hat, t-shirt, bumper sticker, or current members of the military in uniform. So grateful for all of these brave men and women! Have fun, fun, fun in the sun! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Dawn. Hang in there with me, and I’ll hope to show you what’s going on down here in this very hospitable part of our Country. I was thinking of you yesterday because I went shopping and was looking for some stamps to try while I’m not sewing but couldn’t find anything anywhere near the quality of the ones you suggested. I may have to break down and just order them on line because I have more time to experiment. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Dawn says:

        It would be fun to make some valentines, Judy! It always feels like a bit of indoor gardening to me. 🙂 I always order online, too. Check out their You Tube channel and follow along. Let me know if you need tips, Judy! ♡

        Liked by 1 person

  18. Dan Antion says:

    Well, try to enjoy yourself, Judy 😉

    Sorry for the slog through our state. I try to avoid our highways as much as possible. I blame our neighbors, but it doesn’t help. The winter storm fizzled here. We had rain and it’s been mild since. But cold nights that I’m sure you’re not missing.

    Enjoy the off-season. I think it’s the best time to travel anywhere. I’m looking forward to your photos and stories and doors.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Cheryl Robertson says:

    Looks so wonderful Judy. My grew up in Virginia and talked fondly about Myrtle beach. I’m sitting here in a Sierra Nevada mountain community watching the snow fall. Enjoy your vacation 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Cheryl Robertson says:

    Sorry, meant to write my “mother” grew up in Virginia

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Grandma Kc says:

    I am so happy for you! I can just visualize you with that coffee and tripod soaking up the sunshine. I feel bad for so many who have come to southern California for the Rose Bowl – we’ve had rain! Lots of rain! And no 70 degree temps here. At least not this week! But hey, it ain’t snow!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Enjoy that not New England weather. I’m consumed with envy 🙂 In a good way.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Bill says:

    Wow. What a beautiful view. Hoping you have great weather and a wonderful visit. Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. joyroses13 says:

    That is wonderful about how friendly people have been. Southern charm is a real thing! Have a wonderful time, sounds like a great a beginning!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Oddment says:

    Thank you for starting my year with the sound of the water. I love it! And those blue skies — with coffee, no less! What a great way to do January. I’m so glad you are taking your blog along!

    Liked by 1 person

  26. KerryCan says:

    Wow–that view is simply fabulous. I will admit to a serious does of envy! Enjoy every moment and do report back to those of us who need some vicarious sunshine and warmth!

    Liked by 1 person

  27. pbmgarden says:

    What a way to spend the winter Judy. Enjoy, enjoy. NC is expecting snow this weekend and I’m not happy about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  28. What a view! Thank you for sharing! I’m shivering in low-teen temps with snow a blowin’ outside my window. THIS warmed me up.

    Happy, HAPPY New Year. ENJOY the good life in South Carolina (birth place of my mother 😀 ).

    Liked by 1 person

  29. I’m glad the temps came back up for you. We left when it was 55. 😣
    I just find Southern Folk, in general, are hugely generous and friendly folks. I love being around them. A Southern accent makes me feel soothed in a way.
    I’m glad your camera is charged. 😥 The one thing I forgot on my trip. Doh!

    Liked by 2 people

  30. joey says:

    Ooh, look at you, havin a hiatus with the sea! 🙂 Nice!
    Spent many vacations at Myrtle Beach, and you’re absolutely right about the shops. My mother and I would see historical places and shop while my dad would golf. Lots of good memories. I hope you have a fantastic time!

    Liked by 2 people

  31. Karen says:

    You sound happy indeed. Enjoy the warm weather.

    Liked by 1 person

  32. Brenda says:

    Have a wonderful time exploring. I’m looking forward to seeing where you go and what you do. It’s pouring here in Maine–with snow still on the ground and very, low, gray, sad skies. Makes your beach view look quite appealing. Enjoy the change.

    Liked by 1 person

  33. We spent Christmas in SC a few years ago, in an area called Edisto Island. Beautiful. I hope you get to make a day trip to Charleston. If you do, there’s a restaurant called Hominy that is definitely worth trying.

    Liked by 1 person

  34. germac4 says:

    Wonderful photos of the beaches and sea, and the people sound so welcoming and friendly. So maybe we should add South Carolina to our list if we ever get back to the US…that list is growing longer by the day! We always try to get away in the winter…the cold makes you feel old is my theory, and I’m sticking to it! Glad to hear your husband is getting acknowledgement and thanks, not enough of that going around. Enjoy yourselves golfing and looking at gardens.

    Liked by 1 person

  35. Annie says:

    Ahhhhh…. It’s just a comfort to see those views. What a grand two months you will have and think of all the new friends you will make. I’ve never been to Myrtle Beach but my golfing son has made the pilgrimage to visit other golfing friends. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  36. prior.. says:

    That is awesome how folks have thanked him for his service (I add in my gratitude right now, many thanks)
    And hope your time in SC is very fun…. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  37. reocochran says:

    What a way to start the year off with a relaxing, warm change of climate, Judy! Hope you will continue the year in a state of bliss and contentment. May you be healthy and happy throughout 2017. Hugs, Robin xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

