Thursday Doors

The Salvage Dawgs has been on the DIY TV Channel since 2012. The company, Black Dog Salvage, owned by Mike Whiteside and Robert Kulp, is in Roanoke, Virginia. The day we visited, the license plate tags in the parking lot read a lot like a US state map.

The front door is certainly nothing fancy, but it sure leads to an interesting stop. The space is huge, and you could spend an hour or two checking out both floors.

dawgsfrontdoor

Have you ever watched the Salvage Dawgs?  The TV show focuses on a team, Mike, Robert, Tay, Ted, and Grayson, who go on a new salvage job each episode. They also have a new find and a building project that involves repurposing materials.

This show is one that both my husband and I enjoy. We like the old buildings, how they go about the salvage, the verbal bantering back and forth, and are always amazed at the prices they get for the salvaged materials and their furniture projects.

dawgsmike

Grayson and Mike were at the store the day we stopped. Grayson was at the front desk taking custom furniture orders, and Mike was chatting with everyone. When someone bought a piece of furniture, he’d crawl under and sign it for them. We talked to him for a few minutes, and he said he and Robert each put in $3,000 to salvage their first building. And the rest, as they say, is history since they got picked up by the DIY TV Channel.

Around the building, there were also several individual antique shops set up to add to the selection of pieces to go with the furniture. And, of course, there were doors, lots of doors. There were so many doors I could have put you to sleep with all the photos.

dawgsdoorcollage

If you like DIY, recycling and repurposing, you might like Salvage Dawgs. Passing near Roanoke and have a little time? You might also enjoy checking out this very large assortment of antique pieces, and expect a few chuckles while you are there. Salvage items and chuckles equal a good time for us, but then we’ve been accused of being strange before. 🙂

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, January 5, 2017.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. joyroses13 says:

    Sounds like a good time to me! Guess I am strange as well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve seen the show a time or two and thought it was fun. I don’t know many husbands and wives who enjoy the same TV shows, LOL. About the only thing we can agree on is nature shows.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That could be a whole post topic couldn’t it? LOL I remember in the ‘old’ days and one television in the house. The whole family watched a show together, and I don’t remember anyone upset about the choice. Today, we all have specific interests and an assortment of viewing devices. When we find something we can watch together, it’s a big deal. 🙂

      Like

  3. KerryCan says:

    So . . . did you buy anything?? The store looks like tons of fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Looks like a fun place to visit.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. pbmgarden says:

    Judy, glad you kicked off your trip with a stop like this. Perfect for finding a Thursday door feature. I like the center door in the bottom photo.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Peter S says:

    there’s a salvage company in White River Junction, Vermont. We went there to get a small sink for a tiny bathroom in our old house- found one from 1920 that fit perfectly.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my gosh – funny you should mention that because my husband and I were talking about that store today. We went there once ourselves and loved the ‘stuff’ but couldn’t believe how unorganized and dirty it was. Black Dog Salvage is as clean as Target and everything is organized and labeled including the price. 🙂 If White River Junction or the one in Exeter really set their items out like a store, I can only imagine how much more business they’d get. 🙂 Glad you found your sink. 🙂

      Like

  7. Grandma Kc says:

    What an amazing places! I bet I could get lost in there for hours.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Joyce says:

    Very interesting! I’d never heard of the show, but it reminds me of History’s “Pawn Stars” where unique items from the past pop up, offered to owners for purchase along with fascinating stories of what they are and where they came from. I imagine the Black Dog would be a treasure house for a remodeler with a creative flair – and a flat bed truck to haul purchases home!
    And I just knew there would be a real black dog! – like the one on Martha’s Vineyard!
    How fun to meet the actual celebs! You’ve got a terrific vacation going on there!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’ve never even heard of the show, let alone seen it, but I’d love to spend time poking around there. I had to laugh though, as my morning eyes read “Savage” instead of “Salvage” at first go. 🙂

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I’ve never seen that show, Judy, but I love salvage stores. Thanks for sharing, and Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Joanne Sisco says:

    I’ve never heard of the show, but I love browsing through places like this. It always makes me wish I had a big old farmhouse that I could decorate with interesting finds.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Murphy's Law says:

    This place is a hoot! You might go in with nothing particular in mind, but your mind will be spinning with ideas on the way out.

    The black dog is the perfect touch. And love the sign ” Rustoration”.

    No way you won’t visit this place again before you head home….even if it means your husband has to walk home to make room in the car for your treasures!!! Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Vicky says:

    Oh, what a wonderful place, I could spend hours there… and buy a lot probably. A shame that Roanoke is a long long way from Cyprus!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. joey says:

    Rustoration, heh. Never heard of it. (Don’t have DIY, so that might be why.) I like the premise, though, always like things like that. Looks like it was a great experience for you! Did you buy anything?

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I like those red doors ; sounds like a very nice time you had there. You are probably not SHIVERING right now where you are, either 🙂

    I am going to put a third layer on…temps keep dropping 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Dan Antion says:

    I like the show, but I don’t watch it regularly. I have been known to wander around salvage places and I have a few items that have yet to find their way into a project. Still, it’s fun to think about what I will ultimately make with them. I do have some doors, but right now they’re just in a carefully preserved pile.

    Thanks for stopping and giving us first hand report. I love those curved doors. I’m sure I could make something out of those 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  17. Eliza Waters says:

    I’m wondering if fame has changed them or upped their prices?
    I like salvage stores – I always like looking at the old door knobs.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I’ve never heard of or seen the show, but will keep an eye out now. I like shows like that. The shop looks like a great place to wander around looking for something eclectic.

    Liked by 2 people

  19. Norm 2.0 says:

    I’ve heard of but never seen the show.
    One thing’s for sure, in a place like this you could lose me for hours while I wander around imagining what I could do with this piece or that.
    Sounds like it was a fun time indeed 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Candy says:

    I’ve never seen the show but love salvage shops. We. Have a great one operated by Habitat for Humanity nearby. I love that curved door! Thanks for taking us on your shopping trip.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Dawn says:

    What a fun find, Judy! I’ve never seen the show, but I’d love to see the shop. I spotted their clever sign “Rustoration.” 🙂 Thanks so much for taking us along, Judy! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Not familiar with that show, Judy, but I love finding salvage places like this. I am certain it would be a long day of wandering through, drooling over rusty bits of hardware and the dismantled pieces of a house that no longer stands. In Liberty, Maine ( the town right next door to Montville) has the Liberty Tool Company….three floors of old tools, oddities, and useful ( and some not useful) treasures. Did you visit the tool Company when you and Dennis came to Maine? Worth the adventure!

    Liked by 2 people

  23. Oddment says:

    Once again, I have the best time with your blog and all the comments.Without Joey, I would have missed “Rustoration.” I will agree that’s a LOT of doors, but I cannot agree that poking around salvage and laughing is at all strange. Sounded perfectly good to me! Since I do not have tv, I don’t know about the show, but I see why people would love it. I am taking that black dog image as my beacon for the year.

    Liked by 2 people

  24. prior.. says:

    I think I have seen one episode (and I have seen American Pickers)
    But how cool to visit their home store.
    And the antique slider door reminds me of some that “rehab addict” used to find and use.
    I would love to visit the salvage dawgs to the salvaged doors.
    😉

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Cecilia says:

    The store looks like I would like it. Full of great stuff! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  26. You’ve really outdone yourself, door-wise, this week!

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Nice post, place. Gotta get Norm to create the TD Blogger business card so you can leave it at this place and get us all on DIY cable tv. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  28. jazzytower says:

    Love that show. Always wondered what it would be like walking through that store. Were there small items you could buy? Awesome trip:)

    Liked by 1 person

  29. reocochran says:

    We have a place called Restore, where you can find sinks, wooden doors, church pedestals, light fixtures or old mail boxes. The profit for their sales helps support our local Delaware, Ohio, Habitat for Humanity.
    I have known people who got beautiful cabinet knobs and another who found stained glass church windows. The show and Roanoke place you featured sounds amazing, Judy! 🙂 I love this stuff!
    I the like Storage Wars and Flipping houses shows.

    Liked by 1 person

  30. exceptionallyordinaryolivia says:

    I love this show! I have a Black Dog Salvage sticker on my laptop from when my parents visited (Yes that’s all I got haha). I want to take a trip there so badly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

