Let’s eat out

If there is one thing we do when we are not home, it is to check out local places to eat and drink. It is our duty to assist the local economy, right?

We lived the majority of our adult lives in Kansas City and enjoyed many a good BBQ meal. NH doesn’t do BBQ.

So, we are really enjoying the local food and Β have also visited two craft breweries with one more on the agenda for this week.

Here’s a sample of what we’ve enjoyed out and about over the past two weeks while exploring the area.

collage_fotorfood

The best craft beer I’ve had is Peach Ale at Quigley’s Pint & Plate, and it was a 10+. The crab cake Β sandwich was very good, and the pork plate with the cinnamon butter for the hush puppies was delicious. The pecan pie with vanilla bean ice cream and fresh cinnamon whipped cream was the best pie ever. And, yes, we split it. πŸ™‚ The chips with blue cheese at Liberty Brewery & Grill were quite tasty, the praline fudge from Sweeties on Pawley’s Island was a gastronomical indulgence, and the shakes were good.

The rest of the time, we’re eating a much healthier, lower carb diet and walking the beach.

I didn’t do any beach walking this past weekend because the area experienced record cold temperatures just like the rest of the Country.

At home, we know every trick in the book when it comes to cold and keeping it out. This area is built for warm weather.

When the bad weather rolled through on Saturday morning, I’m watching it out the window and hearing aΒ noise. I thought there were several planes landing at the local airport. After a while, I decided there couldn’t be that many planes landing anywhere and went to investigate. The noise originated from air leaks around the front door. I had to laugh out loud at myself. I don’t think weather stripping and draft dodgers are big sellers down here. πŸ™‚

After today, the weather is forecasted to move back up into the 60’s-70’s. Β We’ll be back out walking and checking out the area.

Hope you are all having a good start to the second week of the new year and survived the storm. Did you get cold temps or snow from winter storm Helena?

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Traveling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Let’s eat out

  1. Well, you just made me hungry! Not a bad place to hunker down inside out of the cold.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Brenda says:

    Yesterday was 7 degrees and windy, this morning it is zero and sunny. Enjoy the relative warmth! And eat on.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dan Antion says:

    It’s still early in the morning, but I am quietly eyeing the half-a-grinder I brought for lunch. “cinnamon butter for the hush puppies” Oh my, I’m sure that’s what the angels serve in Heaven, right next to the biscuits and gravy. Thanks for supporting the locals and for the painstaking research on the various brews. You’re providing a necessary service to your readers. Of course, if I’m ever in the area, I will need to see if I can verify your results. All in the name of science πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hmmm….I’ll have the crab cake sandwich and chips with blue cheese:^) You know, when we had kids home, I was lucky if we went out once a month. Now we eat out at least twice a week!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Judy, I, along with Dan, so appreciate the way you went above and beyond to both support the local economy and share parts of it with us. Although we have to taste vicariously, we also only have virtual calories, so I guess that’s good. Keep up the good work!

    After days of frigid temperatures, we’re a balmy 21 right now, on the way to a high of 30 and then lower 40’s the next two days before dipping back to more normal temperatures. I’m heading for Arizona in a few weeks, so I’ll be enjoying temperatures more like what you’re experiencing.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Joyce says:

    Mmmm, everything looks GREAT! How fun to go exploring and find menus that need testing! I did think of you when I saw the national weather map this weekend. But it looked like the really bad stuff was going “over your head” in NC. There was snow in the Dallas area on Friday – and then 70s are expected today! It’s “warming up” a bit to the 30s today for me in Michigan so I’ll go out for a few groceries! Enjoy your beach walks – you know many of your blog fans envy you!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Eliza Waters says:

    Negative 5 here last night. 30s tomorrow – woo-hoo! ;-D Your temps sound much better and the food looks so darn good! Glad you are enjoying your vacation, Judy!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Quite cold and a few inches of snow. Oh Judy that Butt Sign lol!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Love that food collage – and we finally got our winter here in South Jersey. 15 degrees and a good dump of snow.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Murphy's Law says:

    Brother! We’re having salad for dinner tonight…..but now that I’ve read your blog and seen those meals, I have absolutely no interest in salad!!

    Love that Butt Sign too. Really made me laugh.

    Snow passed us by here in the Hudson Valley, but bitter cold temperatures and wind are more than making up for it.

    Like Dan and sustainabilitea, I am proud of you to research all these eateries and do poison checks on all that food! Keep up the good work. There must be a reward for that somewhere! 😜

    Liked by 1 person

    • I went to the German brewery today, sampled a flight of craft beers (six different ones in 4 oz glasses which I shared with Hubby) along with a bacon grilled cheese sandwich and garlic fries – just for you. Hope you got to dress up with salad with some goodies. πŸ™‚

      Like

  11. Tasty photos!!! I watched whilst eating apple pie with my tea….And air leaks, my that sounds sooo cold! Brrr, stay warm xo Johanna

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Karen says:

    How nice that you are looking out for the local economy in such a delicious way. Enjoy! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Oh my, that paragraph describing was bursting with deliciousness. Having just returned from a week away where we sampled all the goodies we found, I am off to the gym this morning to start the repair work!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. For a while, when we lived in Boston proper, I had a job reviewing restaurants and breweries. So … poor me … we simply HAD to eat out. It was my job πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Joanne Sisco says:

    We rarely eat out so it’s always a novelty when we’re travelling, but by the time we get back home, I’m ready for a home cooked meal again.

    I smiled at your story about the gaps in the front door. I’ve stayed at a few places and marveled at the great outdoors that could be seen in the door gaps. Those of us who come from a cold climate notice these things πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  16. joey says:

    It’s different and weird and uneasy to be cold in the south, I KNOW. It’s just not normal. Aside from my years in southeast Georgia, I was once snowed-in in Mobile, Alabama!
    The food all looks fab, especially that pecan pie. I love pecan pie. I really should learn to make it, but I’m the only one who eats it and I don’t need to eat an entire pie…Not that I don’t wanna πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Oddment says:

    I can barely type because I’m mid-swoon over that pecan pie. But all of it looks incredible! I commend you for contributing to the local economy. As for the awful winter storm, we got only bitter cold; you really got hit much harder. I cannot imagine that kind of leaky door, but then SC cannot imagine that kind of winter weather either! May it warm soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. germac4 says:

    Well, that food selection is a great way to support the economy! I’d love for the praline fudge. Looking at the weather channel, looks like you picked a good year to go south…bet you are not missing shovelling snow…. Nice craft beer instead….enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Jane Lurie says:

    I’m full! Great post and happy new year!

    Like

  20. Oh my, potato chips with blue cheese? Yum! It is so fun to enjoy the eateries in a new place and to indulge, good for you! Thank you for sharing your gastronomical adventures…and the beer and I hope you and Dennis had a grand time, despite the cold air rushing in from beneath the door jams!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. KerryCan says:

    As i read this, I am fasting because I’m having bloodwork later–I am almost literally drooling on my keyboard! This is the kind of hearty food I just love–it’s a good thing you’re finding ways to balance the calorie intake, though! Hope it warms up soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Great steak in KC. Love the fountains!! Years ago visited for business and, once for a Dietetics Annual meeting. Our customer was Hallmark cards.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Grandma Kc says:

    I want that pie! OMG I drooled in the keyboard! As for the weather, we’ve been getting lots of rain! It has been very chilly for us but I didn’t I mention – we’re getting rain!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Annie says:

    One of the things I miss most about life in the south is a good BBQ sandwich. Your pictures make me homesick!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. reocochran says:

    Crab cake sandwiches are the best, Judy! My mouth is watering and just about ready to drool!
    Pecan pie with scoops of ice cream, the barbecue food and the scenery all made me smile and wish for a vacation, starting right now!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

