Thursday Doors

Meet the doors of Murrells Inlet, South Carolina…

collage_fotorbeachhouses

I love the pastel colors you find on beach houses. The bright paint just makes me smile.

The vast majority of the doors down here are just plain glass so they can catch the view. No one wants to be this close to the water and miss a wave. 🙂

The blue house has a solid door more like you’d find in an average neighborhood or up north. In New England, doors are solid wood or steel and in most cases covered by a storm door of some sort all in an effort to keep the cold air out.

As I walk the beach, there are public access areas every couple of blocks where there is parking for 8-10 cars and a port-a-potty. I didn’t take photos of them, you know what they look like, but they are in pastel colors as well.

I think maybe I should write to Dave’s Septic Service, who provides a lot of the port-a-potties in New England, and suggest he go from the boring dark green to a nice pastel yellow, pink or blue. Don’t you think that would perk people up as they drive by a construction site in a snowstorm and see a pastel potty? 🙂 Happy Thursday.

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, January 12, 2017.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. joyroses13 says:

    LOL about the port a potty’s. I think you should make that suggestion 🙂
    Have you visited Rainbow Row in Charleston? A row of pastel houses on the street 🙂
    Those doors look very welcoming, of course any door on the beach looks pretty welcoming to me!

    Like

  2. Those are really pretty buildings, they remind me of the colourful beach huts you see in parts of England. The colourful port-a-potties are a great idea – one for every colour of the rainbow would be nice. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bikerchick57 says:

    Pastel Potty has a nice ring to it. Good for a port-a-potty business. I am drawn in by your doors, Judy, due to the pretty colors and my desire to be on a warm beach right now. Wouldn’t that be awesome?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joanne Sisco says:

    I’m not sure which I love more – the pastel colours of these beach houses, or the thought of being on a beach.
    … but the idea of rainbow coloured potty doors makes me smile. I’m going to be carrying that image all day 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You’ve found some great ones, Judy! So very colorful and beachy!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. tgeriatrix says:

    Love these colored houses!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Murphy's Law says:

    Really like these colorful houses. Perfect for the setting they’re in. Glass doors and lots of windows ….works for me!!

    You need to get out there with your little pail and shovel and dig into those sand buffers. What a sandcastle you could build!!

    But you had me at “port-a-potty every couple of blocks”! Definitely my kind of place. And painted in pastels to boot. 😜 For those of us who have plumbing over 75 years old, that is a dream come true!! Lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Now that I’ve stopped laughing out loud here, I can reply. 🙂 A lot of us, male and female, after a certain age appreciate knowing there an opportunity to access facilities every couple of blocks. You are not alone. 🙂 When the tide is high, the water laps those sand buffers and steps to the various buildings. I can only imagine when there is a storm how high the water level goes. My husband was talking about the changes in the weather this morning, and if the sea level here gets any higher, they could be facing some real challenges with all these high rises so close to the beach.

      Like

  8. Joyce says:

    Just beautiful! The lack of “practical” doors in utilitarian colors signals the fact you’re in an entirely new world, far apart from the places that need that kind of protection.
    Second day this week where schools are closed – today it’s a sheet of ice on everything! My own door is solid and it’s painted dark green. I’m hiding behind it, grateful for the warmth and hidden view of the slick street!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Here’s to you staying safe and warm, friend. 🙂 I hate to tell you it is going to be 70 today, there are zero bugs, and we’re sitting here with the sliding door to the balcony wide open so we can hear the surf. It is certainly a different part of the country. 🙂

      Like

  9. Norm 2.0 says:

    Love the pastels and the balconies…all facing the water no doubt 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Dan Antion says:

    Beautiful fun colors, Judy. Given the view that they have, I don’t blame anyone for having a glass door. As for happier porta-potty colors, that might be easier to see than a long line of dark green. Thanks for remembering us while you have so many diversions available to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Vicky says:

    Such pretty beach buildings…and wonderful that porta-potty is there for everyone to use, pastel would certainly be cool. I live in places where you have to angle a car as there is no cover at all by the side of a desert road….I would welcome one, in any colour, maybe Dave wants to invest in the Middle East!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Oh, these homes are so pretty, Judy. I notice they’re all raised. Is that because of their proximity to the sea or to keep them cooler? I like the idea of colourful toilets. Here, we call that sort Port-a-loos. They would be a welcome sight in pretty colours.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, they are raised to handle severe storm waters. In good weather, on the street side they park cars under there like a carport. But, what is interesting as you walk by is that they have the incoming electrical power boxes under there where they would be affected by the waters. Several houses have air conditioners up on stilts, but the incoming power is still at ground level. It makes no sense, but they live here and I don’t, so I suppose they know something I don’t. 🙂

      Like

  13. I know that if I saw a pastel colored porto potty I sure WOULD take a photo of it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. It reminds me of the Camp Grounds in Oak Bluffs on the Vineyard. Lovely! I think a pastel porta-potty could only be an improvement 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I love the colors and if you have to have porta-potties, why not have them be attractive or cheerful colors 🙂

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Ogee says:

    What a lovely change of scenery – and doors! – for you. Here’s to bright pink porta-potties! I’m with you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Cheery colors do make a difference during the bleak winter, brings warmth to our souls! Hope you’ve enjoyed your seaside get-away!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Oddment says:

    I think somewhere the ballad is waiting to be written about a pastel potty at a construction site in a snowstorm. Might have to write it myself. The home colors are so uplifting! We are among the lucky people looking at a weekend iced in, so these photos are all the better for warming my hands. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. KerryCan says:

    What I like about these colors is that they aren’t really pastels–they seem brighter and perkier to me. I love the red one!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Oh, they remind me of the Painted Ladies in San Francisco with their colors, pointed roofs, and white trims.

    I laughed when I read your comment about calling Dave to suggest pastel porta-potties. Yes, I think it would be much better than green. You know they’re aren’t that many green ones here…they’re mostly blue like royal blue. Pastel colors would be more cheerful for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. reocochran says:

    I enjoyed this post and always like when beach houses or cottages include pastel colors. This seems appropriate to fit in with the colorful beach towels, umbrellas and seashells, Judy. This brightened up my late Friday evening, while expecting a late night or early morning ice storm! Thanks, dear. 🙂

    Like

  22. Grandma Kc says:

    Life in a beach community really is different. I’d love to sit on your balcony and sip a glass of wine! As for the pink porta pottys — I love the idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Karen says:

    Love all the colorful beachfront homes…very different from our area here in Florida. I smiled about the possibilities of pastel port-a-potties in New England. That was one of my husband’s businesses when we lived in New Hampshire and he decided on yellow ones…I called them “pretty potties”. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

