Thursday Doors

With a double glass door and a South Carolina State Palmetto tree sign mounted on the left, we found some really good BBQ this week at Mission BBQ, the American Way, in North Myrtle Beach.

We really loved the old military truck out front with the smoker mounted in the bed – have smoker will travel. I wonder if they’ve ever considered a delivery to New England. 🙂

collage_fotordoor

They opened their first restaurant on September 11, 2011 and currently have locations in eleven states from Indiana to Florida.

I had the brisket sandwich and fries. Brisket was great, there were six different sauces to try, and the fries were hot and seasoned with salt and pepper. My husband liked the meat plate, cheesy potatoes and beans. The servings were such that we brought enough home for dinner.

The interior of the store is patriotic and the decorations are devoted to the armed forces, police, fire, and first responders. Nice.

Please excuse the quality of some of the photos. I could only do so much with a cell phone camera and the lighting that was directed onto the signs.

picmonkey-collage-9

collage_fotorsigns

They went out of their way to recognize my husband for his service including thanking him, shaking his hand, and bringing him a free dessert which came home with us as well.

We’ve eaten good BBQ before, but haven’t done it surrounded by such positive interior design.

It may only be a glass door, but it sure leads to an exceptional meal and patriotic vibes which we always appreciate. 🙂

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, January 18, 2017.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Great post (as always) and lovely photos. How wonderful for your husband (and yourself) to receive recognition! Please stop posting these photos of all that delectable food …now I am hungry again ;0) xo Johanna

    Liked by 1 person

  2. dennyho says:

    We have a Mission BBQ here in C’ville and I too love the patriotic pride it exudes. Not that I need reminding how great it is to be an American but this company’s walls and team certainly do a great job of instilling pride for country and service, including law enforcement, fire and emergency crews. A feel good meal all the way around! Nice post, and now I want to go back there for some good bbq.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Murphy's Law says:

    The door may be plain, but your meals look anything but! Sounds like patriotism is alive and well there. Woohoo!

    How great is it to recognize your husbands sacrifice, and yours as well. We should all be doing that, and much more often.

    Love that truck!

    Like

    • When we lived in KC, there were BBQ competitions throughout the year where they would come from all over the Country to compete for ‘best’ in various categories. I could picture that truck pulling in with a trailer of fresh ingredients behind and getting smiles all around. Who can’t smile at a BBQ smoker in an old Army truck flying the American flag. Love it, and glad you did too. :-0

      Like

  4. Sue Smith says:

    Wow, that is awesome patriotism! The food looks great, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dan Antion says:

    They open to BBQ? Those are great doors, Judy, I’m glad they treated your husband with the such deserved respect. I have to chuckle at the truck though. One of our local BBQ places has a very similar truck parked in the lot of one of their locations. I wonder if someone is in the business of making military BBQ smoker trucks. It’s good to see that you’re exploring the area.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Joyce says:

    Very heartwarming! I’m glad they recognized your husband. Those who have served, no matter how long ago, often have memories they’ll never forget. I’m sure walking into a place like this assures them that even though the rest of us may never completely understand, we are forever grateful for them!
    Great looking food, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love the idea of a truck as a mobile bbq. That brisket looks delicious. Now I’m hungry.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. slfinnell says:

    Thank you to your husband for his service from us in Missouri! & yes KC BBQ is hard to beat, not hard to eat lol

    Liked by 1 person

  9. It’s great to see those who serve in any capacity being recognised and applauded. When we were in Hawaii, my husband, as a retired member of the Australian Defence Force, also received a couple of bonuses. He was quite chuffed about it too.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. lulu says:

    You can’t beat good bar-b-que. Of course, I’m partial to Texas style.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. jesh stg says:

    I have brisket in my freezer waiting for me to make up my mind on how to cook it! It was a special order at the store (that’s how seldom people eat brisket in California I guess).
    After our move from Los Angeles area 2 years ago to the mountains we have 4 neighbors in our off road street who are veterans -all having done a tour abroad – so am learning all about how it was to be in the Armed Forces (I’m Dutch).

    Liked by 1 person

  12. reocochran says:

    I liked the outdoor sign with the palmetto tree, Judy! I also love barbecue so this has me salivating and needing to leave the library very soon. Smiles for this military smoker truck. I had to push like on Dan’s comment since he confirmed this is becoming popular in many states.
    I like brisket and we have a local barbecue place I go to when I need a “fix” but don’t want to buy a lot and have leftovers. . . take it easy and thanks for sharing this “down home” and cozy place with us today!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Eliza Waters says:

    Now I’m really hungry!!! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Candy says:

    My tummy’s rumbling 🙂 Great photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. joey says:

    We have BBQ at the end of our street. We share an alley. That smoker goes 24/7 and at 8am, I want BBQ. Yes, they do serve breakfast. It’s terrible 😉
    Great signs!
    I did signs today too, but mine weren’t good like yours.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. germac4 says:

    Lovely to see your husband getting recognition for his service to the nation, and what a great time you seem to be having in NC! Beats shovelling snow in New England I would think!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Oddment says:

    Serious eating! And nothing seasons so much as place. What a great meal! You have so many good photos that I don’t know how you squeezed in time to eat!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. KerryCan says:

    You’re not in New England anymore! Aren’t the cultural differences interesting??

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s definitely a different part of the Country, and the South seems to be a little more relaxed. The economy this time of year is maintained by seniors. Many of the folks we have talked with arrive November 1 and leave March 31. On April 1, the monthly condo rate gets doubled or tripled and turned into a weekly rate. 🙂

      Like

  19. Norm 2.0 says:

    And despite the fact that I just had lunch, suddenly kinda hungry again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Annie says:

    Doubly delicious post….the food and the recognition for hubby’s service. Unfortunately I’ve been unable to find a good BBQ on Hilton Head Island. Still looking!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. prior.. says:

    really love your doors and the bbq place looks yummy – and that truck is cool too

    Like

  22. Karen says:

    You keep finding the nicest places to visit. The food sounds great and the people especially nice.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Oh, my goodness, what a wonderful place! We just ate, but I feel hungry now (if only in my mind; my stomach is full.)

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

