Birds of a feather

flock together…

collage_fotorbirds

If there is one thing you see plenty of here at the beach in SC, it is birds. They soar over your head and then glide or plop into the water depending upon species. When those brown pelicans land, you just have to smile.

EgretThis week we visited Huntington Beach State Park and saw beautiful Snowy White Egrets.

There is a wonderful causeway as you enter the grounds of this 2,500 area park. On one side are the birds and on the other you may see a gator or two.

Yesterday, we also saw some cute Bungeehuman birds flying through the air at the Coastal Grand Mall.

Does that look like fun or what?

For a mere $9, a little one can get into that harness, jump on the trampoline, and soar through the air.

Most seniors don’t bungee jump or glide through the air on a regular basis, but they do flock together in warmer states in order to avoid ice and snow in their native northern states. Snowbirds. 🙂

I’ve never quite understood the pull, but I think I get it now. People retired in a northern state have had many years of snow removal. Shoveling or moving snow doesn’t get more interesting each year, it just gets more challenging because of the aging process.

A warmer climate allows you to get out and about to walk, play golf, explore, admire local gardens, or just enjoy weather that somewhat feels like spring/fall or summer depending upon your destination. You also find a community of like-minded people.

Aging is an interesting process on a lot of fronts, but one aspect is staying in touch with people. When growing up in school, you had friends and classmates. You then had adult friends and people you worked with. Once you retire, you lose a large contingent of people who you had contact with, and your children and grandchildren are getting older and more independent.

If you are lucky, you have family and friends that still need and want to stay in touch. But, spouses pass away, family and friends move away, and you still need a community to feel alive and well.

Some of the folks we have met in SC reside here from three to five months each year, celebrating major holidays together, keeping their adventurous spirit alive, and staying mentally and physically healthy together.

It seems birds of a feather do flock together for a lot of reasons. 🙂

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Traveling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to Birds of a feather

  1. We see more and more people retiring to Georgia or at least spending a couple of months in the winter here. Many of our neighbors are retired and some are nearing retirement. I know it’s our winters are warmer than a lot of places but even so we have gone to Florida for warmer weather a few winters! Looks like you are enjoying your beach time!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks like a fun place to visit in addition to being beautiful.

    People are social beings I’ve found. I totally understand the draw and pull to join friends and groups to keep traditions and make new ones going.

    Retiring somewhere warm sounds good to me!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh such lovely beach photos..how I miss the sea!! I have not been to that part of the world yet, but I know from many friends here in Cincy its very popular. enjoy!! xo Johanna

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joyce says:

    I love the beautiful, calming pictures – and the way you tied everything together with the relationship between people during stages of life. My best friends during the kids’ school years were other parents. Those friendships have faded away as we became grandparents and now concentrate on the youngest in our own families. My blogging grandmas are my “best friends” now!

    Liked by 2 people

    • You are so right about the school years – fun times and good memories. Then you have the wonderful years when the grandkids are little which are so great it is hard to find adjectives big enough to describe it. But then time marches on, and we stay in touch with our blogging grandmas which is always a rewarding and fun experience. 🙂

      Like

  5. Elisa Ruland says:

    Interesting to read about “snowbirds” from a southern perspective, Judy. We often consider moving back North to be near all of our family and friends again, but honestly, the warmer climate and slower pace is making the decision difficult. Great post, have a wonderful day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Family and friends definitely pull the scale in one direction especially when there are young grandchildren involved. Then those grandchildren have the nerve to grow up and become young adults. 🙂 Wish you luck with the decision because it is a difficult one. 🙂

      Like

  6. Relax... says:

    N.C. daughter may be moving to S.C. after all, if she gets that high school guidance counselor position. Here comes her snowbird-mom, if so! I love your photos. (Enjoy!) N.E. winters must be good for many things and folks; I’ve never been one of them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Here’s hoping she gets the position and enjoys it and the area. Then, I just know she’ll love to have Mom come visit. 🙂 I’ve lived my entire life in states that had snow and ice. You just hit an age, where it is not fun anymore but a real chore. And, you feel trapped inside for months on end. Taking some time away gives you a break from being confined inside. For someone who lives outside like I do when the weather allows, this truly is a breath of fresh air. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Grandma Kc says:

    Bet you are wishing you could stay on that beach forever! Your views are just spectacular but I do think the views in Huntington Beach, CA are even better. Maybe you should come and judge for yourself! You would love some of the little breweries downtown!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Annie says:

    Enjoyed this! I’ve recently reflected on those sane thoughts about periods of life. Maybe it’s because I spent a little time as a snowbird this winter. I do love to keep young folks in my life as much as they’ll let me. Ha.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Murphy's Law says:

    Great shots of the birds. Looks so peaceful and WARM. Wish we could afford to spend winter, or part of it, in a warm climate. You sure picked the perfect place to avoid winter. I hope you’re finding shells that you can incorporate in your fairy house. This has been a spectacular vacation…..for all of us! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • A little windy and cooler today, but the sun is shining bright. Hubby played golf, and I walked about 2.5 miles this morning. I was picking up shells as I went. Each beach that we’ve visited over the years have been a little bit different, and here in SC a lot of the shells are a yellowish gold. Very pretty. 🙂

      Like

  10. My son, who lives in Charleston, says the weather has been warmer than usual this month. Glad to hear you are having a good time!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Dan Antion says:

    Does this mean that this will be a regular journey for you guys? I get enough warm weather here in the summer. I think I’m wintering here for many years to come. Then again, it’s not like I have a choice, I am still working. I do love the seabirds though. My favorite part of a southern meeting is getting a chance to get some photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Joanne Sisco says:

    I would definitely be one of those seniors wanting to strap in for a ride on that big bungee swing 🙂

    After trying it, I’m starting to see the allure of warm weather in the winter. It’s a chance to be so much more active without the layers of clothes and the threat of icy roads and sidewalks.

    Now if only I could entice Husband with the idea 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. The older I get, the less I enjoy winter and we don’t even get snow here! I could happily live all year round at 25 degrees C!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. germac4 says:

    I agree with you Judy, moving to warmer parts of the country in winter keeps you fit and healthy. I don’t mind the cold too much, but since I retired I noticed a lot more aches and pains during winter! Here in Australia there is an amazing social life amongst ”the grey nomads” who all go north for winter. Walking along a beach chatting to a few other grey nomads,has plenty of appeal!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. They do flock together, but sometimes, a lot of different birds also flock together, especially ducks who seem happy to flock with any other bird. We should be more like ducks. Great post 🙂

    I’d go south for winter if I could. But we can’t, so we gut it out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There are some handsome ducks here that tend to float around on the waves near the boardwalk. I have taken so many photos trying to get a good one, but all I get is a black dot on the water. 🙂 You’d love sitting on the balcony with your cameras. 🙂 Yes, it certainly would be nice if we could all get along.

      Like

  16. Eliza Waters says:

    So glad you are finding community there, Judy. It adds so much good to living. And believe me, you are missing nuttin’ up here!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. joey says:

    As the offspring of snowbirds, now full-timers, I will bite back my bitterness and say I’m sure it adds to their longevity 🙂 Beach scenes are dreamy and I’m glad you’ve had a good time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  18. treadway says:

    I won’t leave the kids and granddaughter, but it sure would be tempting if we could. Though I still feel like a school kid when it snows, I do dread having to get out in it. I worry about Roger falling, and I worry about being in a wreck. When we were young, or even just a few years ago, we always took off to travel the back roads when it snowed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A granddaughter certainly keeps the heart and body at home where her company can be enjoyed. 🙂 If we don’t have to, we choose not to go out when it is snowing. NH knows how to clear the roads, and they do it well. So, we just wait until it is over. The cleanup and the walking on slippery surfaces is a whole other topic. I guess that is why I leave Yaktrax on one pair of boots and don’t go walking around without them. 🙂 Stay safe, and it is wonderful that Roger continues to feel better.

      Like

  19. Oddment says:

    Thank you for the vast expanse of blue in that top photo! It lifted me out of the roaring January wind here. I loved your reflections on aging and birds; it is so very true that our flocks disappear as we age, and so nice to think that maybe we can flap on over to another flock somewhere.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. KerryCan says:

    Is your plan to go south every winter now? I can see the appeal–my mom has spent winters in Florida for years, and the weather is certainly nice. I’m going there soon, just for a week, and will think of you while I check out the birds at the beach!

    Liked by 1 person

    • We haven’t made any decisions yet about next year. It is certainly nice to throw on a light jacket and head out for a walk. Hope you have a wonderful visit with your Mom, see lots of beautiful birds, and head home well refreshed and counting the days until spring. 🙂

      Like

  21. I love the bird pictures. As I look out at the snow on my yard I am transported to the beach!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. They have had that bungee jump/ trampoline at our local Pumpkin Festival …OMG I remember blowing through about 50 bucks on the grands for that thing and a few snacks a year or two ago. AND wishing that there had been something like that when I was a kid!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Dawn says:

    The beautiful sight of birds on the beach just takes my breath away! So grateful for all of your photos, Judy. We often talk about places we could move after my husband retires. I’m not sure that I would like to be a snowbird, but it would be lovely to find a place that is mild all year long! I’ve been following your posts with great curiosity and interest, Judy! Enjoy every moment! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I never understood the idea of snowbird although I know so many that I couldn’t count them. I think it is a very basic combined desire to not be confined indoors and a need for a like minded community. Neighborhoods aren’t what they use to be, and this is kind of like a small town where people get together. 🙂 Mild all year would be perfect because from what we hear, this place is hot and humid in the summer like Florida and the only people visiting are those with kids out of school. 🙂

      Like

  24. Brenda says:

    I’m happy to hear you made it over to Huntington Beach State Park. I spent hours on that causeway watching birds and alligators. We are considering spending a month or two each winter in St. Simons, Georgia, which we love and is not too far from our children and grandchildren. But we still enjoy the Maine winter.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Nadezda says:

    Very wise words, Judy. ‘Aging is an interesting process ‘, I agree. Old friends from school or work disappear and retired people feel lonely. I’m glad you’re in warm state now, stroll along beach are healthy and ‘flocks of birds’ are fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. It would appear that a fun place to visit notwithstanding being beautiful…People are social creatures I’ve found. I thoroughly comprehend the attract and draw to join companions and gatherings to keep conventions and make new ones going…

    Like

  27. We of course get many snowbirds here in Florida. Most of them settle here eventually and have made so many friends over the years, that the transition seems natural.

    Liked by 1 person

  28. We loved watching the shore birds while we were in California. They can be very entertaining.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

