Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitude

Alligator under tree

As we’re admiring the gardens and sculptures at Brookgreen Gardens this week, what do we see across the water feature but this little guy sunning himself. He appeared to want a little solitude, and we were more than happy to give it to him.

I learned something very important – gardens in SC have different ‘visitors’ than those in NH. 🙂

Check out the Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitude for other interpretations.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitude

  1. Cute when that size, not so much when larger! Nice take on the challenge, Judy. I hope you’re both having a marvelous time. It certainly appears that you are.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My goodness, if I had known you were going to Brookgreen I would have told you to have lunch at Bistro 217 on Ocean Highway, just a few miles south. Best crab nachos in the world! Funny thing, I’m going to a meeting in NH in May.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think lake bass and big snapping turtles are about as evil as our aquatic local fauna gets. Now, the ocean, that’s a whole other story. I kind of like that little alligator. He looks all smiley.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. joyroses13 says:

    Ha Ha! A great shot and he is actually cute, though I would give him his solitude as well. He may be small but still has very powerful jaws!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. joey says:

    I do not miss the gators — but that’s a great shot! 🙂 He looks almost smug with vanity!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. germac4 says:

    As long as he stay across the river!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitude – GOOD LUCK

  8. Lorrie says:

    At first I thought Solitude referred to the lone tree. Then as I scrolled down I saw the alligator. He can stay lonely as far as I’m concerned!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Good idea to observe from a distance. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Solitude: Sunny Side | What's (in) the picture?

  11. Oddment says:

    What a great take on solitude, both given and taken! But now I have “Never Smile at a Crocodile” going around and around in my head.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Love this photo! And I know you are not fond of gators!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Fun to see the wildlife of other regions and great shot, Judy!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Murphy's Law says:

    Don’t know that I would describe this little guy as “cute “, but certainly not as scary looking as he will be when full grown! I would’ve left him to his solitude too! Good challenge choice. Great shot.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Joyce says:

    I, too, thought your title “solitude” referred to that majestic old tree – think of how much it has seen over the years and never said a word about it! Even that mini-croc doesn’t cause it to shake a branch! I am an animal lover, but I keep my distance with snakes and other reptiles in this category! Turtles can stay, though!
    You’ve got everything going there now – the solitude even extends to your hours on the balcony – lucky lady!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Dawn says:

    Oh, my! Now I will look at the hungry groundhogs in my garden in a whole new way. This is certainly a most unwelcome visitor in the garden! Keep soaking up the sunshine, having fun, and sharing with us, Judy! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Jennifer says:

    Whoa! I’d give him privacy too! My luck a python would show up to keep him company. Yuck.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. It’s nice to see you gave it a wide berth! 🙂 I’d really like to see one in the wild one day though.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Alligators in the garden? No thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. KerryCan says:

    Yikes! That got my attention!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Knew you would like Brookgreen Gardens. Even though we do not have seasons like you do in NH, things at the garden are constantly changing and there is so much to see, a day or three or four will never be enough time to see it all.
    Love, hugs and blessings, ME and the Boss
    Why we moved to Florida, and no problem, seeing gators sunning in the backyard is like you folks seeing deer munching on your flowers.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. I always felt we were very blessed in New England to have no poisonous snakes or spiders, ‘water monsters’, or the like. Great photo; it must have been an awesome sight when you came across hisself lying there.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. jazzytower says:

    Holy smokes! I’ve never seen one in person. I’d give him his space too:)

    Liked by 1 person

  24. That’s a nice take on the theme.

    Like

Leave a Reply

