Brookgreen Gardens

Since the early 1930’s, Brookgreen Gardens has been a destination stop for all those who appreciate southern history, handsome sculptures, and beautiful gardens. It was #1 on my to-visit-list here in SC.

Last week, I had the opportunity to visit with two friends who have been visiting the gardens for over ten years.

We took a docent tour which was a wonderful way to hear about the early beginnings of the gardens, and then we walked around ourselves because these ladies definitely know their way around.

I could post enough photos to either cause your blood pressure to rise or put you to sleep, but I’m going to show you the top three amazing things I saw – Anna Hyatt Huntington and other well-known artist’s sculptures in water features, beautiful blooming Camelias, and their handsome Oaks with dripping moss.

brookgreen-gardens

Did I see it all in one day? No way. The gardens cover 9,100 acres, and there are over 1,400 sculptures by 350 artists. 🙂

We spent a few hours there and then had a delicious lunch in the restaurant. Today we are hoping to check out the low country area and the zoo.

Besides the beauty of these vast gardens, what is the one thing that impressed me the most? By far, this is what I carried away with me.

2017-02-01-10-44-34

I would add my name to all those other bloggers who highly recommend having Brookgreen Gardens on your to-visit-list when you get near SC. You will be amazed by the love story, history and forethought they had to establish these beautiful gardens and provide an opportunity for everyone to experience this magnificent place.

Fan of our National Park System? You’ll love Brookgreen Gardens. 🙂

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Traveling and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Brookgreen Gardens

  1. pastpeter says:

    Love the inscription

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a place that must be,Judy, and I can imagine how a gardener such as you loved it. I’ll put in on my non-existent list of places to see if I ever get back to SC. In the meantime, I’ll enjoy that inscription once more and wallow in the truth of it.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joyce says:

    Beautiful, peaceful surroundings – and the quote! Wow. Amidst this crazy day to day political frenzy, it makes you stop dead in your tracks and admit that inside, each one of us is the same – a seeker of peace and beauty that most believe is truly found only in a relationship with God. And the closest way to build heaven on earth is to make a place like this – with plants that freely multiply on their own, accessible to anyone who takes the time to learn the skill of nurturing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love the quote. The Camelia alone would be enough to make me go there! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. joey says:

    Mmm, very nice, words and pictures 🙂 SO lovely, I wonder why we never went… Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank You…I will put the garden on our “visit” list.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Joanne Sisco says:

    1400 sculptures? Sounds like my kind of place! I really liked the inscription at the gate. It says what we already know … that walking through a place where nature reigns is balm for the soul.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Dan Antion says:

    Thanks for sharing the beautiful photos and the important words on the entrance plaque.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Murphy's Law says:

    9100 acres? My feet and legs hurt just reading that! You must’ve thought you died and went to Heaven while in that amazing garden. What forward thinking individuals to have thought of creating this masterpiece. How wonderful it would be if these kind of people ran our country!

    Really like the inscription at the gate.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Eliza Waters says:

    Sounds wonderful – 9,100 acres – wow! Great poem, too. Peace in the garden abides. 🙂
    I visited a local conservatory the other day and pretended while I was in the Camellia room that I was visiting down South. 😉 They were in large wooden box planters, underplanted with variegated gray-green ivy – lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Thank you for sharing, it looks so summery already!! Love the quote! Happy days to you, xo Johanna

    Liked by 1 person

  12. joyroses13 says:

    I want to go! Beautiful pics and great inscription!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. When you go back be sure to keep avoiding that little “Solitude” guy!

    Love the photos and that inscription! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. lulu says:

    I try not to miss any opportunity to visit a beautiful garden.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Annie says:

    Brookgreen Gardens is one of my favorite places when visiting friends in SC. In the Children’s Sculpture Garden, kissing the “Eat More Beef” bronze pig statue on the nose for luck is a very good thing… but perhaps a little unhygienic.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. With a garden that size you could visit over and over and see something different every time. Aren’t camellias gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I love those tall and wide oaks with dripping moss. What a wonderful visit you had seeing all that beauty.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Although we vacation every summer at Pawleys Island, we’ve only visited Brookgreen Gardens a couple of times. It’s so lovely, and we need to go back. We get stuck on the beach and hardly move for a week!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Oddment says:

    It’s another world, isn’t it? — and in so many ways. Those words of welcome and invitation go a long way today. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. germac4 says:

    Lovely to put another garden on the list to visit, if we get there! (Hoping!). ”The Inscription for a garden gate” is something my mother would have loved on her garden gate!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Nadezda says:

    I’d be glad to go there with you Judy! I love visiting parks and enjoying the beauty. Thanks for invitation.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Dawn says:

    This sounds like a perfect place to spend the day… or a week! 🙂 I just love the inscription near the garden gate. I’m so happy that you were able to visit, Judy! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Pingback: Brokgreen Gardens | SEO

Leave a Reply

