Silent Sunday

turtleframe

Bumps on a log at Brookgreen Gardens

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Traveling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Silent Sunday

  1. Pingback: GOOD LUCK

  2. Murphy's Law says:

    I don’t know which I love more, the turtles on the log or the reflection of the trees! Love this photo… It looks silent!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Two friends and I went back to the Gardens yesterday for a talk on blacksmithing and the beautiful ironwork of the south. After, we decided to walk around this lovely pond to get a better look at these turtles. We couldn’t get real close because there is no path to that area and there are signs for alligators and snakes. When I see those signs, I stay on the path and try the zoom on my camera. I look at them lined up there and wonder if they stay there all night or do they start lining up again the next morning. 🙂

      Like

  3. They look like Dominos! So cute!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Now you made me smile, Judy. 😊

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Joyce says:

    Awww! The “bumps” are undoubtedly sunning themselves, and I suspect they “go home” for the night – would be fascinating to watch that process, but it would have to be while wearing a snake and alligator proof suit! This is just so cool!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love this picture. Turtles are surprisingly photogenic, even from a distance.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sue Smith says:

    I laughed when I saw this photo! Thanks for brightening my morning, Judy!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Oh, I love when our river is full of those baby snapping turtles. I remember one year when there were tens of thousands of them on rocks, on wood, literally EVERYWHERE. I’m assuming that many of them don’t make it, otherwise the water would be completely full of snapping turtles. GREAT shot.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Dan Antion says:

    So cute ! Great photo, Judy.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Annie says:

    Oh so cute… Can’t see the markings but a good guess would be yellow-bellied sliders that are numerous there. If the pond wasn’t inhabited by gaters, I’d love to launch a kayak and enjoy those calm waters and warm sun. Super photo!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. swo8 says:

    That’s neat. I wouldn’t have known they were turtles.
    Leslie

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Oh, great reflections, and beautiful park!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Made me laugh. It looks to me with my crazy outlook on life that all the fat turtles are on one end of the log and are making it sink. 🙂

    Like

  14. From a distance, with the beautiful reflection, that reminds me of a giant crocodile sunning himself in the water. They like to rest with their jaws open.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Dawn says:

    Ahhhhh! So peaceful and beautiful, Judy! Thank you so much for taking us to this beautiful spot. ♡

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Oddment says:

    Since the turtle has long been my symbol (even though it’s faster than I am), this photo is personal! I love it. What a perfect portrait of calm. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. KerryCan says:

    That’s quite a bale of turtles! (I had to look up the correct collective noun–so I learned something from your post!)

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Laurie Graves says:

    Oh, my! Bumps on a log indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Karen says:

    Look at all those turtles sunning themselves. A real smile maker of a photograph. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  20. treadway says:

    I love your title! And one of these days I may borrow it…if I can remember that long and you don’t mind.. I will link back to you if I do…don’t want to take credit for it cause it is wonderful

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Grandma Kc says:

    Love it! So many turtles soaking up the sun!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

