Silent Sunday

camelia-collage

A Camelia Tree of many colors at Mepkin Abbey, Moncks Corner, South Carolina.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Traveling and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Silent Sunday

  1. Joyce says:

    All those colors on ONE tree? Was this bio-engineered or did they always grow like that? (Asks the non-gardening admirer!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gardener or non-gardener, that’s the question. 🙂 I think it has definitely been there quite a while, and over the years it has changed because of cross pollination with other trees and other colors. But, I was amazed to see those various colors on one tree. Today, I’d say someone grated it, but it appears to be too mature for that. 🙂

      Like

  2. Dan Antion says:

    This has long been my mother’s favorite. Thanks for sharing the beautiful photo.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So Southern-ly beautiful, Judy.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Murphy's Law says:

    Camellias are such a beautiful flower, but this tree leaves me speechless. So glad I got to see this. Thanks. They sure know how to grow ’em in the south!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: GOOD LUCK

  6. We don’t have any colors, yet, but the weather is still really nice. Not quite as warm as before, but still, for February, it’s something else. Does this mean we won’t get any rain between now and … ???

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oddment says:

    I haven’t seen a real live Camellia since I left California, and I’ve NEVER seen Camellias like this! What a display! That white one with the red splotches is absolutely splendid.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. These are awesome! I wish I was warm enough for these 😏
    I think a few different colors were just planted together and it grew to look like one tree. I see many braided hibiscus like this, where they braid different colors together.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. That is so interesting to see the various colors on one tree. Last year one of my Rose of Sharon bushes did that! While almost of the blooms were purple-violet, as they should be, there was a white one or two in there ( and I don’t have a white one…just the purple and pink! )

    Liked by 1 person

  10. treadway says:

    so, so beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Grandma Kc says:

    How cool is that! I never knew they could have multiple colors on the same tree!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I have one Camellia bush that blooms in the Winter which I adore.

    That pink variegated one is lovely.

    The tree must be a Hybrid of many different color trees grafted into to one? It’s neat and different.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

