Thursday Doors

It may be cool, damp, and rainy in New England, but memories of Bruges, Belgium, are still warm and inviting when I go digging through my files for doors.  My pulse still quickens at these beautiful buildings, interesting windows, nice assortment of doors, and even a couple of window boxes.

Would I enjoy another opportunity to walk along these beautiful streets that line the canals? You bet I would. Did you know that Bruges is referred to as the “Venice of the North” or that it is one of Europe’s most well-preserved medieval towns?

Traveling is on my mind right now because we spent the majority of yesterday traveling to and from Logan Airport in Boston for an appointment with Homeland Security. Regular readers may remember that we applied for Global Entry status early last summer so we could avoid long international security lines for our Ireland trip in September.

However, we had no idea that there was only one office in New England or that it would involve a nine-month wait for our interview, photos and fingerprints.

So, yesterday involved a three hour round trip with C&J Bus for a fifteen minute appointment. Why the bus? Well, we are fortunate to live in a small New England town that has both a Boston bound bus terminal and a train station. I can tell you from experience, when you are going to Logan Airport, it is a lot easier and cheaper in the long run (gas, tolls, and parking) to hop on the bus. Gus, and let them drop you off and pick you up right at the terminal door.

Do they do a good business? That question can be answered by simply telling you that they offer valet parking because the lots are usually full.

Where are we going next? That’s the topic of conversation so all suggestions greatly appreciated. 🙂

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, April 6, 2017.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. germac4 says:

    I remember your photos of Bruges, It looks so interesting …. You could always go back there .. Or to Venice which we loved … But crazy with tourists..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Joanne Sisco says:

    I love the stepped roof of the house fronts!

    I thought the delay in getting travel security clearance only happened here. Nine months! Wow. Aren’t you glad you applied so long ago?!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Laurie Graves says:

    Those streets are beautiful! And a trip to Ireland sounds wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love this sweet lineup of houses. Want to go there . . . someday!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love the roofs of these houses, Judy. I want to get Global Entry, too, but had no idea it might take so long, although I think in the Chicago area, it’s easier and faster. I guess I’d best get my traveling rear in gear if I want to get any use out of it this year. As for places to go, Ireland is on my list, but than so are many other places. You’ll have fun no matter where you go.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Joyce says:

    After gazing in appreciation at your photo for several minutes, I realized why it is so satisfying a composition. Among the “principles and elements of design” are size and shape. Chose a shape and vary it in size. So, here we have a pleasing symphony of rectangles – small ones, mediums, vertical and horizontal – balance and contrast, too with the curved windows. But how much more exciting to actually BE there, like you were, than sitting here at home playing “school teacher!”
    I’m glad you got your clearance taken care of – smooth sailing lies ahead for both of you now, no matter where you venture!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. They are such pretty buildings, Judy.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. pastpeter says:

    Great pics of lovely buildings, Judy. But my attention was grabbed by your tale of taking the bus to Logan. You’re right it is the best way ( we used to take the bus from Framingham when we lived in MA). But when we were in NH, our son was headed to Logan for the first leg of a trip to Namibia to work at a wildlife refuge; he had wanted me to drive him to Logan but I said “take the bus from Concord.” And of course it arrived over 30 min late so he missed Jet Blue to JFK! An hour later he was texting me as he ran to the South African Airways terminal at JFK, where he made the daily flight to Johannesburg by minutes! So if you’re flying out of Logan, take an early bus!

    Liked by 2 people

    • That is a challenge – gauging the arrival time of the bus versus when you need to arrive. So, if you want to be stress free you have to leave really early, and sit at Logan. One time, we got in a traffic jam, and I didn’t think we’d make it, but we did but not with a lot of time – very stressful. Glad your son made his flight. Hope all is well for you and yours in your new home.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Norm 2.0 says:

    A lovely place I hope to visit someday. Ireland will be amazing I’m sure. Make sure you come back with lots of doors 😉
    All that hassle with immigration…ugh! A few years back I looked into for a Nexus card (for frequent Canada/US travelers) but when I saw all the hoops I’d have to jump through, I decided I didn’t travel often enough for it to be worthwhile.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Norm 2.0 says:

      I just realized my mistake; you DID make the trip to Ireland last fall and you’re still waiting for the Global Entry screening process to be completed? That sounds even worse than the Nexus program 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, can you imagine waiting that long. At this point, we just laugh because what else can you do. But, word to the wise, if you are wanting to complete the Global Entry process so you can use the identification for traveling, start about a year ahead of time. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Eliza Waters says:

    I would love to see Bruges one day. It has always entranced me. Are you familiar with Cindy’s blog: cindyknoke.wordpress.com ? She travels extensively, taking gorgeous photos, so you may get some ideas from her. She’s in the Balkans right now, recently posting from Dubrovnik and Montenegro. I’d go there if I could!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. joey says:

    Lovely 🙂 The lines are great on those rooftops. Wonderful variety of color and texture.
    I think you’ve been to many more foreign places than I, so I wouldn’t know what to suggest, but I do get excited at the idea that you’ll come back with photos and stories! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Dan Antion says:

    I totally love the white double doors on the right! I agree with taking a train/bus to the airport vs. driving. I don’t have the option, but I would take advantage in a heartbeat. Of course, Paul Simon is now stuck in my head. What was that song, “50 ways to lose your luggage?”

    Liked by 2 people

    • It’s a really small world because we had a cup of coffee and sat near DD which also happened to be right next to the area where they take lost luggage. We watched them hauling in bags of all size and shape, lining them up, and all I could think about was all those folks who were somewhere without their belongings. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  13. ianbcross says:

    Have you seen the film, In Bruges, with Colin Farrell? Not very pleasant, but you do get to see around the town…

    Liked by 1 person

  14. dennyho says:

    The asymmertry is wonderful here. Great pic.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. quilt32 says:

    The little houses look like the little Dutch KLM house bottles I collect. Love them.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. We have Global Entry too. Paperwork and fee payment, then a multi-month wait, then a hour’s drive to the Homeland Security office, then more paperwork we needed to provide since we had traveled to Cuba, and, finally, the little cards were ours! We hope to get a lot of use out of them to make the hassle worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. bikerchick57 says:

    Judy, I have never been to Belgium or Europe, but I’d love to go one day. The buildings and streets are so quaint and full of history and personality. I want to walk cobblestone streets and wander into the buildings in your photo.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Even the modern buildings they put up downtown retain their front facades. So, as you walk around you may see them open the street door, and you suddenly have a glimpse of a modern building in the back. It is mind blowing to see it, but they work hard to retain the European flair. I guess that’s why tourists keep visiting because there certainly is nothing like this architecture here in the US. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  18. I would give a LOT for a train OR a bus! If can’t drive, you’d better have good feet.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I always love to see your pictures of your European trip. Can’t wait to see photos from your next trip!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Oh yes, Bruges is so beautiful. We spent a week there and it was wonderful. We walked and walked and walked, which was a good thing because we also ate and ate and ate! Have you ever been to Australia, Judy? You could drop by – It doesn’t snow where we live!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes – eat, walk, drink, walk. 🙂 No, I haven’t been to Australia, and I just know I’d love it. Now, if it didn’t taken 25 hours from Boston, I’d be all set. I cannot even imagine being on a plane that long. I guess one would break it up in sections and sightsee along the way. 🙂

      Like

      • Well, for us lengthy flights are a fact of life if we want to travel overseas. Including travel time to airports, wait time at airports and connecting flights, a flight to Europe can be up to 30 hours or more. But if we want to travel it has to be done. We always break it up into smaller chunks and have a stopover along the way for two nights. You could do that. Stop on the west coast of USA somewhere for a couple of days. The flight from LA to Australia is only 14 hours – that’s do-able!

        Liked by 1 person

  21. Oh it’s lovely! I adore those stepped roofs. I have a couple of miniatures like that white house. Now I’m wanting one with a stepped roof.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. I visited Bruges years and years ago, as a back-packing student. I was blown away by the architecture (great photo!) the canals and … the waffles! When you say Bruges, I think waffles! Thanks for reminding me. I’d love to go back again.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Oddment says:

    These are wonderful, and I can’t help wanting to sneak up and look in their windows, rude as that might be. It’s so good to see something completely different from the usual — but then that’s the great thing about travel, isn’t it? Congratulations on persevering for Global Entry; I too look forward to seeing wherever that takes you.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. KerryCan says:

    The last time we went to Boston, we drove to Fitchburg and “got on the train, Jane.” We loved the commuter rail! And I’d love to go to Bruges. I’ve been to Amsterdam, with some similarites in style, but Bruges seems extra special in its own ways.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Tina Schell says:

    I hear you loud and clear on the ridiculous process for Global Entry. We had flights into 4 major cities where they had a presence and couldn’t get an appointment in any of them. Finally had to drive to Atlanta – 5 hours each way – to get to our 5-minute appointment. Then we used our cards to round-trip via DC to China. Zipped through security, entry card worked perfectly. First ones through security. But then our luggage was the VERY LAST off of the plane so everyone left before we did anyway. Go figure!!! Loved your photos this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Mabel Kwong says:

    A lovely collection of doors, and in this shot, they all look very colourful. I like that the middle building has flowers on the windsill…like its trying very hard to stand out from the rest 😀

    It sounds like a lot of people want to be a part of the Global Entry program in the States. A nine month wait for an interview is a long time. So many interviewers before you but then again, as you said, it is one office. In Australia we do have a similar program – if you are an Australian holding an Australian passport with a special chip, you can use the electronic kiosks (using faical recognition to let you through) to bypass the long queues.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad you liked the doors. It sounds like your Australian system works quite a bit smoother than our process. Congrats on having a safe and streamlined system. You live in one of the more beautiful countries in our global community. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mabel Kwong says:

        Australia is a beautiful country. But I think we can do better with our airports, at least here in Melbourne. The immigration checkpoint section is really, really small and there is no train from the airport to the city. We really to work on that 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  27. Nancy says:

    I love the Doors Post you do. I sure hope your Global Entry works for you. I understand re-entry! LONG LINES! INDEED!

    I may do a doors post this Thursday with some England doors I FINALLY edited!

    I always try to get over here to see how you are doing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

