Marketing

No one loves a good sale more than I do. I spent several hours this past weekend looking for plants on line.

Then I went to the store to buy a plant pot and noticed right next to all the Easter decorations were Memorial Day and 4th of July decorations.  🇺🇸 Really? 4th of July is three months from now.

I fussed about it to my husband on the way home. 4th of July starts in April, Christmas decorations are out in August, and then I picked up the mail. In it was a ‘fall sale‘ catalog from a bulb company. Yes, I know they market to people in other growing zones, but for heaven’s sake, I’m still shoveling snow off 4’ piles to get it to melt on the driveway.

Could they cut me a break and take my zip code out of their mailing until the snow is at least all gone? And, if they can still make money when they reduce the price 75%, why don’t they do us all a favor and price their products appropriately to begin with? I don’t think any of us really believe they are losing money just to give us a bargain.

It’s just too much anymore. Holidays start months before they occur, and some of us are so disgusted by the time they get here, we just want them to be over.

I guess the whole purpose is to wear us down as consumers so we think we really need to buy fall bulbs the second week in April.

I’m not buying fall bulbs in April. Besides the obvious reasons, how in the world would I remember where I put them when I’m looking for them in October?

Now, I’m going outside on this unseasonably warm, sunny April day to shovel more snow off the snow banks so it can melt faster. Then I’ll fertilize my blueberries and pick up several loads of downed sticks and branches. After that is done, I’m going to bring out my patio furniture and grill, sit down, and think about container plantings and grilled burgers.

I am going to enjoy Monday, April 10th, 2017. Hope you do the same. 😎

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Marketing

  1. joyroses13 says:

    A BIG AMEN to this post!! I totally agree!! Happy April 10th to you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oddment says:

    Oh, thank you! I am sure you speak for thousands if not millions. I know you speak for me. Life goes fast enough without this pushing from stores. If we do what the retailers want, we’ll never have a moment of NOW. Phoo on ’em. Phoo on that snow too. I hope that sun helped you yesterday!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You speak for me too! Happy day to you from a cold but sunny Cornwall. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dan Antion says:

    I’m with you, Judy, Last week, I saw ads from both Lowes and Home Depot talking about “Spring Black Friday” – Apparently it was last Friday, March 30th. I wanted to hide.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. pbmgarden says:

    Judy, sounds like you’ve planned a busy schedule. Hope your day is filled with wonder and fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Murphy's Law says:

    Amen sister! You took the words right out of my mouth. I swear, between insurance companies, the government and retail stores controlling us, it’s hard to think for yourself anymore.

    I agree with Oddment, phoo on ’em!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Crazy? Yes! If we could relish one day at a time, life would be so much sweeter.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Karen says:

    This is a post we can all relate to…don’t they realize how much we dislike this kind of marketing. We were just commenting about your weather and how warm the weekend was and remembering many an Easter Sunday with snow on the ground in New Hampshire.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Laurie Graves says:

    I’m with you all the way. What the heck?!! I’ve barely begun thinking about pansies, never mind fall bulbs.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Joyce says:

    LOL Agreed! But maybe the cycle will be so energetic that eventually what they want to sell for, say, Christmas 2019, shows up in November 2018 and they don’t even realize it’s perfect timing for us! I always respected Williams-Sonoma. Our store still displays Thanksgiving table settings and pumpkin bread mix the day before, making it easy to grab something you need for dinner. Everybody else looks at you like you’ve just landed a UFO in the midst of Santa’s winter wonderland – all on clearance by Thanksgiving of course because the Easter bunny arrives the day after!
    Enjoy your warm, sunny day, Judy!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. You’re right, it is too much. I’m hoping people have had enough and that there will be a backlash from all this relentless marketing.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I am with you on this. Savvy business people would realize that we consumers are sick and tired of having stuff pushed in our faces. There isnt time for it all! What are they teaching the marketing and business majors in school these days? Keep blasting your product until it is printed on the consumer’s brain forever?

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Dawn says:

    Yes!! We feel the very same way, Judy! Thank you so much for raising your voice against these crazy marketing tactics. Hoping your snow melts quickly! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I like the Christmas stores. They acknowledge reality as it IS: Christmas. All year, all the time. Buy now, save later.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Mary says:

    Yeah this is crazy, but crazier still is that you are still shoveling off 4′ of snow! Forget the Fall bulbs, I say it is time for grilling!!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I hear you, sister Judy!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Rupali says:

    I am happy for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. HERE, HERE! Enjoy that patio and grilled burger! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Joe Owens says:

    Judy when I hear of your snow troubles I just have to shake my head. In the winter of 2016 we had a total of about two and a half feet all winter. In this past winter it was less than 4 inches. Yes, you read that correctly, in the mountains of the western end of the commonwealth of Virginia I had my Kubota tractor with the scraper blade attached out two times for a measly four inches of white stuff.

    We have been shaking our heads at 50 and 60 degree weather since January. Today is forecast to be 79! In my greenhouse it is 115! The plants are loving it, but the seasons are as muddled as the holiday sales you mention. I hope your snow is an unpleasant memory very soon. Happy planting! If you are interested I share my gardening adventures on Chasing the Blooms!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. I so agree with you! Even with our year-round decent weather, it drives me crazy to see ads for events/special dates way in the future. I hope all of your residual snow vanishes soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Everyone agrees, but the shops wouldn’t stock this stuff if people didn’t buy it. So someone must be doing their shopping early. I refuse to buy seasonal things, particularly food, until it’s the correct season. I’m interested in how you look after your blueberries. I have a blueberry plant but it’s never flourished. Any hints?

    Liked by 1 person

  22. germac4 says:

    I loved this post, made me laugh out loud because I SO agree with you! I can just imagine getting seed catalogues for fall when there is still snow on the ground. What amazes me, in Australia…. our big department stores bring in the winter clothes in February/March when we are still suffering heat waves! I guess the trouble with common sense is….it’s not that common!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Rose says:

    Oh, my goodness…wish we could all sign this and send it to everyone. I bet you spoke for millions of us with these thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. joey says:

    Yes ma’am, one holiday and one season at a time. Thank you very much!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Eliza Waters says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more. I’ve noticed that these sale catalogs end up being no bargain and their plants aren’t the best. I’m sticking with my local nurseries… I see what I am getting and have a much higher success rate, plus I’m supporting a local. Works for me!
    Hope this warm spell finishes off your snow!

    Liked by 1 person

  26. ‘Live in the present’, Judy…right there with ya, even if the world is constantly trying to yank us forward and eat away our precious days. It does make me wonder how many people do get caught in this marketing scheme, enough to make it work I guess, huh? The last thing I want to do is to wish away my days, I’ll keep my feet firmly planted in the here and now. For goodness sakes, we’re just beginning to witness the very first plants of spring, why would I want to consider planting Fall bulbs?? Oh geez!

    Liked by 1 person

  27. KerryCan says:

    Oh, Judy, I hear you! We’ve just now gotten a hint of spring and they want us to think about fall? No way! We picked up loads of sticks and branches yesterday, too, then put some kielbasa on the grill and enjoyed a beautiful moment in April!

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Joanne Sisco says:

    I don’t think anyone would argue with you on this one!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

