Thursday Doors

I’m going to need a houseboat, if it doesn’t stop raining pretty soon. We haven’t seen the sun in about a week. We’ve gone well past mud season into some type of New England swamp season. The only residents here who are enjoying it are the ducks. ๐Ÿ™‚

But, if I need to start looking for a new residence that will float, this would be a good one. Itย not only has a handsome door but a patio area and room for plants. ๐ŸŒท

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors for April 27, 2017. Check it out.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Would love to try living on a houseboat. I’ve heard you can find some for rent in some places. Might be fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Well, of course you couldn’t have a houseboat if it didn’t have a place for plants. I know that sky very well. I thought it was supposed to be clear and warmer today, Judy. I walked out into fog and drizzle ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Liked by 2 people

  3. germac4 says:

    Oh no … You can’t get out in the garden … In spring! We get cabin fever after two days if we can’t get out. I wouldn’t want a house boat either .. No garden!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Cool shot for this. At least the weekend should be sunny!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Joyce says:

    How peaceful to wake up every day surrounded by only water and ducks! That’s cool!
    Sorry about the deluge – you deserve perfect gardening weather. We were told today would be pouring buckets – instead it’s sunny again. I’m okay with that. Wish you could enjoy the same – you’d make better use of it outside than I would!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. joey says:

    Ugh. Sorry. Last May was like that here. I hope you get some sunshine soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Laurie Graves says:

    Not so much rain in central Maine.Just the right amount, actually. Funny how the weather can be different not that far away. Hope you get some sun soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. We’re back to rain and clouds here, too, Judy, so I’m sympathetic and empathetic as well. ๐Ÿ™‚ Fortunately, we’re not near to floating yet, although if it came to that, this place would be a great choice and would also cause me to have to pare back on belongings. ๐Ÿ™‚

    janet

    Liked by 2 people

  9. We almost took the ‘plunge’ to live on a houseboat, Judy, but at the last minute bought an old cottage to renovate. We still have our little riverboat and it’s lovely to spend time on it even when it’s moored. Being on the water is so relaxing – for me anyway. Hope the weather dries up soon for you. We’ve had an unusually dry Spring here in Ireland, maybe all our rain is falling on your part of the world instead. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Mother Hen says:

    I am feeling rather waterlogged myself…

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Yikes looks like we are headed for a very wet weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. jesh stg says:

    Living at 3000 feet the rain does not bother me, knowing it will all flow down:) But I do love the ocean, and if I had the chance, I would take it!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Murphy's Law says:

    Forget the houseboat….you may need an ark!!! Basically same weather pattern here day after day after day after….well, you know.

    But that is a pretty little home. No mowing or trimming. No lack of parking space. Not so sure if there would be a mold/mildew issue though. But that picture is so inviting.

    Hope the sun shines on you soon. Happy gardening! ๐ŸŒป๐ŸŒท๐ŸŒผ

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Annie says:

    Good news is we are no longer in a Moderate Drought in NH. We are now Abnormally Dry. Maybe the water ban will be lifted SOON although my garden doesn’t need any more water for awhile.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. At least your garden will be enjoying the rain. Hopefully the sun will come out again soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Norm 2.0 says:

    It works for me. Not sure I’d want to live on a houseboat but maybe for a few nights on vacation would be nice.
    The weather has been crummy here too. There has been some flooding and a few road beds that were washed out not far from us. The sun was out today though and should be for the next few as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Rose says:

    There are times I think we might need one, too. Thankfully, it is not now.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. It’s been gray and overcast here too. This would be a good plan. That boat looks pretty sweet too.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Nice houseboat. Hopefully it stays put and doesn’t float away with all of the rain.
    Donna

    Like

  20. KerryCan says:

    We’ve been nervous about the rain, and the lake level, too, but we’ve actually had a pretty good week and not so much of the wet stuff. But wouldn’t a houseboat be fun?!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Tina Schell says:

    LOL Judy – April showers, May flowers????

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Grandma Kc says:

    I’ve always thought it would be fun to spend a week on a house boat but wouldn’t want to have to do it out of necessity. Which you could send us some of your rain, we could still use more.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Oddment says:

    I can only send sympathy — and empathy. Weeks like that are so depressing! We are sure soggy in Indiana right now, and I can only hope that this weather isn’t headed toward you. If it is, belay the houseboat and order those ark plans.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Candy says:

    That’s a lovely door. Have you ever tried straw bale gardening? It’s doable anywhere – even on a houseboat (I think) ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Nadezda says:

    I think you have some reasons to live in a houseboat, Judy. We have rain and sometimes snow, wind so I would buy this house as well ๐Ÿ™‚ Lovely white door and patio, I agree.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. We had a drought and now a lot of rain; I prefer having the rain but I don’t live in a flood plain so I can’t speak for everyone. If you live in a houseboat and have a drought (like we had for several years in California) your houseboat would be sitting several feet above ground level.

    Liked by 1 person

  27. pbmgarden says:

    Mother Nature doesn’t always get her schedules aligned with ours does she? Sincerely hope the skies clear too so you can enjoy your spring planting. I would worry being on a houseboat in rainy weather. (We had 8 inches of rain last Monday and Tuesday and set a record for the most recorded ever in April. Then had 92F the other day. Temps should moderate this week but rain clouds are forming again.)

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Lots of rain here lately too. It’s getting old, lol ! The other day I was VERY unhappy with 87 degree weather in April then strong storms and a deluge came and took that away but it does seem to rain way too much lately whether it is hot or chilly ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  29. reocochran says:

    Humor plus a great houseboat set of doors made this a fun Thursday’s Doors post, Judy.
    The idea of living on a house boat amuses me. I am not sure I would be okay on windy, rocky days or nights. I get seasick or a bit of my sickness on planes, rides and boats. . .
    I liked the movie with a nun played by Leslie Caron and Cary Grant, who lives on a houseboat. It might be called, “Father Goose.” ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  30. reocochran says:

    my = sea (oops!)

    Like

  31. What a good idea! We’re being “swamped” down here in Oklahoma too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  32. Charming but I bet it is damp living on a houseboat!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

