Thursday Doors

How do I explain the sacrifices that the followers of the Door King, Norm, make to participate in Thursday Doors. We go to great lengths to get just the right door to share with you. Is this a great door or what?

In order to get this lovely door, I had to stop at one of our local ice cream stops – Golick’s Dairy Bar. I didn’t go just once, I went twice so I could get more than one door. What can I say? I’m dedicated. Plus, there are 70 different flavors of hard ice cream, and I’ve got a lot more research to do.

A little New Hampshire trivia for you – they close the ice cream stores the first of October and don’t open again until mid April or May. They’re only open Β half the year! It’s inhuman. πŸ™‚

Seeing that I said I went back for more doors and farm scenes, I’d better produce them. Did you notice even the porta potty is surrounded by an enclosure painted like a field of hay bales?

While we are stopped here at Golick’s Dairy Bar, let’s talk ice cream. I enjoyed Maine Black Bear and Almond Joy and hubby had Butter Pecan both times. So, what’s your favorite ice cream flavor? 🍦

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, June 1, 2017.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I understand and applaud your dedication to Norm and to us readers. To subject yourself to ice cream (because I’m sure you wanted to support the local business while photographing, I mean that would be the right thing to do), not once, but twice on our behalf, well, it’s very generous, Judy.

    The door and other scenes are beautiful, Judy. Thanks for sharing then with us. I love the animals πŸ™‚

    Our local ice cream place has been stretching the window, opening in mid-March and delaying the close until mid-October. This year, it seems they could have opened in February and closed for the month of April – such strange weather.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Any flavor with chocolate chunks and/or caramel. Oh wait, mint chocolate chip. No, pralines and cream. Oh, I can’t decide! My favorite grocery store brand is Blue Bell. I think I need an ice cream cone today!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. joyroses13 says:

    OH what wonderful blogger you are to dedicate yourself so much to your readers that you have to subject yourselves to eating ice cream! πŸ™‚
    The Doors are GREAT!! The first one is my favorite!
    There was a Banana Fudge ice cream that our store used to carry and it was the BEST! I love peanut butter and coffee ice cream as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. KerryCan says:

    You are SO selfless–a saint, really! That’s a really, really cute shop–I bet they do amazing business. Our ice creams shops all close during the winter, too. My theory is that they do it so we are so desperate for ice cream in the spring, we go every day. My favorite flavor is a Hood ice cream flavor called Outrageous Oatmeal Cookie–cinnamony!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Leah says:

    What a great place! Someone had a lot of fun bringing it to life!

    We face the same seasonal closures living in cottage country in Manitoba. We’re still waiting for restaurants to fully open. For now, we wait until the weekends to go out. I hadn’t thought of going out for ice cream. You are a bad influence!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sorry you had to force yourself to eat ice cream just to participate in Norm’s Thursday Doors! But somebody has to do it, right?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Susi Lovell says:

    That’s very noble of you to suffer through two lots of ice cream – but so worth it! Great great paintings and doors. Does it say anywhere who the artist is? And does Golick’s have a kind of crunchy vanilla toffee ice cream?

    Like

  8. Joanne Sisco says:

    Ice cream? Did someone say ice cream?
    Yes, please. Black cherry. If it has chocolate pieces in it, even better πŸ™‚

    Oh, and the doors are great too πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Laurie Graves says:

    Your dedication and sacrifice are nothing short of inspirational πŸ˜‰ As for me, peanut butter is my favorite.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Dawn says:

    We truly appreciate your dedication to Thursday Doors, Judy! πŸ™‚ You must continue to collect data for your research until you decide on your very favorite flavor… and your very favorite door mural. It won’t be easy… but it will be fun! Wishing you happy Summer days! β™‘

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Joyce says:

    LOL cute, cute, cute! I’ll eat any flavor of ice cream, but what I get here won’t compare to Golick’s I’m sure! Just adore the decorated buildings – so peaceful – makes you want to just settle in and keep eating….and eating and eating and eating!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I guess they thought if you are going to spend big bucks for a dish, they need to provide some art. Can you imagine telling your grandparents what a couple of dishes/cones cost these days? They’d think we were all nuts. Nuts, by the way, are $.75 extra per dish. LOL

      Like

  12. J Walters says:

    So whimsical, a beautiful set of shots.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Oh you’re dedicated! πŸ™‚ Those doors are fun.

    Ice cream… rocky road with a scoop of orange sherbet for me!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. It’s possible you may need to eat a LOT more ice cream. Art is important, so please — eat for all of us!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. If you can send me some lemon custard, I’d be so very grateful…

    Your pictures reminded me of a hardware store/ice cream parlor (cuz, who doesn’t crave an ice cream cone after purchasing plywood?) we discovered in Vermont last year. We don’t have anything like it around our SoCal city so we had to return several times just to be sure the Vermont cows were doing a good job (they were).

    Liked by 1 person

  16. joey says:

    We have some seasonal ice cream vendors here, too. I notice over time, though, many become year-round, slowly but surely.
    That is a fabulous mural! I love it!
    Lately, Moo and I have been into Purple Cow’s butter pecan because the pecans are candied. I love ice cream though, and I eat a lot of it, all year. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I am so sorry that you had to suffer so! πŸ™‚ Favorite would have to be anything with chocolate but every once in awhile Edy’s does a short lived batch of girl scout cookie flavors….when their Samoa is in I am in heaven πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  18. What fun doors!
    Donna

    Like

  19. Such a selfless act is appreciated by all of us, Judy. These doors are great and the ice cream sounds fantastic too. I’ve never heard of an ice cream shop only opening for half the year though. You’d better get your skates on if you are going to research all the flavours for us. 😁🍦

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Norm 2.0 says:

    Your dedication and willingness to sacrifice for our movement is quite commendable Judy. Now just don’t eat too fast and give yourself brain freeze πŸ˜‰
    What a timely post. Our local seasonal ice cream shops have been open for about a month now and we made our first after dinner outing for a cone earlier this week.
    These are all wonderful so I understand your need to go back several times. That first one is my favorite.
    Well done πŸ™‚

    Like

  21. Mint choc – my favourite. Yumm.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Candy says:

    these are super – thanks for the sacrifice and hardship you went through just to share them with us.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. OK, to sound pretty sappy, I’ve always loved mint chocolate chip. But I stopped eating it for many years because my husband didn’t like it. But now I found out that my sweet little granddaughter loves mint chocolate ice cream the best! So we eat it together. πŸ€—

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Nadezda says:

    I’d like to go there with you, Judy and to try many flavors of ice-cream. I love more chocolate or currant ice-cream. What nice paintings on the wall, they are really creative owners. Thanks for showing us!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Oddment says:

    Once again I enjoyed the comments as much as your post! And I commend you for your nobility and self-sacrifice. It is positively decent of you to go to these lengths to capture doors for us. And what doors here! I wonder if ice cream makes people more creative — maybe you can test the hypothesis that it does. Maybe we all should.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Murphy's Law says:

    You deserve a medal for your dedication to Thursday Doors! You certainly went above and beyond!! 🍦🍦🍦

    This place is the best. Love the door. Love the artwork. What a talented artist. And how clever of the owners to lend their property for this project. I would go there to eat ice cream even if I was allergic to it!

    Butterscotch Swirl and Coffee do it for me.

    Sounds like you will be doing a lot more research, so I think you might have to start shoveling a lot more mulch!!

    Thanks for starting my day with such a fun post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I will need more outside work to balance out the additional carbs. πŸ™‚ And, I think I would like both Butterscotch Swirl and Coffee. We’re headed over the border into Maine today to do some errands, and I just may have to do some more research. A woman who likes craft beer and ice cream needs a lot of outdoor work. πŸ™‚

      Like

  27. slfinnell says:

    I see an opportunity here Judy to open your own ice cream shop that Stays Open year round πŸ™‚ And make sure you have some Sea Salt Caramel on hand. Just sayin….

    Liked by 1 person

  28. germac4 says:

    I’m in love with all ice-creams…..but this time, the doors and paintings took my fancy, they are wonderful! To get the right perspective must be a talent.

    Liked by 1 person

  29. dennyho says:

    I don’t know what is worse…the painted port-a-potty or the fact that your ice cream stores close from October till mid-April or May!!! And now I am confused because Birthday Cake was my favorite flavor but you mentioned Almond Joy….I might have to have a taste test of my own. BTW, great doors!

    Liked by 1 person

  30. That first picture is a fantastic door! Brilliantly done.

    Liked by 1 person

  31. Rose says:

    I so love these! Someone is so talented!

    Liked by 1 person

  32. reocochran says:

    The sweet farm animals are just perfect for a dairy bar, Judy!
    The kittens, rooster and cow are great. I really liked the goat and horse.
    Thanks for sacrificing in the name of Thursday’s Doors! 🍦
    I love the “new” salty caramel flavor or pralines and cream. For years, my “go to” sundae was made of butter pecan hard ice cream, hot caramel and whipped cream! We have a place that I took a photo in May (with Hendrix and the M & M girls eating soft serve.) They have hard ice cream also. They have a Nut House Shop where they roast and create delicious selections of nuts! They add their own salted pecans to their Nuthouse sundae, which is rather pricey. I only go this “full treatment” on the last day of summer before school starts. An old routine visit, my best friend, Jenny and I walk there and back, hoping to burn a few calories in the two mile circle.
    My grandies and I ride in the car usually. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  33. How lovely, Judy. I particularly love that first one. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  34. dweezer19 says:

    Noe THAT’S an ice cream place! Great doors. And windows. And walls. Was the ice cream just as specracular? Time with family makes everything taste wonderful though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

