Collage – WPC

This week’s photo challenge, collage, made me think of the flowers that are blooming right now in my garden.

There are gardeners who aren’t crazy about daylilies because, well, they only bloom for one day. But for that one day, their beautiful color and form just bring a smile to my face.

Plus, most gardeners don’t live down the road from a daylily farm – Birchwood Farms. πŸ™‚

There are also native orange daylilies gracing the gardens, parks, and roads in our state.

As I added other colors to the beds, I moved the natives to the borders of the property.

Never let it be said that I pitched a plant when I could still enjoy it.

Do daylilies fall in the plus or minus column for your garden?

Be sure to check out the other collagesΒ this week.

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Flower Gardening, Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Collage – WPC

  1. So many flowers! I wish I was at least half decent at flowers, but I always forget to take care of them.

    Like

  2. Love the collage! Day Lilies are definitely in the plus column! I have some that I originally planted quite a few years ago. They’ve been divided more times than I can count. Here they usually bloom in May or early June and every year I look forward to their blooms.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Sue says:

    Just outside with the dog. Love my daylilies. Grow in my rocky soil, in sun, partly shady. They just want to make me look like I know what I’m doing. BTW seeing more honey bees than I have seen in several years.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Daylilies are tough aren’t they, and yeah bees! We’ve seen a lot bees this year too but zero butterflies and very few hummingbirds. Hope you are having a good summer.

      Like

      • Last year we had a ton of bees (so many more than recent years) and a ton of hummingbirds. This year (I am in Southern New Jersey) I would have to say less hummingbirds than recent years & bees are not as many as last year but better than most recent years – some recent years had been dismal. We are in orchard country – so I am guessing our animal/bird/insect friends fall prey to whatever happens to be being sprayed by the farmers that year.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Murphy's Law says:

        I feel a little better knowing that others are experiencing a reduction in hummingbirds. Usually we have at least 2 dozen by now, but I only see 4. 😒 And no butterflies. Thought it was some strange phenomenon here in NW Orange County, NY!!

        But a Pea Hen has made our neighborhood home. She is so cute… I just love her. I call her Miss Sweet Pea. And damn if she doesn’t love having her picture taken! Lol.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Lorrie says:

    I’m not terribly fond of daylilies, but I do have a small patch that blooms next to a large hydrangea – the blue and orange complement each other beautifully.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dan Antion says:

    Most of our day lilies are gifts. The ones by the fence migrated from our neighbor’s yard the ones by the steps were a gift from a seed company my wife spent a bunch of money with. They’re so pretty though. We like them a lot.

    Your photos are beautiful and the collage is perfect for the prompt πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Murphy's Law says:

    What a gorgeous array of flowers in your collage. I love day lilies. They really are so pretty like Dan said.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Beautiful flower photos. Any flower that reproduces, comes back every year,transplants well and makes me smile is A+ in my book. I’ve been building my gardens here for 20 years & never had much money for new plants. I just dug up what had grown & moved it elsewhere to fill in the blank spaces. Day lilies never let me down. Easy, happy, pretty.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. pastpeter says:

    Love day lilies, including the native orange. But in NH we too lived close to a gardener who sold all varieties of day-lilies you can imagine, and I bought a few – cream, purple, deep red, yellow. They certainly added color to my rather meager flower garden! BTW I also love the lace-cap hydrangeas!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. What beauties you have! I love Daylilies, and your Black Eyed Susans! I used to have a lovely Tiger Lily Day lily, but it only lasted a few years then went kaput. I haven’t tried growing one since.
    I love cone flowers. I should plant more of those!

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Irene says:

    Beautiful flowers.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Joyce says:

    I love Daylilies! Both orange and yellow ones grow along the front of our woods at both sides and back of the house. They are polite and don’t bother anyone!
    Your collage is beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. pbmgarden says:

    Lovely to see your flowers. Daylilies are welcome here.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Pingback: Collage Car | What's (in) the picture?

  14. Rupali says:

    Lovely gallery Judy!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Really lovely, Judy. true about daylilies and their short bloom, but let’s find a place for them in the garden anyway!! I do!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Oddment says:

    The collage gives some hint as to how gorgeous your whole yard must be. I love the daylilies, and they are in the plus column for me, but I think they do not love the humid summers (and wet springs) here. I thank pastpeter for naming the lace-cap hydrangea — I was going to ask what that was. It’s a beauty! And I cannot imagine anything more dangerous than living close to a place that sells plants. Wallet drought!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. A beautiful collage, Judy! I have several daylilies and I always get a thrill when the one on the side of the house comes back into bloom in the fall for awhile πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  18. KerryCan says:

    Everyone here seems to have day lilies! It’s as if it’s a local ordinance or something. I love them but I should be better about deadheading–they often look pretty sloppy.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. joey says:

    I put them in the plus column. For one thing, they lend reliably green foliage more than half a year. Sometimes I get another bloom after deadheading, but honestly, I’m not that invested. They’re a vibrant pop here and there and that’s enough for me. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  20. Laurie Graves says:

    I, too, put them in the plus column as I love lilies of any kind. (In my flower hierarchy they fall just behind irises, my absolute favorites.) Unfortunately, my front yard doesn’t get quite enough sun for them to bloom profusely. But the backyard is another matter, and I have a deep red beauty that I especially love. Pictures will follow when it is in bloom.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Whoever did the landscaping at our rental house liked the native orange daylilies, as we have lots of them. There are also quite a few in this area. I like them and they certainly last longer than a day, although ours are now almost done. Your collage is so bright and cheerful, Judy.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  22. germac4 says:

    the day lilies in our garden ask for nothing, they have survived a drought too.. They’ve earned their place & I love them… Love your collage too! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Rose says:

    Funny, day lilies are something that I could live with at first, but I have come to love them! The one bloom may just last a day, but if taken care of some of them just bloom and bloom and bloom. There are just so many beautiful colors…I want to get some different ones but just haven’t done it yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wish you lived closer. The daylily farm down the road is a blast. It kind of just looks like a simple farm with rows of crops, but when you pull in you are handed a stapled book of hundreds of daylilies in every color and size you can imagine. You pick out what you want, and she digs and puts it in a water bucket for you to take home and plant. It’s like a candy store for gardeners. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  24. reocochran says:

    I enjoyed this beautiful and colorful bouquet of daylilies, Judy. They certainly brightened my evening!
    My Mom featured daylilies in side gardens and often in the back yard along one side of the patio. Once they retired and lived in a lake cottage, the daylilies were delightful along the width of the yard, running along the property line. They slowed down rabbits who hid and played there under the shade. So, for me it’s a Big Plus!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. reocochran says:

    Oh, Judy. I should have said bouquet, since you had more than daylilies. I liked the black eyed susan’s and the white flowers, too. (Hydrangeas) xo

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Nadezda says:

    Love your hydrangea, Judy! The collage is very pretty I especially like the daylily left at the bottom.
    Have a nice Sunday!

    Liked by 1 person

  27. I love your collection of beautiful Daylilies Judy. They are so versatile in the garden and I use them in designs all the time, Your collages are gorgeous too!

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Lovely daylilies – especially the one on the upper right with the red eye.

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Ruth says:

    I wish my garden was blooming like yours.

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Pingback: Collage… | Old School Garden

Leave a Reply

