Thursday Doors

Even with one shutter missing, isn’t this one beauty of a historic New England home with its bright red door and attached breezeway and barn?

I love this barn with the small windows and planters on the doors.

We visited this home on a garden tour last weekend. The interesting part was that there really were no gardens unless you count routine foundation plantings. πŸ™‚

The beauty of this historic New England home and stone wall certainly made up for the lack of gardens.

It is located in Center Harbor, NH, which is situated between Lake Winnipesaukee, Lake Waukewan, and Squam Lake. The town, settled in 1797, was originally a small farming community, covers 16 square miles, and has a year-round population of around 1,000 which swells several times that number during tourist season.

These doors are linked to Norm Frampton’s, Thursday Doors, August 3, 2017. If you enjoy doors of all shapes and sizes from allΒ over the world, check it out.

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Dan Antion says:

    This house screams “New England,” Judy. I love it. I love the barn doors most of all. So simple and so elegant, specially with the flowers attached. It seems odd that the little side windows on the barn are mismatched, but they still look wonderful. I can see why they included this place on the tour.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Joanne Sisco says:

    It’s a beauty. I’ve always fantasized about owning a old home like this with a *reclaimed* barn/garage as a studio. I have this grand dream that if I had the right environment I could be a world famous painter and/or writer.
    Might as well dream big πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 3 people

    • I think you would have loved that barn. The doors were open so people could walk through the barn to the back yard. The inside of the barn was spotless and empty except for a small amount of wood neatly stacked. If there had ever been a hay loft, it had been removed so your eyes were drawn right up to the rafters. It was a beauty. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. germac4 says:

    I love your New England houses … Always so carefully painted and cared for … We are just exhausted painting the deck every couple of years.πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  4. slfinnell says:

    It’s no wonder you moved to New England! Gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Gorgeous! And I love that breezeway.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dawn says:

    Absolutely charming, Judy! The red door just melts my heart and was the first thing I noticed. Red doors always feel so welcoming! πŸ™‚ The attached barn is just beautiful. Is it being used as an indoor space (like a great room, studio space) or a garage? The stone wall frames this New England charmer just perfectly. The garden spaces are just delightful. Thank you for beginning my day with a little visit to New Hampshire, Judy! I just love your corner of the world! β™‘

    Liked by 1 person

    • The inside of the barn is beautifully rustic and spotless. It could certainly be utilized as a studio. I could see you making beautiful cards out there. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Dawn says:

        I was thinking that it would look lovely to hang your quilts from those rustic rafters, Judy! πŸ™‚ I can just envision this amazing, open space as a creative haven! Perhaps I could borrow just one small corner in a shared space? Maybe we can share a rustic barn for our hobbies. Wouldn’t that be fun? πŸ™‚ It never hurts to dream! β™‘

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Almost Iowa says:

    I have barn envy. It is a condition found mostly in rural areas, though it has been detected in urban environments as well. It is related to “shed envy” but is considered a more virulent form.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Norm 2.0 says:

    A style of architecture that is just so typical for this part of the country. Classic lines and all the little details, with an attached barn no less! New England at its best. We just love visiting little towns like this.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. joey says:

    Yes, so pretty! I love the breezeway πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Laurie Graves says:

    A beauty indeed. Ah, New England!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Joyce says:

    I was admiring the symmetry of the barn and had to go back and see for myself that the small side windows are not the same after reading the comments! The house is such an elegant lady, nestled within that lovely stone wall and the plantings. “So” New England, with the luxury of the attached barn. We live in a salt box style home with shutters, and I must add that my husband would not know a moment’s rest until a missing one was rehung! My neurotic sense of order drives up both crazy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • This house and barn were in perfect condition. I kept looking at that empty shutter space and wondering if they were getting it repaired or replicated. This really was one of the most beautiful homes I’ve ever gotten that close to. Yes, you would have loved it. πŸ™‚

      Like

  12. I’m pretty sure they left that shutter off because the area it would occupy is too small and they would have to make one to specifically fit.

    Now I’m SURE I’m going to have a red door again!

    I love those big old country homes where three or four generations could live in comfort.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I love that red door, and I really enjoy seeing these beautiful buildings. They’re so different from our architectural style.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. You always have such a wonderful variety on these Thursday posts πŸ™‚ I enjoy each and every one.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Oddment says:

    Given that I spend my waking hours these days looking at houses, I was all the more ready to feast my eyes on this specimen of balance and order. I too love a red door, especially when it stands out like this. What hospitality and industry in this whole image! Thanks for the inspiration this morning!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I love doors and everything they symbolize. :o)

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Grandma Kc says:

    That place is just amazing and I sure appreciate you sharing it!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I love it and that door! πŸ™‚ Also the history…the attached barn..breezeway…it takes you back to how people lived in ‘the old days’.

    To this day when I am hot and sweaty in summer heat and humidity I think of those who came before us, survived without A/C, took weekly baths, wore those cumbersome clothes…and wondered how they endured it

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Rose says:

    I love everything about it…love the attached barn. And that rock wall is wonderful. A real beauty!

    Liked by 2 people

  20. KerryCan says:

    SO New England! Makes me think of the song by Schooner Fare, “Big House, Middle House, Back House, Barn”!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. I love New England homes, Judy, even with a shutter missing.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. It’s classic Americana! I love it. Can’t you see it in a Wysocki painting? I can!

    Liked by 2 people

  23. Quintessential New England!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. I have got to have barn doors like that down the road. They do so much and add so much character to this house:)

    Liked by 1 person

  25. reocochran says:

    The house and barn are lovely, Judy. So stylish in the unique pocket gardens on the barn, the old stone layered walls and the red door!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

