Thursday Doors

Over the past week, I collected this set of doors which led us to culinary delights. πŸ™‚

My husband and I celebrated an anniversary this week, and I took an idea from my Maine blogging friend, Laurie,Β Hinterlands. We celebrated all week instead of one day, and I’d highly recommend it. πŸ™‚

  • Saturday – really good pulled pork BBQ sandwiches at the Smokeshack chuckwagon in Lee.
  • Sunday – nice Irish Eggs Benedict brunch at 7th Settlement Brewery, Dover. We didn’t, however, like their choices of beer on tap – first time for everything.
  • Monday – great beer, Selkie and Portsmouth Pale Ale, and delicious Mussels and Fried Fish Sandwich at Portsmouth Brewery plus aΒ stop at La Maison Navarre, a French pastry shop in Portsmouth.
  • Tuesday – wonderful Β Shepherd’s Pie and New England Pasty with Smithwick’s Red Ale and Fat Tire Belgium style white, at British Beer Company in Portsmouth.
  • Wednesday – lunch at Smuttynose Brewery’s restaurant, Hayseed, in Hampton where we had Fish and Frites and Schnitzel along with Pinniped Special and Vienna Lager.

I’d tell you how many years we’ve been married, but then I’d have to lie and tell you I got married right out of 8th grade. πŸ™‚

Instead I’ll tell you that we’ve lived in three states and 13 different houses, and like every other couple, we’ve had our share of ups and downs.

One of the early memories we still chuckle about is when we first got married, and we saved for months to accumulate enough money to pay cash for a washer and dryer. That was the best shopping trip ever.

For every up there is a down, and one of the worst memories is the day we closed on the sale of a large home and property to go home and have a sale of furniture only to find out hours later that the buyers didn’t show up to close, and we had to put the property back on the market minus quite a bit of furniture.

Today, we try to enjoy each day for the gift it is while being thankful for yesterday and looking forward to tomorrow.

Life is short, take Laurie’s advice and reallyΒ celebrate whatever is on your calendar. Β πŸ™‚

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, August 10, 2017. Like doors from all over the world? Check it out.

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Happy, happy anniversary to you and Dennis!!!! What a great way to celebrate years together….certainly not in just one day! A week of celebration, a must for sure. best to both of you, Judy!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Congratulations, Judy, and I hope you can celebrate this day for many years to come!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love that idea, a week-long, anniversary celebration! πŸ˜‰
    Ouch on the selling of the house, that’s kinda weird.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. J > D and I have a big anniversary next year, and just for once I’d like to make a big deal of it. Our marriage has been a great partnership over so many years (okay, ups and downs taken into account), and our celebration should reflect that fact, even though it’s ultimately a private a celebration. And now for something completely different … For many years, I ‘collected’ post boxes, delighting in coming across rare types or particularly beautiful installations. I’ve photographed very early VR (Victoria Regina) boxes set into stone walls in the Shropshire Hills, and an extremely rare E VIII R (ie Edward VIII) large free-standing pillar box outside the Crown Post Office in Maidstone, Kent. And then there’s the equivalents in places like Gibralter, Isle of Man, Jersey, etc. They’re less varied and interesting in Scotland, but here it’s doors that are especially interesting – and sometimes windows.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Happy Anniversary! I love the idea of making it a week long celebration. We just celebrated our anniversary in July. I will have to remember that next year! You are so right. Every day is a gift.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oddment says:

    Happy Anniversary! I totally approve of a week’s celebration, and I congratulate you on achieving it. And those menus! I am particularly enamored of Smuttynose Brewery. But then there’s Fat Tire Belgium. These are hilarious and also proper hints of the good times that can be had with food and the right people. Thanks for the happy set of doors!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. ianbcross says:

    Reminds me of Old England.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Happy Anniversary! It looks to me like you have done a great job celebrating, and taking time to enjoy some wonderful meals out and about. Your celebration advice is one I shall have to put into action. This year is one that has just flown by, and seems like each passing year is shorter and shorter. Thanks for sharing your memories!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. syt says:

    Happy Anniversary ours is coming up at the end of the month, hope to use your suggestion and plan a fun week.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Dan Antion says:

    What a great idea for celebrating such a special event. 13 house? Wow! I can’t even… The door collection is great. I like the telephone door the best. I also like that during all the celebrating and beer, you took time to snap a few doors, Norm should be proud.

    Liked by 3 people

  11. pattyanneart says:

    Happy Anniversary!! Love the way you celebrated it all week. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  12. pastpeter says:

    Congrats, Judy! Every anniversary is an achievement at “a certain age.” Marian and I should reach #52 in a couple of weeks – and we still like each other! Tough times and brilliant times all woven together, and some ugly home closings too (not least leaving NH this Spring, where the buyer was still demanding discounts 30 min before closing..). Each day is now a gift as age, infirmity and illness take their toll. Love your week-long celebration! Wish we had energy for that. Hope you are all well again and that the shingles have fully retreated…

    Liked by 1 person

    • In a couple of weeks remind me on a post so I can send timely greetings. πŸ™‚ The shingles have retreated thank heavens, and I’m down to one more week before the second cataract surgery when I just may be able to see correctly with both eyes. Now that will be a treat. Take care and enjoy this week in August. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  13. Joanne Sisco says:

    I love the idea of celebrating an anniversary every day for a week! As PastPeter said before me, that’s the way it should be when we’re a ‘certain age’ πŸ™‚ Congratulations to you and your husband. Every marriage has its ups and downs, and navigating the bad times with the relationship still intact is a significant achievement ❀

    Liked by 5 people

  14. Murphy's Law says:

    Congratulations to you and Dennis. Hope you have many more anniversary celebrations. What a terrific idea to celebrate for a week. I would need beer just getting through the unusual names of the eateries….but then I would have trouble pronouncing name of beer when placing my order!! Lol.

    Great doors. Especially telephone booth door. Wonderful way to celebrate your years together and also your recovery from so many pesky health issues.

    We’re coming up on 56 years. I’m considering going a totally different route and having a catered divorce!! Lol. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh my gosh, let me stop laughing at the catered divorce. Too funny. πŸ™‚ You would get a chuckle when I go to order the beer because the first thing I say is what do you have that is like a fruity wheat beer – then I go from there. They can call it whatever they like, but I’m always looking for the same light flavor. That telephone door was a surprise and a bonus door inside the British Beer Company. πŸ™‚

      Like

  15. Joyce says:

    Part of what’s so uplifting about your blog is the joy-in-life energy behind each post. Even the drudgery – like weeding and wood pellet shortages – are written into the script along with “tomorrow is another day – this, too, shall pass!” Everybody should live like you do!

    Liked by 2 people

  16. Laurie Graves says:

    Aww, thanks so much for mentioning me and my blog. A very, very happy anniversary to you! And, yes, celebrate, celebrate!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Norm 2.0 says:

    Congratulations to you both! What a wonderful idea to make it a week-long celebration. I will be “borrowing” that idea for our next milestone anniversary.
    And as Dan said, during the celebrating you still had the presence of mind to focus on what’s important: Doors – of course πŸ˜€
    Another vote for the phone booth here.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Vicky says:

    Happy Anniversary week, what a splendid idea! I must find an anniversary candidate, pronto πŸ™‚ Some very nice doors too….

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Sue says:

    Another year of marital joy to you.
    I had a house sale issue I couldn’t believe once. Buyer had financed thru bank, we had rec check paid our remainder and the rest went to the new house we were building. The day they were to take possession I get a call “we want our money back, decided we don’t want your house” I bravely said Talk to someone else, we’ve already spent it and moved. It’s yours” Well after an earful from them, threats to burn house, sue us… I hung up and called, tearfully, realtor who told me to forget it, this happens! Really? Never another peep.
    Thanks for the memory….BTW ate first tomatoes from garden this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my, that one is as bad but at least you got the money. LOL Either memory will give us heartburn and the need for a cold one. πŸ™‚ Hooray for the first tomatoes! I need someone to share with because I’m buried in them. They’re ripening faster than we can eat them or give them away. πŸ™‚

      Like

  20. Congratulations on your anniversary and on celebrating if for an entire week, Judy. What a great idea, not only did you have a lovely time but you got lots of nice shots for Thursday Doors, πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Happy Anniversary! and may there be many more love-filled years. I like the idea of a week of celebrations. I also like the idea of pretty doors and tasty meals beyond them.

    All these comments about difficult house sales at the last minute are quite interesting. Here, once a contract is signed it’s usually only subject to finance and building inspections for two weeks and after that it becomes binding. There’s no capacity to pull out or change your mind at the last minute.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. joey says:

    Wonderful! Congratulations! We’re headed into anniversary #18, our marriage is finally an adult, lol, and we generally eat our way through the weekend around that time. This year we have a solar eclipse and we feel special πŸ™‚
    As for doors, I love the lower left two and center black, yellow & red.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Grandma Kc says:

    Happy Anniversary to you both! I think a week long celebration is well deserved!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. germac4 says:

    Congratulations on your anniversary, we are coming up for a big one too in January, so we’ll keep in mind celebrating all week! Paul wishes we had as many craft beers to choose from…. I agree with the comment from Joyce, your blog is always full of energy and interest, and joy in living….and that is an energy giver for us all!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Happy anniversary and kudos to you kids for celebrating it for a week!

    I think I need to get my dinner together ; this post made me hungry! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Happy Anniversary! We are not spring chickens either, my friend, and ups and down keep life from being boring. Someday, we have to write about house closing and the bizarre things that happen when you are selling one and simultaneously (supposedly) buying another. Oh, we too have stories! Enjoy your week! Eat well and buy each other presents … or better yet, give each other permission to buy your OWN presents!

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Happy Anniversary! I love the way you celebrated for a week. Good drinks, food, company, and I hope many more years of togetherness!

    I may just have to borrow the idea of celebrating for week.

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Eliza Waters says:

    Happy Anniversary! What a fine way of celebrating. Good food always makes us happy. πŸ™‚
    You’ve really travelled a long road together – here’s to many more happy miles!

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Rose says:

    Happy Anniversary! I hope you have many more…

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Brenda says:

    Happy Anniversary. With that week of celebration, your lost summer wasn’t totally lost!

    Liked by 1 person

  31. dennyho says:

    The British Beer Company Door is my fav…and Happy Anniversary to you and yours.

    Liked by 1 person

  32. slfinnell says:

    Happy Anniversary!!!! I’d bake you a cake were you closer πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  33. joyroses13 says:

    Happy Anniversary!! I love celebrating for a week! Sounds like a great plan to for it is an important event!

    Liked by 1 person

  34. Lots of great eats (and drinks)! Never heard of a mussels and fried fish sandwich but I’d love to try one!

    Liked by 1 person

  35. Tina Schell says:

    Loved this post Judy – especially for your ups and downs stories. So great that you shared your personal memories. You rock Girl!

    Liked by 1 person

  36. Nadezda says:

    Dear Judy, happy anniversary to you and your husband! It’s a good idea of a week-long celebrating. My hubby and I have had our 50th anniversary in winter but as he was not well we celebrated only one day πŸ™‚ Now I think we have to have a holiday for a week next year.
    All the doors are pretty and I liked more the British Beer Company. Happy new week!

    Liked by 1 person

  37. Congratulations!! I love to go out to eat and celebrate.

    Liked by 1 person

  38. Happy anniversary! Sounds that you had a nice week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

