To Rule A Garden…Or More

Your Saturday may be a little sunnier if you take a moment to read this. 🌺

SaveSave

SaveSave

Gardens For Goldens

β€œAnybody who wants to rule the world should try to rule a garden first.” ~ Author Unknown

I found this unattributed quote and it struck me as true. Nothing humbles like a garden – a tiny microcosm of the world where distinct forces work best in harmony, but are sometimes pushed into doing battle for survival and the chance to ensure future generations.

I’m not really sure that anyone ever rules the garden; to assume so would tempt Mother Nature’s scorn. But to tame and transform a garden calls upon many of the same qualities required of great leaders.

1. Collaboration
A successful garden requires a close union with nature. To be truly connected to the earth demands a genuine interest and care for the welfare of all who live there: the flowers and trees, the birds, bees, butterflies, and tiny toads. Each has a role in the lasting success…

View original post 284 more words

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to To Rule A Garden…Or More

  1. So true…if only that was an iron-fast requirement.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Murphy's Law says:

    Beautiful analogy. Beautiful photos. I was good to go up to the snake !! Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. pastpeter says:

    Great dogs, great garden… thank you for sharing this!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Laurie Graves says:

    Hear, hear!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That was beautiful, thank you for sharing it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Joyce says:

    Well, this was beautiful. Stunning photos with a poignant message: “this is their garden too!” I mirrored the same sentiment a few years back when I attempted to grow pumpkins with the grandchildren. Deer ate the fruit as soon as it grew to onion size. But they have to eat, too, and they were here before we dug a huge hole in their woods and planted ourselves amidst their berries and the shade of their trees.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oddment says:

    I’m a little late getting to this, so it brightened my Sunday instead of my Saturday. But what perfect lessons for a Sabbath. Thank you for those and for the wonderful photos. She is indeed an exceptional photographer.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Reema says:

    Loved the post!!

    Like

  9. Tina Schell says:

    Well I certainly know taming a garden will never be in my bag of tricks! but loved the post, thanks for linking to it, it’s beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Grandma Kc says:

    Thank you for sharing that.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. It’s around 6am as I read your post and it’s set me up for the day. I’m starting out in my journey to learn the small allotment plot I’ve just taken on. At the moment it’s unkempt and littered with previous plot holder’s (I can’t bring myself to call them gardener’s as a gardener wouldn’t treat their garden like that I sure) rubbish. But we have a road and we would like to keep it so before we cleared the rubbish we set to on a little pond and wildlife area. That little bit of positivity, your words and my positivity will get me through the process of clearing the mess to enable the plot to get it’s natural equilibrium back.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Always good to butter up the eye doctor with some tomatoes ! πŸ™‚ I had to laugh when I read about the pollenators since I recently mowed the grass and had to run the gauntlet between the hydrangea, next the Russian Sage and then more Russian Sage, all swarming with bees. When I am out there with my camera they are fine with me. Disturbing their peace with the lawn mower…not so much! πŸ™‚

    I was thinking of you today. i’d seen a book recommended not too long ago and ordered it used on Amazon. “Secrets of the Sacred Earth” by Cliff Seruntine. Check it out on Amazon and see what you think. I couldn’t put it down πŸ™‚ Especially interesting was the summer where their harvest was ruined twice by crazy weather ( unending rain, slugs etc ) and how they didn’t give up and changed how they planted everything…well you might like it πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

