September gardening

I gardened last week until I had to take the weekend off and rest a little so I could anticipate another week of fall chores. πŸ™‚

Last Wednesday, thirteen Master Gardeners gathered to divide, label and pot up almost 400 donated plants to overwinter for next year’s plant sale. Besides digging two large containers full of plants, I also have 65 plants potted up here at home to overwinter. Speaking of which, I need to get those in the ground.

When gardeners gather, they always bring a few extra plants to share. I was gifted with some more Annabelle Hydrangeas and a Sum and Substance Hosta. The Annabelles, with their 10-12″ flower heads, were added to the current grouping by the side porch, but to make room for the Sum and Substance, which is 3’x6′, I had to clear a large area.

A couple of ice packs, a few Aleve, a good book, and a little sewing on a couple of new mug rugs kept me busy inside.

It was unreal following the coverage of Irma and then looking out at the beautiful weather we were having here in New England. Prayers and positive thoughts for our fellow citizens in Florida. I hope next weekend brings boring fall weather to all the states.

Speaking of tragedies, September 11th is never a date you forget where you were or all those lost. Continued peace and prayers to all the affected families.

We did spend some time out and about car shopping this weekend, which in my book is right up there with having a root canal which can sometimes be more enjoyable. So, if you’ve bought an SUV recently, and you really like it, please tell me because you could save me some additional misery this week.

For those not trudging off to a workplace, what’s on your agenda this week? I’ll be back outside until it’s time to head off to the car dealers. Maybe I’ll just have a too much digging to do? πŸ™‚ Have a happy and safe Monday.


Photo credits:
Annabelle Hydranges: Michigan Bulb
Sum and Substance Hosta: NH Hostas

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to September gardening

  1. Murphy's Law says:

    i add my thoughts and prayers to yours to all the hurricane victims and to all those who suffered a loss on 9/11. I would like everyone to be safe, healthy and happy.

    We’re having great weather too. Sad that it won’t last. You sound so happy to be digging in the dirt again!πŸ˜„ That’s a lot of plants to babysit over the winter. The plants you were gifted are just beautiful. They certainly found a good home.

    Good luck car shopping.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re making me feel inadequate since I haven’t done ANY fall gardening yet. And there’s much to do. Waiting for rain today from Irma, but we should be spared the chaos that Florida received. Best wishes for a pretty fall your way.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joyce says:

    Although 9-11 will never fade away, it’s replaced as first in mind this year with the immediacy of the suffering caused by two back-to-back hurricanes. I’ve had a hard time just enjoying life for the past few weeks with that going on. Like you, weather here is picture perfect. Hard to imagine the catastrophe south of us both while our own skies are sunny and clear.
    Good luck vehicle shopping. Never mind the root canal! I’d rather have every single tooth pulled than go through all that again!
    I love the sharing spirit that gardeners have! It must be fun to see a new plant pop up in the spring that you brought home “for free” and nurtured to life in your own garden – and then shared again at another gathering!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Of the things in life I can’t stand, car shopping is right up at the top of the list. I hate everything about it. πŸ™‚ Yes, these hurricanes have brought such tragedy to so many it is hard to wrap your head around it. And, then they get to try and clean up and assess the next step – still boggles my mind. We went through one hurricane up here and were without power for seven days. But, the house was still standing, we were just inconvenienced. I feel so bad for all of them in Texas and Florida.

      Like

  4. joey says:

    Nice scores on the plants!
    It’s SUPPOSED to rain plenty this week and I sure hope it does, because I’d like to do some extensive weeding and add a new bed of mums. We shall see. Otherwise, I have funeral planters to divide and pot, and they don’t care about the rains.
    I cooked a lot of big meals last week, and this week I have easy dinners every night. (I also have events 3 of 6 nights. *sigh*)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Hydrangea is so pretty. They’re my favorite.

    I love, love, love my Subaru Forester. It gets great gas mileage, is a joy to drive, is very comfortable even for long road trips. It has done really well when I driven it off road in mountains or out in the countryside birding, and in the snow. Best of all . The heated seats!
    Worst thing for me is resetting the clock. I have to read the manual every bloody time we change the clock.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Although gardening sounds like more fun, this is painting week here at the ranch. Fall is showing up and how far behind is the winter? So everything winterizing needs doing NOW. I get tired just thinking about it, but at least we got the first layer of paint on the new door yesterday. ONE more to go. It turns out steel doors are a total bitch to paint. I’m hoping the second paint layer holds better than the first!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are talking to the right woman about steel doors. We just redid ours. What a pain. We had oil paint on that had lasted right at ten years but then started peeling in a couple of small places. So, we sanded and sanded, then wiped it down with a special cleaner, and put latex on. It took me three coats to look decent. Good luck. I still have more outside painting to do too. πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. We are having a cooler than normal September here, but it’s still more summer than fall/winter. I’m feeling a little guilty enjoying our wonderful weather while others are dealing with hurricanes and fires (and – although not weather-related – a massive earthquake in Mexico).

    I don’t envy your upcoming car shopping. I may doing that too soon, but I am more upbeat about it than you are since I’ll be getting rid of a car that I’ve never been happy with. Good luck to us both!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Praying here, too, and remember that there were huge floods in India about the time of Harvey, killing thousands, as well as an earthquake in Mexico and other non-US disasters. Remembering 9-ll here, too. What a blessing that we’ve not had another experience like that since!!

    My little perennial garden has been a source of joy this summer and is still going quite strong. Time to make some pesto before the basil leaves are no good and maybe pick a bit of lavender to dry…but it looks so good there. πŸ™‚

    No SUV for us. I’m a van lover and on my second Toyota Sienna. πŸ™‚

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pottering in your garden sounds like the perfect way to put thoughts of all that is happening with the weather to the back of your mind for a while. Happy car shopping. I leave all that sort of thing to Mr ET, who loves nothing more than trawling through websites and car yards searching for the perfect vehicle. This week is our last week of term so I’m on the countdown till holidays. Yay!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Dan Antion says:

    Sounds like a bunch of work, but some nice bonus plants, Judy. I would never have imagined that the work for your plant sale actually begins now. There are so many people, past and present, to be keeping in our thoughts. We’re still worried about people in FL that we haven’t heard from. Others are heading back with more questions than answers.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Rose says:

    I read every comment…we are driving a 2008 Rav4….the only thing with it has been recalls…for minor things. We have loved it, but would have loved to had the highlander…just not in our budget.. Daughter had one and I LOVED it…she also had a Toyota truck with the back seat which I loved…thinking about that for us next time around…but not sure.

    Other daughter just bought a Subaru Forrester and I really like it. Seems a tad bit roomier than the Rav…

    That being said, my brother was a rural letter carrier and the subarus he had were his favorite of all the vehicles he drove for that. And we used to go to church with a guy that all he would buy was a subaru.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Yesterday was Honda and Ford. Tomorrow is Volvo, and then we’re done and hope to get it down to just a couple of choices. Our garage is long but narrow so one of our checks has been the mirror to mirror measurement which has eliminated some and with back challenges anything that is too low is off the list. I’m positive these salesmen love us. πŸ™‚

      Like

  12. germac4 says:

    You must raise a bit of money with that lovely garden sale, I’d buy the Annabelle Hydrangea for sure! I hate car shopping too, just can’t get interested in it, even though I know I should. We are getting ready for spring just as you are getting ready for autumn….seems strange sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Wish I could make a suggestion with regards to a preferred vehicle, we need new wheels ourselves and dread the process, at least I do! Much more at home here in the gardens, preparing beds and plants for the winter. Glorious weather here in the north east and such worry and disaster in other places, we think every day of those dealing with great loss and send our heartfelt thoughts and prayers.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Oddment says:

    Wow, all that planting! It’s no wonder you reached for the ice and the Aleve! A gardener’s best friends, at times! But congratulations on getting so much done! I too drive a Subaru Forester, and, with too much experience with root canals, I have to say that they are indeed more pleasant than car-shopping. I like my Forester but it goes from stop to second gear much the way I do. I feel like getting out and pushing. As to our neighbors, yes, I too was marveling at our peaceful blue skies and thinking what a nightmare was going on for some friends (and total strangers) at that same moment. Life is not for the figuring out. (And so we garden.)

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Annie says:

    I’m more impressed daily by your master gardeners! What a feat. How do you overwinter all the plants? Oh, and we have the Honda, a good and practical workhorse.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have quite a few here which I just dig a hole and put the pot in the ground. While the large quantities are held in a garden up north in Middleton. He has a fenced in garden area with berms and he puts them between the rows. They did well last year so we’ll see how we do the second year. This Honda we have has been the best car ever. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  16. I agree…having no rain, moderate temps, beautiful weather up here and then seeing the coverage on Irma, right after Harvey, is surreal….

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Thanks for the prayers, Thank God, they worked. Our community here in Florida was spared the strongest part of Irma. Some power outages, many broken tree limbs and still a few with water problems, flooding and drinking. Planting more zinnias, the butterflies who winter here really love them. Reports are that the orange groves and strawberry fields were only slightly affected, Just enough so the farmers can justify a nice hike in prices. Love and hugs, ME and the Boss …

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Nadezda says:

    I often watch on Euronews TV the Irma and damages and pray for those who lost their homes. I also remember Sept 11th, it’s never forgettable, Judy.
    You’re busy with your new sewing and gardening. I do sewing as well, new crazy quilt. Happy weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Brenda says:

    I shared the surreal feeling of watching Irma’s progress while we basked in lovely weather. I don’t know if you’ve already bought a car, but you might want to consider a Toyota Venza if you don’t mind buying a used car. We had never heard of Venzas and stumbled on them when car shopping in the spring. They are more of a station wagon than SUV, really comfortable and fun to drive. But they aren’t currently making them in the U.S., so they are only available used. Worth a look. Also, I wanted to tell you how much we have enjoyed the little floating fountain do-hickey for birdbaths that you recommended in the spring. Ours has been going strong all summer and we love it. I’ve been trying to get a photo with the mourning doves, who seem to regard it with real pleasure.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. reocochran says:

    Judy, our thoughts and prayers were flying and hopefully bringing relief to those in the wake of both Irma and Harvey hurricanes. . .
    The date 9/11 is such an eerie one, never will the day seem “normal” again. πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
    I only hope those born on that date lead extraordinary lives. ❀
    The new plants as gifts sound wonderful and spacious, too. Now, I know plants cannot be “spacious” but I was trying to express how large the hosta was. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Mary says:

    Great to see your posts again Judy. This was a special read for many reasons so much has happened in a very short time, and if it wasn’t enough these hurricanes both happening around the remembrance of 9/11 – I’m very grateful.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Joanne Sisco says:

    There are a couple of bloggers I follow – like you – who make me feel completely inadequate with your gardening energy, interest, and talent. I never get any further than thinking about it. Lately I’ve been looking at all the coleus outside that could likely be brought indoors for the winter … if only I could be bothered to dig it up and repot it … but I know it’s not going to happen.
    I read about your 65 plants (65?!!!) to be prepped for wintering and I cringe.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You made me chuckle because I may be out gardening, but you’re out there tearing up the roads and paths. I am truly impressed with your physical abilities. πŸ™‚ I love coleus but didn’t have good luck with them in my containers this year. I actually had to replace them – first time ever. I’ve never brought them inside, but I sure do like to bring in geraniums and enjoy their blooms in the dead of winter. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        The coleus did not thrive this summer. I’m guessing there wasn’t enough heat. They are only half the size they would normally be at this time of year.
        … and I planted dahlias this year for the first time and they didn’t live at all.

        Liked by 1 person

  23. I love the Annabelles! Wish I lived nearby to share what I have at home. I live in north Alabama, so it would be quite a drive!

    Like

Leave a Reply

