Beer and Menopause

Who knew we’d ever see those two words together. As most of you know, I love a good craft beer. Locally, I’m partial to the Portsmouth Brewery because we know the head brewer, Matt Gallagher. He is the nephew of our good friends from up north.

Last week, the Portsmouth Brewery introduced a new gruit beer, Libeeration. If you need a definition of a gruit beer, you are not alone. It is basically a beer that uses an herbal mixture as a flavoring in lieu of hops.

Liberation is the first craft beer brewed for menopausal women. Cue the chuckle here. πŸ™‚

Portsmouth Brewery is c0-owned by Joanne Francis, and she has been involved in brewing beer for 26 years. She thought it was time there was a beer for women in this age group. So, together with Matt, they consulted with female health practitioners and herbalists to come up with a recipe for relieving some of the symptoms associated with menopause.

Liberation is golden in color with earthy flavors. It contains Lemon Balm, Stinging Nettle, Mugwort, Rose, Motherwort, Chamomile, Chickweed, Damiana, and a small amount of Sphir hops which provides a nice tangerine finish.

It was introduced on Thursday at 6 p.m. I was at the store the next morning to pick up a couple of bottles where the clerk told me they would probably be sold out by Saturday.

If you’ve stopped chuckling by now, I have to tell you it is quite good and has received a lot of press here in New England. I even ran across a great article from theΒ Kansas City Star.

What’s next? I don’t know, but last summer he created Selkie, which was a Scottish Red Ale brewed with 60 pounds of locally harvested sugar kelp. I’m thinking Matt probably has some more ideas up his brewing sleeve. Stay tuned.

I hope everyone is safe and dry this week from the new storms coming up the coast. We have a rainy week forecasted, but that is okay because we really need the moisture.

We currently have a forest fire burning in the White Mountains that they think was started by a meteorite. β˜„οΈΒ I think I need another beer.

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in New England and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to Beer and Menopause

  1. Even if I hadn’t planned to read your blog, the title would have made me change my mind instantly. I’m not sure what that beer tastes like, but I had some really good non-alcoholic beer when I was in France. My b-i-l brings it in from Germany. One type tastes just like “real” beer, the others are tasty and refreshing even if not really beer-like. This one sounds useful and if it’s tasty as well, all the better.

    janet

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Send me a case, please!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Quite a find…what’s next?

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Dan Antion says:

    When I saw the title, I was thinking I’d click the ‘like’ button and move on, but this was a cool little read. I remember reading that you were planning to go and get those beers and I thought, Judy is serious about here beer. If it sells out that fast, I can understand.

    I love people that put that kind of effort into their craft (no pun intended). Maybe they can brew a beer that helps ease shoulder pain. I’m thinking PT might be in my future, and I’d rather have a cold brew do the trick. I’ll skip any relative references to menopause, as that would most likely end with me having to remove my foot from my mouth.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Murphy's Law says:

    OMG!! Where was this beer when I could’ve used it? πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Ask hm if he can come up with a brew for geriatrics. I’ll be first in line!

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Jnana Hodson says:

    You have me reflecting on other brewing changes in the past 26 years. When the Portsmouth Brewery opened, it was a revelation — probably the only brewpub in the state, and in such a lovely setting, too. Portland up the coast had one or two down by the waterfront (Gritty McDuff’s and did Greary have one, too?), but that was a hike for us. Now, of course, they’re everywhere. And I do miss Stout Billy’s, with its great kits for home brewers — all the ingredients weighed out for some delightful varieties, plus the great advice.
    At the moment, I could use one with ibuprofen … been stacking firewood and really feel it.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Brenda says:

    I love this. Now they need to come up with a beer for the aches and pains of old age. Menopause wine would be good too! With all we have to worry about in the world, I guess we need to add meteorite-induced wild fires. Who knew?

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Rupali says:

    Very innovative!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Joyce says:

    I’m not a beer drinker, but enjoy reading about the creative brewing and naming involved. It’s pretty popular here, too, with new restaurants/breweries popping up here and there.
    Fascinating that this brew eases the aches of menopause. It kind of reminds me of the early 1900s era of selling bitters as a medicine! But this time around, there’s no fraud involved – just lots of creative crafting and fun experiences!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Donna says:

    I’m glad you were able to obtain some of the new beer. I knew it was coming out and thought you probably saw all the publicity about it on tv. Becky said it even made the local news in Denver, Co. Yeah, Matt

    Liked by 1 person

  11. joey says:

    Fabulous title, who could resist?
    I’d love to try it, lotta cooling herbs in that concoction. Might be good for my rosacea and my NEVERENDING reverse puberty!

    Liked by 2 people

  12. So … is that beer safe for men to drink? I just care that it’s good. I hope the forest fire in under control shortly. Have you had dry conditions?

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Dawn says:

    Such a great idea for a new beer, Judy! I’ve never liked the taste of beer, although I have taken a sip of many beers in my travels. They always taste like… BEER! This one sounds really good though. I might try more than one sip. πŸ™‚ Hope the weather is kind to all of our friends along the East coast and that the wildfire can be quickly contained and put out. It’s crazy to think that it was started by a meteorite! Wishing you a nice week ahead! β™‘

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I’m not a big beer fan, but this one tempts me… I mean, what menopausal women couldn’t use a dose of mugwort? Sometimes I like to wonder the beer and wine aisles just to check out the names on the labels… and I’ve been known to make purchases on that alone.

    Liked by 2 people

  15. slfinnell says:

    KC knows it’s beerπŸ˜‰ I’ll be watching for this one

    Liked by 1 person

  16. If I drank anything, I’d try that beer.

    It really WAS a meteorite? I read that and then I wondered because they seemed unsure if it was true or … maybe???? I hope the rain helps!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Laurie Graves says:

    Judy, that is some title and some beer. Made me smile, that’s for sure. Hope the forest fire is soon out.

    Liked by 2 people

  18. Great title and great post. That beer is a funny, fun way to address an actual issue that I feel is somewhat ignored. So, yay to you and the brewery.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. germac4 says:

    Great post! If there is a craft beer for menopause, then there should definitely be one for gardeners! I hope these beers are giving the Aussie breweries a few ideas. Craft beers have really taken off in Canberra. Hope the forest fire is out by now, and yes, all we need are meteorites to add to world dramas.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Eliza Waters says:

    Order me a case, hehe! πŸ™‚
    A meteorite? wow!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Oddment says:

    Oh, thank you! I laughed out loud more than once in the post and then cackled all through the comments. I love Joey’s concept of “reverse puberty.” And I so agree with germac4 that all we need is meteorites to add to all else going on. Now I am fortified for my day.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Joanne Sisco says:

    I’m not much of a beer drinker since it doesn’t agree with my sinuses. I suspect the hops … but perhaps a beer based on herbals isn’t such a wild idea for people like me.
    I got a chuckle out of the ingredients – Stinging Nettle, Mugwort, Motherwort, Chickweed. With names like that, it has menopause written all over it πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Yup. That title was click bait, for sure πŸ˜‰ I’m not a beer fan, however I would have probably liked this. Kudos to them for marketing all demographics!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. KerryCan says:

    If this beer does what it’s claimed to do, they’ll never be able to keep up with demand! It sounds like the brewers are creative and have a sense of humor!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. jonahfibe says:

    From the sound of it, that beer does taste good and therapeutic in some way.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. pbmgarden says:

    Judy, I can always count on you for a chuckle and an education.

    Liked by 1 person

  27. A little late to the party, Judy, but i loved your article. I’m a beer fan and probably like the US, there’s been an explosion of ‘craft beers’ in the UK, though on closer inspection some of them are look-alikes, actually brewed by the big brewery companies. I’d love to share a pint with you some time!

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Our recent three week road trip was a beer themed adventure, with visits to several craft breweries. If they offered therapeutic beers like this one I would happily join Mr ET in some taste testing. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Annie says:

    We’ve visited some craft breweries accompanied by our kids who tell us what to order (that one is too hoppy, mom) but haven’t made it to Portsmouth Brewery. Now I see we must!

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Just the TITLE started cracking me up πŸ™‚ My son / DIL are beer people…I was offered a pineapple flavored beer last weekend ( Shudder πŸ™‚ I like wine which relaxes me…beer hits me like caffiene…the only times that I really hit the beer was when that middle son was home having keg parties prior to leaving to Iraq or coming home, and I’d drink along to keep me awake! Weird, huh. One alcoholic drink affects like coffee, the other relaxes like a sleep pill…

    Liked by 1 person

  31. prior.. says:

    super fun post = and great idea for beer.
    who knew? go herbs! and I wonder if this works (or helps)
    but it really makes drinking beer sound better –
    and side note – I love all the craft beer options – do you recall back in the early 90s when it was still emerging

    Liked by 1 person

  32. lulu says:

    I would never have thought the two to be related! Even if the beer isn’t good, the thought is great!

    Liked by 1 person

  33. pommepal says:

    Thank goodness I’m passed that stage of life, but I would’ve drunk cases of it 30 years ago (oh my I had a shock when I wrote that number, so long ago!!!)

    Liked by 1 person

  34. I’ve nominated your blog for the Fall Tag. If you interested, you can learn more at https://hisperfecttiming.blog/2017/10/17/the-fall-tag/. God bless you.

    Liked by 1 person

  35. Pingback: Beer and menopause… | Old School Garden

  36. Karen says:

    The stories behind so many of the beers brewed in New England are something else. Got a real chuckle out of this one although how knows…maybe they are on to something.

    Liked by 1 person

  37. An excellent post. I wonder if there’s a way I can get a bottle in the UK to add to my website. Not that I’m a menopausal woman!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad you liked the post. As far as I know, they made a limited amount that they sold on that one weekend. I purchased my bottles in their store which is adjacent to their restaurant/brewery in Portsmouth. I just looked on their website and it isn’t on tap, and they don’t list what beer is available in the store. It’s a wonderful little brewery that puts out some interesting beers. πŸ™‚

      Like

  38. Denzil says:

    Congratulations on writing the most eyebrow-raising title for a WordPress post I have ever seen!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

